Welcome to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 - Week 2 - Winners Annoncement!!! ๐Ÿ ๐Ÿ…๐ŸŽญsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrydice โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

winners_pdc3k_lg.jpg

Midweek Top 15



Thank you to the poets who entered last week's Poetry Dice Challenge!

You have done a stellar job showing off your inspiration from the roll of the dice! Rory's Story Cubes are fun and amazing and I am glad to share them with all of you. Building up the poetry community, the PDC3K is a great way to meet your fellow poets and partake in something larger than yourselves. It's a way to branch out and break the mundane with a new style of matching words to images that hasn't been done before. I hope you enjoy making poems from the dice as much as I do!

What is taken into consideration when judging

Many things can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

*Contest Disclaimer:

The winners are based on the entries which I(we) think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, I will not say that. Instead, I(we) seek to offer you encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet.

Guest Judge for Week 2 - @mamadini

Thank you so much for your valuable time and feedback @mamadini! It was great to have you on board this week. The poetry community thanks you for your contribution to the PDC3K.

The more opinions the merrier. Please join along if you would like to take a turn judging or even co-judging next week's challenge. Drop me a comment below or message me in https://steemit.chat/direct/robyn.eggs.

The next challenge will be posted shortly. All entries to week 2 are now closed.



Honorable Mention - @mitchelljaworski

"Steemit Hustle"
A sea of masked faces, minnows abound
Homes across the world waiting
As post payouts brings smiles and frowns
Steemit is a scary place, is what they have found
Trending posts to the moon for the same people it seems
Wishing for a whale to set a blog a blaze
Hoping itโ€™s not all just a pyramid scheme

Review

Epic translation of the dice! - @mamadini & @robyneggs



3rdPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

3rd Place goes to...(1 STEEM)

@pyrowngs

"Shadow School of Fishes"

Sitting by the campfire
Pondering some thoughts.
Realizing these flames
Are more than just hot.

They cast my shadow
Lengthwise, dancing like a plume.
But the fire doesnโ€™t know me,
And neither does the moon.

The shadow moves around
Just the same as me.
But what emotion do I feel?
The shadow puppet cannot see.

I could be happy,
Sad, or mean,
Wearing a mask,
Or envy with green.

I travel this world
With a heart full of wishes,
Between home and the pyramids
With a shadow school of fishes.

Reviews

This poem had excellent rhyming and imagery. I can imagine the school of fishes as unrealized traveling wishes... - @robyneggs

I love this entry for the 'sing-song' flow and completeness of thought -- Wonderful imagery, very much a strong piece that speaks of triumph over ones emotions and sate of being. - @mamadini



2ndPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

2nd Place goes to...(3 STEEM)

@elementm

"Wise Alien"

Welcome, spaceman
To our earthly home
I'm not surprised
That we're not alone
Can I travel
The cosmos too
As freely as
You now do?
Through pyramid portals
Would I then fly?
Or like a fish bathed in flames
Would I sadly DIE?
You smile then cheerfully reply
"Do you shriek at shadows
In a well lit room?
Do you fear the night sky
When you can't see the moon?
Perhaps outer space
Isn't your best bet
You've not fully mastered
Inner space yet"

Reviews

Moving, this poem takes me to another world. The alien is indeed wise. Excellent use of the imagery. Great job @elementm! - @robyneggs

I love this entry for the imaginative quality it possesses! I get a feeling of self synthesis and perhaps healing with this one. - @mamadini



1rstPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

1rst Place goes to...(5 STEEM)

@jerrytsuseer

"PDC3K - Entry 2"

Walking through the Louvre one day,
Passing the pyramid along the way,
I saw Mona Lisaโ€™s enigmatic smile,
The eternal flame flickered a while,
(Shadowy alien fishes across the walls did play,)
Then the moonlight ran my frown away.

Reviews

This piece feels effervescent! There is a sweetness here that is charming and playful. - @mamadini

Stellar job on nailing a concise and powerful entry to this week's challenge! You hit home the way you fit all nine images together in a way that creates a visible story in the reader's mind. There is a lot here is such a tiny poem. - @robyneggs



Again, many thanks to the entries of the Week 2 PDC3K!

This couldn't be possible without all of you! Cheers and wishing you all many happy returns on Steemit and beyond!!

