Government Closes Down Leo Dicaprio's "The Beach" in Thailand and it's Devastating!😱

in #travel6 years ago

If you've ever seen Leonardo Dicaprio's famous movie "The Beach" you'll be sad to know, it's now been shut down by the Thai government!

See the article here:
What's truly sad is the reason why- you and I... let me explain.

Here's me, wide-eyed Cece, excited her dream to be on the same soil as the man who stole the world's hearts in Titanic, 2 years ago.
I never could have dreamed I would be reading today that it would be closed indefinitely.

15871447_10154250475127934_3613926382128185870_n.jpg

This is an animation my poppa bear took of me last December frolicking on the beach of my favorite film's location, Maya Beach, off the coast of Krabi in Thailand.
IMG_20171221_173706-ANIMATION.gif

When the hit movie came out in 2000, being the Leo super-fan I was, I fell in love with the dreamy blues of the water and vowed one day I would visit Thailand to see it myself. Apparently I wasn't the only one!

Armed with a mission to get myself to that beach even if it meant swimming and making my way through the same dangerous path the trio did in the film, flash forward and to this day, I have been here twice. The problem with that is, so has every one and their dog. See, with the movie being so popular and the beach being so gorgeous, everyone wants to come here and whenever everyone comes, so does all their garbage and baggage (in every way possible.)

IMG_20171221_164933.jpg

Tourists flock to the beach to drink, be merry and float around in the see-through, crystal clear waters with inches of toxic sun screen on their bodies that gets into the water and begins this whole rigorous pollution process that is surprise! NO GOOD FOR THE ECOSYSTEM!

Not only that, but as I can tell you first hand, there is an abundance of litter left every which way you turn, cigarette butts basking in the sun, taking up all the good sand to tan on and more than that, the coming and going of boats like it is nobody's business is a nightmare to the coral reef which has suffered an 80% death since this whole shindig began.

I bet Leo never thought that the movie would have such lasting effects!

The 'Indefinite" Closure:

The Beach was/is my favorite movie of all time being the huge Leo fan that I am (have I told you that yet?)! Luckily, I got to visit this beautiful dream island not once, but twice before the government was recently forced to close it down to tourists due to the devastating environmental impact the millions of visitors were causing (without realizing!) Gasoline from boats, sunscreen in the water, garbage left inland..

15894776_10154250475542934_1631282745852288090_n.jpg

I know like myself, a lot of you are out exploring the globe so let's try to make sure we're being ethical about our time spent in new countries with customs, cultures and ecosystems we might not understand or be familiar with. It may seem fun and exciting but that doesn't mean it's ethical or responsible to take part in or spend our dollars (purchasing power) on.

Some examples include environmental destruction such as waste/pollution/over consumption, animal exploitation such as riding of elephants/camels/horses, promotion of caged/chained animals etc, expanded increase of economic value which can cause economic crisis for locals with influx of foreign money/expansion and overwhelming investment ETC, ETC.

We want this beautiful planet to survive and for the instagram-able photo-worthy beaches and mountains and forests to stay the way they were when their first online appearance went viral!

Let's all do our part and practice sustainable- nay, regenerative tourism where we bring positive effects to where we visit, not leave behind destruction in our wakes.

Love for you and the planet too,
😘,
Cece

heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!

Here are some of my recent additions:

Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg

Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?

Inspiration for your heart!
Funny Memes & A Talk About Your Health!
My Words Define My World
Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too!
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Why You are the best You there is!

Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!

Secret Ingredient Carrot Cake Recipe
Epic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries!
🥕Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
DYI Fro-Yo!
Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
Special Power Cake!
Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!

I can show you the world!

The Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
Video! My favorite place in NZ
Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali

Until next time!
Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
heart thing.png
hearttoheart signature.png

[trial5.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Just like what is written at so many Australian tourist sites:

"Take only photographs, leave nothing but footprints."

If only people felt the same way about the whole world.

What an ironic waste

That is so sad! 😭😭 We all need to be much more mindful about how we travel, and what effect we have on the locations we visit... Ethical tourism is the only way forward.

I bet older leo, the environment protector would be ok with this. Some places must be protected from mass populice visits. It detroys so much, dunes, beaches and parks in everyway

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74