May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Eighteen: IWhat Other Social Media Platforms Do You Still Use? Why?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the eighteenth day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

What Other Social Media Platforms Do You Still Use? Why?

That's an easy one, at least for me.

I'm not using Facebook anymore for interaction. I still check it a couple of times a day, because it centralizes some of the news outlets I follow, but only related to the local social and political situation. As you may know, Romania is going through a bit of a rough time now and, at least until a few months, there were daily protests. Most of them were announced on Facebook. Interestingly enough, the ruling coalition learned how to counter attack these calls to protests, using little armies of professional posters ("postac" - in Romanian) and reporting consistently high profile accounts of the opponents. Nowadays the situation is a bit more relaxed, but it may explode anytime so keeping an eye on that thing seems like the right thing to do.

Surprisingly, after I immersed fully in crypto, I rekindled my love and hate relationship with Twitter. I wasn't big on it for the last few years, but since there isn't any big equivalent of Twitter based on blockchain (yet), this looks like the only alternative for me when I want to get some insights about what's happening outside the little Steem circle I'm venturing in. I'm using more or less on impulse, meaning when the prices are quickly up or down, to see what could be the reason, I don't have a regular checking routine, as I have with Facebook.

But apart from these two, I don't have any other interaction with other social media platforms. No Snapchat, no Instagram, no Tumbr, no reddit, nothing.

And the nice thing is that I don't feel like I'm missing something.

So, what other social media platform are you using these days? Why? Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

The most important part of this topic and some other topics raised in this 30 days writing challenge is the "WHY" part.

Now i am just using steemit and a little bit facebook.
Now you will.ask why facebook?
I am using facebook because i am a member of blogging groups, to remain update about blogging i am using facebook.

He says:

I'm not using Facebook anymore for interaction. I still check it a couple of times a day, because it centralizes some of the news outlets I follow, but only related to the local social and political situation.

That's what i said :p

I have tried just about every social media service but not very active on most of them as a creator. I just keep a small professional relationship with Fb and use twitter as a news antenna.
I guess we all have had some kind of involvement with many of them and end up leaving them as we join others which provide some more interest.
Here's my post

The only other social media I use is Twitter. I can get quick updates on investment news such as for uranium. Other than that it’s all Steemit for me! :)

Yes, I used other platform...
Because, I need to communicate with other person personally... For this reason a messaging system is need . For that i used whats apps, messenger..

my entry for today https://busy.org/@ionutciobanu/may-30-days-writing-challenge-day-eighteen-i-what-other-social-media-platforms-do-you-still-use-why
80% after discovered Steemit I stay here.Very small i stay in facebook and a little more in Twitter.But here is my home now.

I'm still kind of in love with Twitter, Facebook (to some extent) and Instagram because there's nearly no overlap in the persons I interact with at each platform. And on Steemit I have other people again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52