May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Five: What Are The Top 5 Crypto Assets You’re Investing In Now?

in #steemit6 years ago

Welcome to the fifth day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

Yesterday's topic seemed a bit too politicised for some of my followers, so today I decided to pick something lighter. So, let's focus a bit on the future, specifically, on our future wealth and share what are the bets we're making when it comes to the crypto space.

I wil briefly list the most important 5 crypto assets I'm watching right now, with a very short motivation. I deliberately excluded STEEM, because it's obvious I'm invested in it, and that shouldn't count.

1. BitShares

Because it's a fast, yet very complex blockchain, which still has a dedicated developer and operations team. Also, because it shares a lot of the inner workings with the STEEM blockchain.

2. Gridcoin

Because I do believe in putting our unused CPU cycles to help science projects. I don't expect a huge return from this asset, by the way, but I feel rather good doing it.

3. JSECoin

Not even launched yet, but relatively promising. If it will be launched and if it will take off, it may disrupt web advertising to the same level, or even more, that STEEM disrupted the social media experience. At least in my opinion.

4. EOS

Because it has a lot of good stuff packed in it and because the presence of @dan at the head of the project is a guarantee that, from a technical point of view, this blockchain will be reliable.

5. Slimcoin

Because it's a rather exotic asset (just like craft beer is exotic when compared with pasteurized beer). It may never take off in the current sense of the word (with huge adoption and big trading volumes) but I still like the project.

Now it's your turn. Please link your post in the comments, so I can have a look at it.

Previous Posts In The Challenge

Sort:  

JSEcoin looks interesting after 200% inflation....

Gridcoin is an amazing project with an amazing community. We recently completed an updated white paper and are working on some fairly in depth developments for the coming months and years. Keep and eye out!

Website: https://gridcoin.us
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GridcoinNetwork
Discord: https://discord.me/gridcoin
Steemit: https://steemit.com/created/gridcoin
White Paper: https://gridcoin.us/assets/img/whitepaper.pdf

-- Github --

Codebase: https://github.com/gridcoin/Gridcoin-Research
Community: https://github.com/gridcoin-community

Are you from gridcoin? I heard of the project a while ago but forgot about it. It sounds incredible! I'd like to invest into this project in the near future once I consolidate a bit more since before steemit I literally had no money to invest.

Gridcoin is incredible indeed! This is one of the most clever use of blockchain technology IMO. Don't wait any longer! You can start crunching on the pool https://www.grcpool.com right now with no initial investment.

Need pc or can use a phone?

You can use a phone.

At the moment, Gridcoin rewards computations for BOINC. BOINC is unique in that some processing tasks function better on CPUs, Pis, or phones, and others function better on GPUs. We use a GRC specific mechanism called magnitude to make it so CPUs are not directly competing with high end GPUs.

In other words, you can "mine" (we call it "minting", or "crunching") with old hardware without worrying too much about become obsolete as new, expensive GPUs and ASICs hit the market.

It's a very unique project.

Ask around the discord server if you want more information -- every rig + project combination is different. The community is very friendly and willing to help people maximize their reward based on their situation.

If you want to learn more about magnitude, have a listen to this episode of a community podcast that works to cover the ins and outs of Gridcoin:

The Fireside Chat 05 - Magnitude Economics

Today is a very cool one. Very interesting to see the different assets people hold and the reason why.
Slimcoin was definitely a surprise for me.
Here's mine

i will make is short

Bitcoin
Steem
EOS
IOTA
Verge

LBRY, Gridcoin, Steem, Augur, Golem.

to clarify: I like LBRY because decentralization of content distribution and I contribute there because of the great community. I like Gridcoin because it incentivizes the BOINC crunchers and I run SETI@home since ages. Gotta find those alien signals. I learned about prediction markets when I discovered Augur and I like that concept. GOLEM wants to build decentralized world computer - I dig that idea also.

btc, ether, xrp, eos, and ada.

I'm curious most about eos this month!


Btw, thanks for the upvote despite me listing XRP.

I believe in blockchain, just not the utopia of disappearing banks or the weight of this project.

STEEM ETH LTC EOS ADA

My entry is here https://steemit.com/busy/@ionutciobanu/may-30-days-writing-challenge-day-five-what-are-the-top-5-crypto-assets-you-re-investing-in-now
I love cripto and for sure in this years when i discover Steemit STeem and SBD are my love thank you.

This is a good way to promote the SteemIt community! I gave you an upvote and a resteem. Check out my post! I think you will like it:

https://steemit.com/challenge30days/@bi5h0p/the-top-5-cryptos-i-am-invested-in-right-now-challenge30days

Steem
Bitshare
Litecoin
Ethereum
EOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52