Poetrydice Challenge: Inner Conflicts

in #poetry7 years ago

The wretched soul sets the house on fire
The enlightened built the pyramid
Is one led by the devil
While the other followed the spirit of goodness
Is sadness the result of evil
And happiness comes from godliness
Torn between forces of evil and good
Tormented by his inner conflicts
He puts on a mask
Admiring the fishes
Swimming so freely in the waters


Image Source

About the poem:

Human beings have great capacity to do both good and evil. In general society rewards the good that we do and punishes those who do evil. The question therefore arises, what motivates man to do either good or evil. Is it because at the core of us, there is either pure evil or pure goodness? If that is the case, where does this evil or goodness in our heart come from? It is planted in our hearts by a superior being or do we acquired as we journey here on earth.

These are the questions that have puzzled men for centuries. Scientists, philosophers and psychologist have put forward so many conflicting theories.

Personally for me, life is not black or white but different shades of black and white with lots of grey in between. I am not in a position to judge the actions of others, neither can I discern the motivations behind these actions. Where possible I shall strive to practice non-judgement. I believe that in most cases, people are doing the best that they can under the circumstances with the resources that are available to them. My faith in humanity and the good that they can do is still intact. Ultimately, I believe that good will triumph over evil. You may think that I am an idealist but I am just a die hard optimist.

Do check out my previous posts.

Trans-Mongolia Railway Adventure: A Holiday On My Way To A Holiday
Newbie Nuggets: Top 5 Tools And Resources That Can Help You Succeed At Steemit
To The Market We Go: A Pictorial Story And Poem
The Prostitute
What A Woman Says And What She Actually Means And My Poem “The Conversation”

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Very much good poem. Yes we are not able to recognize the good people or bad ones. But in my opinion others harm us more.Thanks for sharing such a beautiful poem.

Thank you. I am glad that you liked the poem. I hope to be able to pratice non judgement.

Great post , its true about life

The inspiration of this poem is based on my observations about life. I am glad you liked it. Do follow me for more.

Very interesting perspective! I was raised by parents with VERY black and white views,and for a time, thought very black and white myself until I was able to challenge my own thinking. I, too, generally believe that people do the best that they can and try to live in non-judgement. That comes in very handy for my job! However, I find that when it hits home and becomes personal, I struggle with becoming judgmental once more. Thanks for the post! Caused me to self-reflect on some current practices.

Being non-judgemental is hard to practice. It is just too easy to judge.

Especially when it is your go-to response initially. It takes so long to re-train your brain...

Very nice, Will be looking forward to your posts.

Up-voted :-)

RightWithin

Thank you. I am glad you like my poem. Do follow me for more.

Thanks for your wonderful entry to the PDC3K!


I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

You are most welcome. I enjoyed writing poetry and look forward to take part in this challenge

Nicely done! The juxtaposition is solid. :)

Thanks. Life is full of opposites and contradictions.

Life is beauty and chaos. and chaos is beautiful sometimes. then there is organized chaos. hehe. am getting ahead of myself. :)

I will try to go with life's flow, accepting the chaos and uncertainity.

thanks for sharing your poem ! But society doesn't always punish evil , its sad but true and a nice way to think though ! ✌👌

There are bound to be cases of miscarriage of justice. He will receive his punishment in due course.

yes I agree , if not in this life then in another ! 👌

This is so good and one I can completely relate to. The mask especially. How many do we wear? Sometimes there are so many we forget what it's like NOT to wear one. Well done @positivesteem

It is true that we wear our mask by default. It is a conditioned behavior , and one which we need to learn to unlearn. I for one have too many insecurities and I have to admit wearing a mask too often.

I used to have so many insecurities and eventually I stopped giving power to the people who didn't matter...and then I started to have a smaller filter on my thoughts...and then I got over myself. And this... ME right now...is what's left. LOL

That will be the best part of you. I am trying to accept whatever weakness that I perceived that I have and turn it to my strength. These weakness is what makes me who I am and what makes me unique.


This post got a 16.97 % upvote thanks to @positivesteem - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58