(All) Entries to the Week 2 PDC3K:

  1. Free at last by @jerrytsuseer
  2. Entry 1 by @girlbeforemirror
  3. Horror Trip by @yoganarchista
  4. The Tourist Fisherman by @marfa
  5. How Dice are Formed by @natasmr
  6. Steemit Hustle by @mitchelljaworski
  7. Shadow School of Fishes by @pyrowngs
  8. Entry 1 by @bleedpoet
  9. Entry 2 by @jerrytsuseer
  10. I came free somehow by @sumsum
  11. A Forwn undone by @cupid
  12. Scared of Being Alone by @tegoshei
  13. Fire by @japhofin8or
  14. Inner Conflicts by @positiveesteem
  15. Wise Alien by @elementm
  16. The Alien on the Moon by @hopehuggs
  17. Evil Shadow
  18. Feeling Brand New
  19. The Dice of Life by @artdellavita
  20. Breaking Dawn by @unspeakableme
  21. Bulletproof Heart by @unspeakableme
  22. The Moon Behind the Clouds by @unspeakableme
  23. One Crazy Night by @thelastsage
  24. Nocturnal Life is Looking at Me by @droucil

I apologize if any entries were missed. Thank you to all who joined this week. Your entries were all wonderful to read!

Whether you are taking a break from your own flow, or you desperately need pushed over the writer's block edge...this poetry challenge is for you. This first week I have seen more participation than in any previous Poetry Dice Challenge. It couldn't have been possible without all of us coming together and sharing our versions of how the dice speak to us. I hope the following weeks will continue to be an inspiration for you and the ones close to you. Cheers! And thanks for all you do!!!

***Please only use the poetrydice tag for official entries to the contest! ๐Ÿ‘ฎ๐Ÿฟโ€

I will be flagging any users who intentionally misuse the "poetrydice" tag.

Flagging a post can remove rewards and make this material less visible. Some common reasons to flag:

  • Disagreement on rewards
  • Fraud or Plagiarism
  • Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
  • Intentional miscategorized content or Spam


Use the "onehumanbasket" tag to ensure my 100% upvote and resteem.

  • Use "onehumanbasket" on photography, art and other types of posts besides poetry. Posts using both "poetry" and "onehumanbasket," however, will remain higher priority since I wish to curate the poetry community specifically.
  • Official entries to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 will have the highest priority vote.
  • ONLY use the "poetrydice" tag for official entries to the contest.
  • I also curate posts with just "poetry.โ€ Any left-over voting power gets used for highly selective posts that I hope contribute to the "onehumanbasket" feel.

onehumanbasket_saying_wellies_420_re.jpg



Follow me on social media:

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Flickr

View my credentials:

Artist Services Webpage



Each up-vote goes to support a - single-mom/autistic child - @robyneggs Help support a well-minded artist support their child today.

Thank you for visiting @robyneggs blog

robyneggs_profileeggs_150.jpg robyneggs150_hs_profile.jpg

Sort: ย 

Thanks @robyneggs and @mamadini! And congrats to all of the other poets (I'll be heading to next round's contest post :D )

Congratulations! :) Awesome writing.

Thank you @robyneggs for building community and being such a reinforcing presence of positivity and enthusiasm! This was a wonderful week of poems.

Thank you every last person that entered the challenge. It was a true pleasure to serve. I am enchanted by all the talent here as well as humbled. Keep writing. <3

*Pardon my typo above as I meant * state of being, not sate. ::giggles::

Thanks again @mamadini! Your participation means everything! And congrats to the winner's!! You are well deserved! :-)

I am overwhelmed. I am so very grateful! Thank you for your consideration of my writings. โ™ฅ
Now, on to week 3

Congratulations! :) You're way up there!

Thanks for this very interesting challenge @robyneggs! :) I'm looking forward to participating in the next one again! (^^,)/

hooray!!

Lovely poems :) Competition is hard here hehe ^^

Competition is hard but you are a top poet!! Thanks for joining again! Will you be playing again this week 3?

Yup, will be entering in a moment ^-^

Congratulations to all the winners and everyone who joined! Great job everyone :D

Thanks! Will you be joining us for the week 3 PDC3K?

Crossing my fingers I make the deadline but I'll do my best to join. This contest has been awesome! (Been having a really trying week, sorry >.<)

Well done, guys!!

Thanks! hoping you will join us again for this week's dice roll (find it in my profile link)! XO

Well!!

Wow! Thank you for giving my poem 3rd place!! And, thanks so much for the feedback! it's great to see what you think! Off to study the new dice... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44