20 questions with John Goehrke (the guy who landed a date with Genie Bouchard)

in #life7 years ago

Tom Brady may have walked away as Super Bowl LI MVP, but many are calling John Goehrke the true hero from this past Sunday.

16522926_1536719773022099_407255374_n3ed72.jpg

Around half-time of the big game, John noticed a Tweet from Canadian tennis star, Eugenie Bouchard. With Atlanta having a 21-3 lead, Bouchard stated, "I knew Atlanta would win btw." John tested her confidence, asking her if she would go on a date with him if the Patriots came back and won. "Sure," replied Bouchard. (My earlier blog post broke down the interaction.)

As we all know, the Patriots accomplished the unthinkable, and John's clever wager has landed him a date with one of the world's most attractive athletes. And Bouchard has said she plans to make good on her word and follow through with the date.

I reached out to the kid from Chicago to find out a bit more about him. What went through his mind when Genie took him up on his bet? How many Twitter followers has he gained in the last 48 hours? And does he intend to pay for dinner?

Meet the guy who used 140 characters to land himself the most talked about blind date of 2017.


20 questions with John Goehrke

genieguy3bf0d.jpg

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

John - I'm a very competitive person.

2 - How long have you been a fan of Eugenie Bouchard?

John - I've been a fan since her run at Wimbledon in 2014.

3 - Did you expect Genie to respond when you Tweeted her, suggesting the two of you go on a date if the Pats win?

John - I thought she might respond, but thought there was no way she'd say, "Yes."

4 - What went through your mind when she responded, “Sure”?

John - I was in shock and immediately texted all my closest friends about what was happening.

geniecocky42a65.png

5 - Was the second half of this year’s Super Bowl the most exciting game you’ve ever watched, considering the stakes?

John - Second most exciting game behind Cubs game 7, because I'm a huge Cubs fan.

6 - Have you heard personally from Genie or any of her representatives yet?

John - I have not heard from her yet, but she did do an interview earlier today saying she will go through with it.

tw115964.jpg

genie2526a8.jpg

7 - What are you planning for the date?

John - The date with depend on where we end up meeting, but it'll will probably consist of a dinner and something fun.

8 - Are you planning to pay?

John - She mentioned in the interview she may fly me out somewhere, but yes, I'm prepared to pay for everything.

9 - How many people have contacted you since last night’s Twitter exchange?

John - I'd say at least 10 to 15 media members have contacted me as of today, as well as a large number of friends and family.

10 - As of right now, you have 1,377 Twitter followers. How many did you have before the conversation with Genie?

John - I think about 150, haha.

11 - Do you think you’ll be nervous on the date?

John - I think I'll be nervous off the bat, but she seems like a very nice person so I don't think it will take long to be comfortable. I'll be more excited than nervous.

genie64b24c.png

12 - What’s your favorite thing about Genie?

John - I don't really have one favorite thing. I like that she's young (close to my age),competitive, and beautiful.

13 - What has been your friends’ and family’s reactions to this?

John - My friends and family are loving it and think it's so cool and funny and just want to know about what's going to happen.

14 - Who is your favorite sports team?

John - Chicago Cubs are my favorite team.

15 - What do you study in school?

John - Marketing.

16 - Do you typically bet on sports?

John - Occasionally.

17 - What sorts of messages have you been receiving from others on social media since your Twitter conversation with Genie?

John - A lot of people are saying they wish they had thought of this first and things like, "This guy is the real MVP of the Super Bowl."

18 - In the past, Genie has said she has a crush on Justin Bieber. What are your thoughts on this?

John - I'm completely fine with that. I think Bieber is cool.

19 - Do you play any tennis?

John - I don't play very often but I have played and I do like to follow it.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

John - Honestly, very few people knew how much I liked Genie, haha.


Thanks so much to John for sharing the details regarding his epic Tweet.

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

wadee2ca9.png

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock
20 questions with Manny Kess

Sort:  

I propose to John Goehrke to post after the date on steemit him self!
I bet he will be the top trending post on steemit and will receive a 4 digit reward!

Hey man! You always have the best interviews!

Great job once again!

You're too kind, Adil! Thanks for reading :)

Look at that view count!

Have you been sharing this post on other networks?

You deserve a higher payout for this post.

Hey Brian,

Thanks for the kind words. I always share my "20 questions" interviews on Twitter.

In this particular instance, since this story was trending this week, I think a lot of people have been on the lookout for unique content about who this John guy is. As far as I know, there aren't any other "20 questions" style interviews with him out there.

Not too worried about the payout; I'm happy that the interview is getting lots of readers.

I know! The request for "20 More Questions" has been sent.

I also noticed the view count on this went through the roof overnight... 6,378!

Nice one! :D

Thanks! I had to try to get in contact with this guy. The dude won the Internet on Sunday!

Haha indeed, nice that you got in touch with him!

Maybe do another 20 questions after his date. ;D

Great idea. Hopefully John will be up for it!

Congrats on the Views Man! Would love see another couple 0's added to that count ;)

Cheers bro.

Knowing you, I'm just surprised it wasn't you who landed the date with a Sports Illustrated Swimsuit model by betting on Tom Brady ;)

Haha so true! Sadly tho I wasn't on twitter much that night... ;)
hint: Around 15:00...

Wow!!! That's nothing short of incredible! That must have been the best game of your life?

I've been lucky enough, as you know, to have been to some amazing games over the years however this, by far, IMO, is both the best game & comeback in NFL history. As well as among the best of all time sporting event. I was sitting in the second row behind the patriots bench 30 yard line, interesting little fact: Michael Pena & Dax Shepard who sat directly in front of me left prior to the half (Atlanta Fans) And in person they weren't very funny lol

I'm so jealous! Good for you, dude.

Holy cow! That view count is tremendous!

Lots of interest in Mr. John Goehrke and his incredible bet! haha

Omg @thecryptofiend re-steemed this.
Viewcount about to triple! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52