20 questions with @katecloud (Exclusive Interview)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

An artist. A swashbuckler. A Steemit sensation.

Those are a few of the ways to describe @katecloud, who made waves with her incredibly successful post: What I'm taking to survive a 6 month hiking trip

@katecloud is currently ranked #586, according to Steem Whales, and will likely continue to climb as she blogs about preparation for a 2,200 mile hike up the Appalachian Trail, as well as her passion for art.

But is @katecloud single? How many tattoos does she have? And what went through her head when she realized her Steemit account had been hacked?

I was curious as well. So I decided to find out...


20 questions with @katecloud

1 - For those who missed your "IntroduceYourself" post, what can you tell us about yourself in one sentence?

I may not be perfect, but parts of me are pretty awesome!

2 - How did you hear about Steemit and why did you join?

From my friend @billbutler - he's the type of person who is always trying to connect and help others. Oh, and he's smart as hell too! So when he told me I needed to join Steemit and share my art (I want to say here I didn't ask questions, but I did). I just needed some guidance on how to operate this bad boy.

I had the idea of creating a sketch-journal of my Appalachian trip, but when he brought up Steemit I thought: how cool would it be to blog and share my experiences and art while on the trail live. I'm very thankful to have a friend like Bill.

3 - You’ve referred to yourself as a “creator.” What is the creation you are proudest of?

Ok, so obviously my daughter, but aside from her I'd say a piece I'm still working on that no one has really seen yet...it's about as big as a full-size truck bed. It is a painting of Man vs the 7 Sins. I feel like its something you'd see on an old cathedral wall.

4 - Describe a typical day in the life of @katecloud

First, I mix a potion made from magic beans that I grind up... I call it brown drank. I usually will sit on my back deck and watch birds in the feeders while I wait for it to work. Once awake, if it's nice out and I'm stir crazy, I might just take off on a little road trip, or hike to explore some place I've never been... I usually always cook dinner for my daughter, and afterwards at night is when I like to get into my art. I'll turn on some music, grab a glass of wine or 3, pull my hair up and lose myself in the project at hand. If I can't sleep, I'll read in bed surrounded by my husky, lab-pit, and terrorizing kitties...I have a ton of books and could totally be mistaken as a librarian by the stacks on either side of my bed.

5 - How many tattoos do you have?

Hmm...18'ish. All on my arms and hands...I like the rest of me the way I am.

6 - Which tattoo is your favorite?

In the palm of my left hand I have my daughter's left hand from the day she was born.

but....

I also have the words "I do what I want!" down my forearm lol...I think life would be a lot easier if everyone came with a clause, don't you?

7 - You—and a handful of other people on Steemit—were hacked. What went through your head when you realized what had happened? What did you learn from that experience?

I had such a rush of mixed emotions in such a short window of time. I had came home from a long day and saw how much attention it earned and was literally dancing around the living room like a school girl. All I could think about was that I wouldn't need GoFundMe or all of my 4 (...yes 4) jobs any longer to try to earn the funding for my Appalachian trip. But, it was short lived, I had logged in through my Facebook on my phone and by the time I looked down at it again it was all gone! I was SO deflated! Luckily I have some kick ass friends in the cyber world who are buddies with some of the Steemit crew and they contacted me within minutes! @cass and @billbutler both instantly reached out and helped me recover my account. Really, what it came down to was my password was weak. Definite lesson learned! But hey, the only mistakes we make are the ones we don't learn from.

8 - Your post “What I’m taking to survive a 6 month hiking trip” was incredibly successful with 550 up-votes. Did the amount of support you received surprise you?

OMG, yes! I can be such a nerd when it comes to certain things and I didn't really think so many people would find it that interesting. I was just thinking maybe it'd help out anyone who might have questions or be possibly considering hiking the AT at some point, so I shared.

9 - What is your favorite movie?

City of Angels has always hit me right in the feelers. But I'm a comedy buff to boot...I own a fine collection of ridiculousness. I'm that person who goes around all day quoting lines from random scenes and cracking myself up.

10 - What is your favorite song? (Both right now, and all-time) And what's your theme song?

"Its a mix of Jazz and Funk...I call it Junk!" -Robin Williams

Ok, first I have to say this is the hardest question EVER!! I mean a good song is a good song no matter what the genre. Mood is the most common determining factor- House or Island, Rap or Country, Classical or Rock...I mean I once went to a Bluegrass festival right after a Snoop Dog concert...no joke. OK, OK, I'm gonna say...

George Strait -I'm not here for a long time, I'm here for a good time (currently)

Brooks & Dunn - Believe (All Time)

Rihanna - Birthday Cake (Theme-Because it sounds like she's saying Kate, Kate, Kate, Kate) lmao

11 - Do you consider yourself to be a partier?

Oh, the stories I could tell! And the pictures, oh man the pictures lol...there was definitely a time in my life, spending my summers bouncing from Vegas, L.A., Hawaii, Modeling, bartending and giving tattoos, yeah I still party... just not like I did at 22.

12 - Do you have any regrets in life?

Only wasted time.

