May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twenty Seven: How Many Comments You Upvote Each Day? Why?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the twenty seventh day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

How Many Comments You Upvote Each Day? Why?

On a regular day I upvote between 20 and 30 comments. There are days when I upvote more than 30.

The regular voting power for each upvote is between 5% and 10%. So, a "regular" comment, one that contributes at least with an honest opinion, gets at least 5%.

There are also comments that I upvote up to 50% if they are relevant or very complex.

I think the curator role of a participant in this platform is very, very important. And I think this role should be enforced constantly, according to every user time constraints and abilities. For instance, I do not have time, currently, to read the entire content that I subscribed to, hence I'm not curating too many articles. But I read all the comments to my posts and I do my job as a curator here.

I often vote comments just because I recognize the account, as a way to say: "Hi, I recognize you, nice to see you around".

So, how many comments you upvote each day? Why? Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

I have very limited time to dedicate to STEEM each day. As a result, I upvote 5 comments/posts a day at 100% SP. Since we are also looking out for ourselves (a little bit anyway), I try to make 5 posts a day too, which I also upvote. The end result is a 50/50 split of my daily 20% SP that needs to be distributed or else it's lost.

I upvote each comment that I receive on my posts unless it is clear spam. The voting weight for these upvotes is most of the times more than 50% because I don't receive so much comments on a daily basis. And even with the upvotes that I cast, still it is hard to get other people commenting so I guess I should increase my SP :)

And also I upvote comments from other posts when I find them underrated or when I want to increase their visibility and in really rare cases my own comments when I strongly disagree with the post presented and when I want to make my opinion visible. But again, these are some rare cases :D

That's what I do to . . . when I've got something worth posting anyway. I think it's one of the best ways to reward engagement, but, like you say, you've got to spend some time sorting through everything so that you're upvotes go to real people truly making the effort to add to the conversation in an intelligent way.

And when I don't have anything interesting to blog, I look around for other opportunities to reward and comment on quality content outside of my blog . . . like I'm doing here. 😎

Hey, I didn't expected that at all! I always respected the fact that even though you got a lot of Steem Power, you are using it to encourage engagement and you have achieved this by upvoting the comments that you receive at your posts. This generates a lot of traffic and as you have seen by now, a great number of good comments. I wish that more people would do these things more often, and not sell their Steem Power to bots or using self upvotes, but after all, there is everybody's decision about how to use their stake.

They may earn more money, but you definitely earn respect and appreciation doing what you currently do. And I have to say thank you for your upvotes, given to me, and to anybody else!

I agree with this approach! It gives people incentive to read your posts and is a nice way to promote engagement!

I think that's the real kicker, steem is best when people talk, so voting comments is really important.

Yes, I see this encouragement to engagement as a way to bring value to Steem. If at first people engage for money, after a time they get used engaging so most of them will keep doing it after the rewards get lower or even disappear. I guess this is how Steem is designed to work after all :D

I think it is really important that we upvote (genuine) comments on our posts as comments 'add' to the overall value of the post and therefore should be rewarded in my view.

It also shows that we've read it and acknowledged their input (which, after all, is equivalent to a post itself in the eyes of the steemit platform).

I get it, that for dolphins and whales, there may at times be a heck of a lot of comments to wade through but the effort to respond with at least a token upvote is appreciated.

One thing I want to try to do more is to upvote other's comments in the comment section ie on other people's posts.

~10

ANyone that leaves a thoughtful comment on one of my posts, I will give an upvote to. Anyone that leaves thought provoking comments on other peoples post I will usually also upvote. I don't really have a set number in mind but I think it is something similar to your, 10 - 30 per day. I agree, curation and discussion are fundamental to growing the user base on this platform and upvoting comments are one way to do this

I (often) upvote every non-spam comment on my posts. Sometimes I forget, sometimes I don't feel like it. People shoudl feel entitled to an upvote :P

On other posts I seldom upvote comments. First of all, I don't always read them even if I upvote the article.
Second, quite frankly, it is a bit of a hassle, especially since you cannot batch upvote. Always wait 3 seconds...
Third there is the bad thing with the money. As long as I am not FIREd, I have to et what I can ;)

Depends on my SP at that time, I can get to comment up to 30 times a day, even more and give my opinion on a subject and vote around 10 to 15 votes a day, it all depends on the quality of them.

On average, I do 5-10 comments in a day and upvote only 10% of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43