20 questions with @saramiller (The Steemian Series)

in #life6 years ago

Believe it or not, @saramiller – the inspiring and free-spirited Steemian who many of us know and love – was on the path to become a dentist.

U5dreUw6GUZnLk5uq7XdcaiUvdbBSXN_1680x8400.jpeg

It's hard to imagine what her life would be like had she gone down that road. Thankfully, @saramiller chose an alternative path, which has led her to abundant happiness alongside a few other notable Steemians who reside in a sustainable Texas eco-village known as The Garden of Eden.

In today's 20 questions interview, Sara talks about life at the Garden of Eden, explains how she was introduced to Steemit and gives us a healthy dose of her favorite cuss word.


20 questions with @saramiller

U5drSVNDXz69SL4sM669uZD2x15j438_1680x8400.png

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

@saramiller - I am.

2 - What does the Garden of Eden mean to you?

@saramiller - Ha, there's a loaded question! I've been all over the world and have been part of lots of communities and ecovillages and sustainable projects, but I've never seen anything quite like this.

This is a place where people can consciously unplug from the matrix and reprogram a more beneficial standard operating system. I've broken through a lot of outdated codes within myself here and upgraded to become a better version of me. This is a mindset of abundance and infinite potential, where there's more than enough of everything for everyone.

This is a new hope for a better world, where solutions exist and magic is real.

Anything is possible here!

3 - How would you describe your typical day at the GOE?

@saramiller - I wake up whenever I want, get dressed (or not) in whatever I want to wear, walk barefoot from the geodome to the main house, drink some activated water, and spend the next 12-16 hours on the computer doing things I love to do, like Steeming, investing, researching, writing, editing, and making graphics, media, and websites. I might shoot a video, take photos, or model. I aim to be as focused, driven, efficient, and considerate as @quinneaker is while having the best time I can possibly have. @everlove gifts me glorious beverages like garden-fresh green juice and salted-caramel-cayenne coffee. @truelovelives serves me DANKALICIOUS, high vibe, sustainable, free food. I might take a break from my productive play to do yoga near the bamboo or to walk through the garden or sungaze or play princesses or ponies with @qiqi-power and @noki-power. I never have to go out into Babylon, unless I feel like driving and therefore volunteer to be the one to pick up enough food to feed hundreds of people or to send health supplements to sick people. I might be awake for 18 - 36 hours, depending on the season and phase of the moon (for real LOL), how excited I am about whatever I'm doing, or whether there's a time sensitive project to be done. I rejoice in my loved ones. I meditate and give thanks for a seriously epic life and pray I can pay forward all my blessings and be a better person tomorrow.

U5dtTXDmKJUSf9FD7W26VycdUJTpt7n_1680x8400.jpeg

4 - What are your favorite things about @everlove and @quinneaker?

@saramiller - Jeez, how much space do I get to answer these questions?! @everlove and @quinneaker are the most generous, considerate people I have ever met. They have literally opened their home for a decade to strangers from all over the world - most people I know can't stand houseguests for more than a week! They feed people every day and give them shelter without asking anything in return, and that alone is highly admirable. But wait, there's MORE!!

@everlove is the most supportive women I know. She is patient, gentle, compassionate, creative, nurturing, caring, kind, giving, brave, playful - she is truly a shining example of a Woman! Check out her Artists in Bloom or her Collaborative Art Journey initiatives on Steemit, and be sure to read her comments - they have (accurately) been described as a virtual hug <3

And @quinneaker is hands down the best Man I have ever seen. He is a master provider and exemplary father. He is responsible, present, honorable, sharp, bold, innovative, inspired and inspiring, dedicated, valiant, fair, honest, open, real, insightful, thoughtful, strong, just, heroic, determined, benevolent, and visionary. In a world that excels at manufacturing slaves, he is FREE! He breaks all molds and definitions and pushes people to embody the highest versions of themselves so we can all live the most awesome lives possible. I love that he challenges people to rethink every aspect of existence. He is absolutely legendary. His powers of forgiveness and non-judgment seem beyond human! I would not be all that I am today without his guidance and high standards.

Man, I should really write whole posts devoted to these seriously epic humans...I haven't even scratched the surface of how amazing these people really are...They show a better way to live just by being their own incredible selves.

5 - I understand you originally intended to become a dentist. How do you think your life would be different had you chosen that path?

@saramiller - I would probably hate my job, have a big, inefficient, expensive house, a boring and/or mean husband, and pretty much be miserable, angry, and resigned to a pathetic life of complacency. I would be expected to wear shoes all the time and behave a certain way and pay taxes. I don't know, maybe I still would have found meaning and happiness as a dentist, because my soul was crying out for it and we live in a mysterious universe that miraculously hears those calls...but conscious evolution and growth wasn't part of that lifestyle, and I was definitely on a path of negativity and didn't know how to escape.

