May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Seventeen: If There Will Be No Money Paid On Steemit, Would You Still Be Around?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the seventeenth day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

If There Will Be No Money Paid On Steemit, Would You Still Be Around?

I know it's a tough question to ask. Believe me, it's tough for me as well. I am no hypocrite and I am totally open about the fact that one of the biggest incentives for me to be on Steemit is financial. But it's not the only incentive.

I'm also here because, well, curiosity. I honestly think curiosity is highly underrated in our modern world. The desire to explore, to experiment and to just dive in new processes is something that I consider highly rewarding in and by itself, regardless of any material recompense.

So, the short answer for me is: yes, I will still be here.

But the long answer is a bit more complex. My writing patterns will probably change and I will be less involved, as a witness. One of the things that are often overlooked about witnesses is the fact that they are actually securing the network. It's not like they are "out there doing something" and you could just go on posting, commenting and upvoting without them being around. If witnesses will not do their job, there will be no Steemit. Period. I truly think this should be emphasized way more than it is now.

As the network grows, being a witness requires more and more hardware and work hours. It's a full time job and a very healthy approach towards a full time job is that it should produce money (that's a very hard lesson I learned, as an entrepreneur). So, without the financial compensation, I would probably lower my expenses as well.

Of course, if I could just afford the hardware, hosting and working hours, I would probably keep it just like it is now.

And another thing that will probably change will be that I will not post that often.

But, like I said, the short answer is still "Yes, I would still be around".

So, what's your take on this one? Would you still be around if there will be no payment for your posts? Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

The bitter truth is "NO"!

No. I think it is a good idea that votes generally have real value. I think that is the key distinction between steemit and facebook.

Finally made my first post with #challenge30days tag hehe.. hoping that I can complete it. Actually I just posted it less than 5 minutes ago before this post of your hehe..

my entry today: https://busy.org/@ionutciobanu/may-30-days-writing-challenge-day-seventeen-if-there-will-be-no-money-paid-on-steemit-would-you-still-be-around
6 months ago the answer would have been "No".
Now the answer would be a great "Yes".

Yes, but I probably wouldn't post as much. The rewards are an incentive for most users I think.

Definitely. I didn't come here for the money.

I definately would not be here if this was not a crypto related project.
Here's my post

It would be like Facebook and no the answer is no

Pure answer: Obviously No...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50