20 questions with @allasyummyfood

in #food8 years ago (edited)

With nearly $20,000 worth of up-votes delivered in three weeks, it seems as though the Steemit community has an insatiable hunger for Alla and her yummy food.

But the 28-year-old's skills go far beyond the kitchen.

The popular chef has built a social media following of more than 160,000 fans, and she is using that experience to lay a strong foundation on her Steemit blog, which includes a variety of creative content sprinkled in with a healthy mix of delicious recipes.

She even hit the streets of London to educate people on what Steemit is and how it works. Next on her list is organizing the first-ever London Steem meet-up.

Oh, and did I mention she's single?


20 questions with @allasyummyfood

1 - For those who missed your "IntroduceYourself" post, what can you tell us about yourself in one sentence?

@allasyummyfood - I am a full-time food blogger, chef, Youtuber and aspiring businesswoman.

2 - Describe a typical day in the life of Alla.

@allasyummyfood - My days vary a lot. Usually I spend a good amount of time doing social media, filming new material, going for interviews and doing LIVE cooking shows. I do a lot of recipe research and testing, as well as organizing dinner parties and various events throughout the month. I love it. I wouldn't change a thing.

3 – What is your favorite food?

@allasyummyfood - My favourite food is Japanese... I love sushi. And, of course, Russian.

4 – What is your least favorite food?

@allasyummyfood - I'm not the biggest fan of Indian food.

5 – What's the worst kitchen disaster you've ever had?

@allasyummyfood - Haha, I have quite a few stories like that. The worst ones are normally when I don't have a ton of time, and everything goes wrong. I put salt instead of sugar into a cake once (the staff mixed up the labels). The cake was supposed to be for 40 people. I didn't even taste it before baking, I only realized when people started eating it and it was horrible. I didn't have enough time to make a second cake, but I made some pastries quickly.

6 – You've announced you're hosting the first London Steem meet-up. What do you have planned for that event?

@allasyummyfood - Yes I'm very excited about it. I will be renting out a space on Thames river in London with a stunning view of London and holding a meeting there. I am also planning to invite other people who haven't heard of Steemit before. It will be a very productive and great meet-up. Hopefully one of many.

7 – Your first post was incredibly successful, earning more than $17,000 and 960 up-votes. What was your reaction when you saw that amount deposited in your wallet?

@allasyummyfood - I was really shocked. To be honest, part of me still doesn't believe how well I did and I am really happy. It has encouraged me to do more posts, spread the word and really give back to the community.

8 – Were you disappointed when your second post only earned $17?

@allasyummyfood - I was a little bit disappointed, especially because I spent two weeks creating that post. It was hard work, but it didn't discourage me from working hard and continuing to post to Steemit. You can't expect every post to make 17K.

9 – Anyone who has read your blog knows that you are incredibly creative and seem motivated to use your talent to spread the word about Steemit. What makes you most excited about Steemit?

@allasyummyfood - I think for me the biggest difference and excitement is the community and positivity. I love how helpful, nice and amazing people are on Steemit. It makes me also excited to read other creators' posts, learning so many new things every day and contributing to the community. Lastly, getting paid for what I have been doing for free is a huge motivator to leave other platforms and work on Steemit.

10 - Have you monetized your Youtube channel? How does the average amount you earn on Youtube compare to the average amount you earn on Steemit?

@allasyummyfood - Yes I have monetized my channel about six months after starting it. I am not ashamed to state the rough amount I make on Youtube, because it is very little. On average, I make $100 to $200 per month for my videos. Bearing in mind the amount of time it takes me to plan, create, film, edit and upload two videos a week, it's a part-time job with really low pay. Steemit has given me much more in that sense and I want to keep posting things here.

11 - What is your favorite movie?

@allasyummyfood - I love all movies to be honest, especially The Godfather and Titanic.

12 - Do you have any regrets in life?

@allasyummyfood - I don't have any regrets. I always do what I want to do and what I think is right. Sometimes I know it's wrong, but I would rather try and not regret in the future.

13 - Whose Steemit blog are you most entertained by?

@allasyummyfood - Oh there are so many, I won't be able to list them all, because all of them are unique. My friend Ollie by the name of Wings does amazing analysis of Steemit that I love reading. I love reading other foodies, statistics (I'm a bit geeky), arts, travelling and posts about Steemit itself.

14 - What's the worst date you've ever been on?

@allasyummyfood - The worst one, when the guy didn't look anything like his picture and then after taking me out for lunch told me he was a bin guy and could't afford lunch.

15 - Who is your biggest inspiration in life?

@allasyummyfood - I think my biggest inspiration was my mother. She was very ambitious, kind, funny and an amazing human being. She was very independent and strong and I want to achieve half the things she did.

16 - You get to have dinner with three other people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

@allasyummyfood - I wouldn't even think twice, I would have dinner with my mum, and my grand mother. I lost them both at a very early age and I miss them dearly. Third person would be Ashton Kutcher, just because he is funny and hot.

17 - Are you single?

@allasyummyfood - I am single at the moment, yes.

18 - What's your biggest pet peeve?

@allasyummyfood - People who chew loudly when they eat.

19 - Tell us about your most embarrassing moment.

@allasyummyfood - I think I had few of those. I tend to get into funny and embarrassing situations all the time. I think the worst one is when you get someone's name wrong and keep calling them that all day.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you that you'd like to share with the Steemit community?

@allasyummyfood - I think a lot of people don't know that I am quite a shy person inside and even though I come across confident and loud, I don't reveal all my secrets to everyone. It takes me a long time to trust someone.


Thanks to Alla for stepping away from the kitchen and cooking up 20 interesting answers!

Also, a huge thank-you to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with Roger Ver

Sort:  

Wow, would love to join and cook..yummy

Thank you Wade for putting this post together, haha I had fun reading it and answering the questions. I will be re sharing that on my social media. I have been extremely busy planning more posts for Steemit and I have huge plans, which I cannot reveal at the moment. Alla xox

Thank you for taking the time to share more about yourself with the Steemit community! :)

It was great fun :) I have jus shared in on my personal fb as well :)

Titanic? Really! Did you hit your head on an iceberg? ;)

Great interview. One vital question missing: has anyone ever recognised you on the street from your youtube channel? :)

Oh, come on, Titanic is not that bad! Haha

That is a great question, though, @bitcalm !

yeah its not bad at all :) That is great question. I have only been recognised once :P lol by russian stripper! lol

Good stuff. I love these posts :).

I agree, I love them too! Actually I'm kinda wondering who's next :) Like these little games where you try to figure out who's gonna star in next episode :)

@wadepaterson These 20 questions interviews are really great, fantastic idea.

I really appreciate that, @jamtaylor - Thanks!

Congrats Alla! I knew you were going to be a sensation since day one. :)

You are so kool...I enjoyed every bit of your post...thank you for adding this delight to my day.

I'm also a full time food blogger :D
And my favourite food is Indian Food

The story of @allasyummyfood is very inspirational, @wadepaterson! I'm too am working to improve Steemians food experience :o)

•♥•☆ @alitas •☆•♥•

Great idea with the interviews @wadepaterson ! :)
Curious who is next to be interviewed here.

Thanks! I can't ruin the surprise! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61651.26
ETH 3452.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52