DQmWLDdfiuY4iciYV8UVoXoWNwCAbaWwKSfHGrdWAmVW2WX.jpeg

6 - How did you first hear about Steemit?

@saramiller - @quinneaker told me about Steemit & cryptocurrency for the first time in August 2016, and I got an account within hours.

7 - What was your initial impression of the platform?

@saramiller - I didn't sleep for days because I was so excited. I had a bunch of thoughts/emotions all at once - HELL YES THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING!!! There are alternatives to USD?!?! I can bypass the Fed?! I can get paid to post about the things I love to do in money that doesn't support the global military industrial complex?! WTF is a blockchain? OMG @berniesanders has a fucking fat upvote!! Who are these wizards?!?! FINALLY an honorable platform aligned with the vision and economy of the GOE!!!

8 - What is the best thing about Steemit?

@saramiller - It has the potential to redefine the value of money as a sacred gift and a token of meaningful appreciation.

9 - What is the worst thing about Steemit?

@saramiller - People are greedy, whiny assholes and entitled drama queens, and they forsake the profound opportunity for creating a true gift economy...just like in real life.

U5dt72fJfm54kZMPLavmBco2DEnj1bi_1680x8400.png

10 - You were recently at the Steem Creators Conference in Las Vegas, and you regularly attend SteemFest. Why are these types of gatherings important for the community?

@saramiller - Meeting the Steemians face-to-face is incredible. Here we are, together on the blockchain, sharing our lives and knowledge and experiences with each other. We come together in real life and the power and excitement is palpable. There's something amazing about combining energies with another person, and we've got a whole community of awesome individuals making valuable exchanges at these events! Big projects are developed, inspiration overflows, lives are genuinely upgraded.

11 - What is a bold prediction about what could happen to Steem in the next year?

@saramiller - I'll make several:

-$20 Steem might be bold to some, but I think it's totally realistic and actually way low-balling it, especially if we see the development of at least 1 quick, easy, user-friendly, no or low fee mobile app.

-At the rate things are going, I foresee Busy.org overtaking Steemit.com as the most popular blockchain interface if Steemit.com doesn't step up their game.

-I think women are going to have an ever more important, appreciated, and valuable role on this blockchain that could set the bar for the whole cryptospace.

-We're going to see real life communities of Steemians choosing to live together and combine their resources to create a better world.

-And if we're on the record, I'm predicting SteemFest 3 in Greece.

12 - How much time per week do you spend reading other Steemians' blog posts?

@saramiller - Depends on the week and what people are writing about.

U5dsfiEDY81jLKYQh2LQsCCUtEsWUYp_1680x8400.png

13 - How has yoga and meditation impacted your life?

@saramiller - I am waaaaaay more chill and peaceful than I used to be. I've had experiences I once thought were impossible, which is humbling and expansive. I now know that healing is limitless. I have useful, sustainable tools for dealing with life's challenges now! It is my pleasure to share these tools with others.

14 - What was the best part about the year you lived in Peru?

@saramiller - I enjoyed a plethora of alternative healing modalities that I wouldn't have believed had I not experienced them for myself.

And Inca ruins!!! And the Amazon Rainforest...and Andes Mountains...and glorious, breathtaking Earth in general :)

15 - Where is one place that you've not yet traveled that is on the top of your list to visit?

@saramiller - Egypt.

U5dqwtDHjYuektfGLbKorr3cm9WHZ2X_1680x8400.jpeg

16 - I've read that you've got a knack for "cussing with style." If you could only use one cuss word for the rest of your life, what would it be?

@saramiller - "Fuck" obviously has the most meanings and nuances - would be challenging to go a lifetime without such usefulness.

17 - What's your most embarrassing moment?

@saramiller - Being engaged was pretty absurd, and I still cringe to think about it...but realistically it was an important step towards being a badass, so I give thanks for it too!

18 - What is your favorite quote?

@saramiller - Tie - "The revolution begins within" and "Stop fucking around." Just a few gems @quinneaker says .

19 - You get to have dinner with three people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

@saramiller - My sister, Quinn Eaker, Maynard James Keenan.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

@saramiller - I can rap it up like a Christmas present.


Thank you to @saramiller tackling these questions!

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

image1 (29).png

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock
20 questions with Manny Kess
20 questions with John Goehrke
20 questions with Sunny Lenarduzzi
20 questions with The Cranky Flier - Brett Snyder
20 questions with Shawn Murphy
20 questions with Leo Babauta
20 questions with Jacob Staudenmaier
20 questions with Steve Scott
20 questions with Stefan Hyttfors
20 questions with Zachery Ty Bryan
20 questions with Ryan Lancaster
20 questions with Richard Millington
20 questions with E-mail Prankster
20 questions with Joseph Raczynski
20 questions with Elan Gale
20 questions with @surfermarly
20 questions with @kevinwong
20 questions with @donkeypong
20 questions with @gringalicious
20 questions with @tangerinetravels
20 questions with @lukestokes
20 questions with Jeff Reitz
20 questions with @anomadsoul
20 questions with @surpassinggoogle
20-Q.png

Sort:  

Wow thanks so much @wadepaterson! These were great questions that inspired quite a lot of enjoyable thought. So honored to share a taste of my life with you and the readers of your valuable #twentyquestions series!

