May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twenty Second: What Is, In Your Opinion, A Worthy Post On Steemit? A Post That "Deserves" Its Payout...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the twenty second day of the May 30 days writing challenge. If you don't know what this challenge is about, please have a look at the introductory post. Also, at the end of each article I will post the links to all the posts in the challenge (if you're joining the challenge, I encourage you to do the same). Also, if you join, don't forget to tag your post with #challenge30days and also leave a comment with the link of your post, so I can evaluate if you're one of the 3 lucky Steemians that will get a full upvote from me.

What Is, In Your Opinion, A Worthy Post On Steemit? A Post That "Deserves" Its Payout...

Again, I'm sailing muddy waters with this one and I totally assume it. But I think it's important to tackle this issue and to express whatever we think about it. We will certainly come up with a gazillion of different opinions, but we are, after all, a gazillion of different individuals. What may seem appealing to me and worthy of an upvote, may not seem appealing to you.

Before diving into my own filter for "worthy" posts on Steemit, let me pause for a while and share the most important lesson I learned, as a blogger, on Steemit: it's not what you think about it, it's what they think about it.

I will write it again, because if you don't internalize it, you will be suffering big time here: it's not what you think about it, it's what they think about it.

It doesn't matter how much you like your own post, how valuable you think it is, because the value of it is made by what other people think of it. You may, of course, upvote your own post and indicate that you are considering it worthy, but at the end of the day it's a different game. It's all about the others, not about you.

You may write a two sentences post and get a $50 upvote, and you may write a series of 10 posts with 1,000 words each and get nothing.

It takes a while to wrap your head around this situation, because you come from a regulated environment. You probably came here after getting some AdSense on your blog or doing paid articles. And you have a rough idea that says a 1,000 words article that may get paid anywhere between $15 and $100. But that's only if you have a client for it, that expressly pays for it. In the absence of a client, your post is literally nothing.

The price of an article here can be literally anything. You may get nothing for 5 articles in a row, and then get $1,000 for only one article. I'm not kidding, this happened to many writers here. A non-regulated content market, like Steemit has an enormous potential, but it's highly unpredictable.

If you are a person which copes well with the fact that life itself, despite some illusionary, shallow characteristics, is a totally unpredictable experience, then you will adapt easily here. If not, not.

Now, let's see what I consider "worthy" on Steemit:

1. Utility

This category includes posts about the Steemit platform itself (or other tutorials related to my topics of interest), news about price, or information related to the current status of the market.

2. Readability

If a post is useful, but I can barely read it because poor editing, or bad English, then I will not consider it worthy. In some cases, I may give the author the benefit of "at least he tried" but not very often.

3. Beauty

This includes all forms of art and visual experiences, mostly photography. But it may also include very well written fiction (I remember the early posts of @charlieshrem about the life of a geek in prison, those were really interesting).

4. Fun

If it's entertaining, I consider it a good investment for my time. I think we don't have enough laughter in our lives.

So, what's your filter for what you consider a worthy post on Steemit?Leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out.

Previous Posts In The Challenge


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

Everything I upvote.

This is 100% subjective.

Thanks for this initiative that you have taken to support minnows @dragosroua

Nice topic. I am totally here to learn. Let the posts keep rolling in and let's see people's different opinions about a good post.

Just to start I am using your steem.supply, as it is more useful to me than steemd.

I have posted (as you said) great posts of value on Health, Protection and Arts... these are topics and writings that I have made a career on elsewhere... but get little fan fare on Steemit.

The posts I noticed that get the highest payouts (interaction) are those that are geared for those of us that sit in front of a computer all day dealing with the cypto-markets... but not price or new offerings, but more detailed ideas and health tips for those sitting most of the day.

That said, just this morning before going through my feed, I posted a test article... it was fun fluff type... I will be interested to see it's response. It was a Faceoff on Facebook. If you post valuable information of Facebook (or longer than 10 words), it is unpopular... people there like fluff and stuff.

So time will tell, but methinks it is just the whim of a whale on a particular day.

9 days to go in this one
It’s been an amazing one all along

What Is, In Your Opinion, A Worthy Post On Steemit? A Post That "Deserves" Its Payout

Wow, I have so many made songs that didn’t get anything lol, but it only keeps me stronger

and you just wasted that upvote you gave yourself since anything under 0.03 will be rounded down to zero

Then you won't mind it if I flag your comment.

Whatever you feel like you need to do. I guess you didn't want that information. It is your life and your voting power.

I get it. Appreciate your point of view. I'm just sick of everybody on SteemIt thinking they have some sort of a "right" or any place whatsoever in giving feedback to other Steemians about how they think they should or shouldn't be using their voting power. Let a guy learn the hard way, if that's what you think I'm doing. That's my right. I learn by receiving the feedback of blunt instruments - the hard way. If it costs me a few bucks, it's worth the cost - to me. Lessons learned on my own, decisions made on my own - these are the things I choose to treasure. Listening to somebody else talk about what they think I should do has no value to me, because my situation is different than yours. Anything worth building or creating started out as dust, before it was formed into something more substantial.

It is your right to do whatever you want, including wasting your vote. Sorry that I tried to be helpful.

NICE TOPICS...here i learn somethings,,,thnks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49