13 - Whose Steemit blog are you most entertained by?

Oh, good one...You know there is so much negative babble constantly flooding social networks these days that it's refreshing to come across positive ones, or topics helpful to others. I can't say I'm hooked on just one blogger yet. I did however notice a gentleman I followed on Instagram who posts daily positive messages is now on Steemit: @scottvanfossen ... I also enjoy my friend @billbutler 's posts, and I like the cause behind the retired green beret @scarsanstripes blog.

14 - What's the worst date you've ever been on?

Bahahaha, so no shit, there I was...

Um, I don't think I can say that I've ever had a horribly awful single date. But dating experience yes...as in someone continuously asking you to hang out because I thought that dating was about getting to know someone, like testing the waters...Obviously, I'm bad at this, lol.

All I'm going to say is DON'T EVER DATE FAMOUS COUNTRY SINGERS...they're nothing like their songs.

15 - What is one food you couldn't live without?

Alaskan, Dungeness, King...Crab. I'm just glad you didn't ask about odd food combinations I like. lol

16 - You get to have dinner with three other people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

Isabella Bird
Norman Rockwell
Albert Einstein

17 - Who is your biggest inspiration in life?

My Grandpa Errol. I can't even write this without tearing up; I miss him so much. He passed May 2011. This man loved life so much, and I never once saw him lose his temper. He was so fun, always smiling, and singing, or goofing off. He would often remind us kids to smile...he'd say "Smile and the world will smile with you."

We spent a lot of time together when I was growing up because of my divorced parents. He made me promise that I'd never give up on my art...or smoke. lol Well, I can say I've kept both promises. I sure do miss him though. I think he visits me from time to time because my house will suddenly smell like his cologne. He would also say, "With each rising sun think of life as just beginning. Show kindness and love today for tomorrow's chance may never come."

18 - Are you single? (If so, what qualities/physical features do you look for)

Well, my favorite color is light tan, I like long walks on the beach, and puppies!! giggle.

Yes I'm single...but someone is chasing me!!! ...maybe I should say pursuing. lol - either-way

Physically- I like tall guys at least 6'2", because I'm 5'8". I'm a sucker for green eyes, and big white smiles...strong shoulders (insert drool here)

Oh! Can't have weird tiny hands or smoke.

Qualities- I don't like push-overs. I want a man that knows how to be a man, and is dependable. One who can stimulate my senses, my mind and make me laugh. I want a man who is responsible but still knows how to cut loose and live in the moment. Owns a car, house, maybe two cars, maybe two houses. lol - Ok just a solid job would be a great start. Someone who can show me fun on the scale of wildfire. I'll admit I'm easily bored and can be pretty spontaneous...I once left on a 3 month road trip...in a Dodge Neon, with a surfboard, a cat, and my tattoo equipment so I could earn extra money by giving tattoos.

I love surprises & my having hair played with

19 - Tell us about your most embarrassing moment.

I have lots!! But, how about the time...

I was back stage at the Luxor with my friend Randy West, waiting for our mutual friend Scotty AKA Carrot Top to finish his show when this group of guys walked in and joined us. I had drank by this point, Mmm, 3 or 4 raspberry martinis. I remember telling one of them that he reminded me of my dad. I got a funny look from the group of guys just as Scotty walked in. At that moment, they unveiled a framed record as a gift to Scotty from them. Without missing a beat, I exclaimed! "Oh good! You guys finally went aluminum." There was only a brief moment of silence before they looked at Scotty and asked, "Who the hell is this woman?" lol

" We had a blast that night, me Randy, Scotty and Pantera.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you that you'd like to share with the Steemit community?

There are a few things actually:

  • I am planning on building something giant out of Legos once I return from the AT.

  • I am also building a fountain, constructed from rocks I've collected from different water falls.

  • And if you continue to follow me, I might someday be able buy a fancy sports car to compensate for my tiny belly button.


I'd like to sincerely thank @katecloud for giving us a glimpse into her life and providing great photos!

Also, a huge thank-you to all of you for taking the time to read.

Is there another Steemit user who you'd like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to check out my blog for more interesting stories. (Like that time I interviewed Barenaked Ladies frontman, Ed Robertson!)

#steemit #life #introduceyourself

Previous "20 questions with" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels

Sort:  

"Thanks for Interviewing me!!"
xo @katecloud

I think we can all agree you give a pretty kick-ass interview!

Thank you wadepaterson,

I didn't hear about @katecloud before. You changed that. She is an amazing artist. Thank you for sharing

She's an awesome artist! She did such a kick-ass job on this interview as well - loved her responses.

Thank you, so kind.

Hey! Great set of questions, thanks for the mention/turning me onto Steemit, and I love seeing all the awesome things unfolding for you, @katecloud! :D

Good Interview, thanks for the QUALITY post!

Thanks for taking the time to read @flexcougar - much appreciated.

@katecloud I learned some new stuff about you!

Hopefully all good lol

Interesting and structured post :) Good luck!

One of my favourite fellow artists who, inadvertently, has now introduced me to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54917.96
ETH 2851.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21