Hope to see you at SteemFest 3 - we missed you at SF2!

I fully plan on being there :)

Yea man thanks,
Great service you to for this community with your series.
You may also consider Eden Metamorphosis 8-10 June in @gardenofeden !

Thanks for the heads up, @quinneaker! My June is looking pretty busy, but if that weekend frees up, I might try to make it :)

As I said you "may CONSIDER"

Best regards~*~

Where have you been @wadepaterson? How have you been?

Wow!. You brought her. Wow. I have never chatted with her before, but from what I have learned from @everlove, she is totally cool and adorable. Wow. She is stunning too. Had the priviledge of exchanging few chats with @quinneaker in his comment section and he is such a great man. I respect his ideas and what he is doing with @gardenofeden. @everlove ooze of love. I love her peace and heart. She is such an amazing lady, always willing to help and reply to you and it is no surprise she is imbibing that into @qiqi-power and @noki-power. Those kids are so cultured and amazing...always willing to help.

Really excited to have you bring @saramiller just to know a little more about her and read her thoughts.

Thanks as always @wadepaterson.

Yes, busy.org is the best. Really cool inter-phase and easy to navigate site. Love it. I use it all the time.

Hi @olawalium! Thanks for your support, and I'm so glad to hear you have such respect and appreciation for the wonderful @quinneaker & @everlove - they are a few of my inspirations 💛 The @gardenofeden is indeed an epic place!

We're having our last event at the Garden of Eden in Arlington before moving onto Eden 2.0 - would be AWESOME if you could join us for EDEN METAMORPHOSIS!

Yaaaaaay!. Really excited hearing from you. This warms my heart. It is such an honour and I know it would be amazing. I am always a big fan of what GOE stands for. Well done and you have such an adorable heart. Well done.

Hey @olawalium! I know, I've been quiet! A lot of things going on, but life is good :)

I agree, all of the GOE folks are amazing and have big hearts! They're definitely inspirational.

Stay tuned: I should have some more interviews coming down the pike.

I'm pretty excited to see your interviews with @everlove & @quinneaker, @wadepaterson :)
You're an excellent interviewer!

Really glad to hear from you and to know you are good. Everything will turn out great. I admire your efforts and works, well done.
I look forward to more interviews then. Stay good.

Beautifully answered, all of them
That's is what we can call life.

Yah - Sara did a great job with these!

Really a great job

Thanks Wade!

Yay LIFE!!!! Thanks @mumin007!

Completely my pleasure

this is awesome girl, this is just amazing to live a life like this

Agreed!

May it inspire you and many others to live your most awesome life possible too @muhasib!!!! <3

thanks for the amazing works girl, so kind of words, stay blessed

That's a perfect life 😍
Wish her luck :)

It's definitely a departure from the typical 9-5 lifestyle! Which, I think for Sara, is a really good thing.

Not only for her, for most of us.
Most people dream to have a lifestyle like this, I know I do

True.

I truly hope it inspires you to live the life of your dreams!

It is really inspiring and steemit provides an opportunity to make it true.
Thank you for the inspiration @saramiller

It's definitely a good thing for me!!

Thanks @rjunaid12 :)
I totally agree this is a seriously stellar life. I lived a sucky life for quite a while, and when I had enough of that I decided to make it rock as hard as I can!

Indeed..
Best of luck for the future as well :)

9 - What is the worst thing about Steemit?

@saramiller - People are greedy, whiny assholes and entitled drama queens, and they forsake the profound opportunity for creating a true gift economy...just like in real life.

My God, I just love, love, love this answer!! :)

Congratulations for this amazing piece!

Awe....thank god for @saramiller!!! She is one of my favorite people on the planet and I am grateful to be a part of her life everyday.....ohhhhhhh what a blessing!!

I love this series @wadepaterson. How in the world have I been missing all these amazing posts about these amazing people! Thank you for bringing me here and sharing the awesomeness that is @saramiller. You ask some really great questions. Super awesome series!!!

Thanks so much, @everlove :)

I'm thrilled that you are now officially part of the series!

Grateful for the exposure and for being a part of such a great project. Thanks to you.

Great post sir.. I really really like your post

Thanks @steem-works!

Oh...My...God...

She had me at "I am".....She totally gets it. The oneness and "connectedness" of EVERYTHING. That and she likes to swear- I love it!

I have to meet this person!

Definitely follow her!

Nice to meet you @jrb450 :)

Beautifully answered, all of them
That's is what we can call life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61