20 questions with Farnoosh Brock

in #life8 years ago

Farnoosh Brock lives life on her own terms.

After her early career as an electrical engineer, Farnoosh ended up in a cushy corporate job that wasn't fulfilling. She worked up the courage to quit, and then convinced her husband to do the same a year-and-a-half later. She's never looked back.

"I think of those years as paying my dues so that I can do as I please today, living exactly on my terms and doing precisely what I am called to do," says Farnoosh.

In today's 20 questions, Farnoosh talks about why some people are unwilling to leave jobs they hate, how she maintains a glass-half-full perspective, and what three things she absolutely can't stand.


20 questions with Farnoosh Brock

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

Farnoosh - I am living a dream lifestyle I’ve designed with my beloved husband, true to the core of who we are and what we are about.

2 - For those who have never heard of it before, what is Prolific Living?

Farnoosh - Prolific Living is about living life on your own terms, without feeling guilty or beholden to the expectations of others. It’s about creating your wealth while making a difference and achieving your purpose because you are more powerful and capable to make an impact when you have the means and resources to do so.

3 - Your blog speaks about the power of positive thinking. How does someone achieve this glass-half-full perspective? Would you recommend yoga?

Farnoosh - You start by examining your current thoughts and belief system. How you see or think about a given situation is the core of your belief system. Often, we are conditioned to a certain way of living and believing, and if we don’t bring our beliefs into inquiry, how can we ever grow? Maybe your beliefs are serving you well - so you keep them - and maybe they are sabotaging you in some ways: you can change them. And of course I recommend yoga to absolutely everyone, but that’s neither here nor there. Yoga is an inner calling. It doesn’t matter if I recite a thousand benefits to you. Unless you come to yoga of your own will, it won’t serve you.

4 - Your work motto is, "Be in love or don't bother." In your opinion, are too many people settling for "cushy" jobs? Why is this a bad thing?

Farnoosh - Yes. It’s not even cushy jobs they’re always settling for. They settle for miserable, unhappy jobs and ridiculous hours and terrible bosses, because we seek comfort more so than uncertainty, even if that uncertainty is full of promise and joy and success. But you know, it’s not about whether it’s a bad thing or not. It all depends what you want and if you are happy and fulfilled, then great. If not, something is not working. Some people need a job to pay their bills so they can work on their hobbies or be with their families and that is their source of joy. Sure, they could also have a great job as well as all those other things, but if they don’t want it, then it’s their choice. It’s when you are in a job and unhappy and yet not doing anything about it that it becomes a very bad thing. Because you can do everything about it, and you are choosing to stay. That is a sad waste of a great life.

5 - I understand you have a background in electrical engineering and have worked in the corporate sector as well. Clearly, those roles didn't align with what you're passionate about. Do you look at those years as wasted time? Or were they necessary to shape you into the individual you've become?

Farnoosh - Clearly, right? ;) Well, they served me well for the time being. No, I don’t look at them as wasted time, although I’ve had time to get over my rage and anger, thanks to my husband’s great perspective on how one thing leads to another, and you cannot wish one thing away from your past and still live the life you have today. It’s all connected in mysterious ways. I think of those years as paying my dues so that I can do as I please today, living exactly on my terms and doing precisely what I am called to do. Now that makes it well worth their while. :)

6 - In your experience, what stops most people from embracing what they're passionate about?

Farnoosh - The illusion of fear, because fear is often only in the mind. The mind is powerful beyond our wildest imagination, and it can be in a great way or in a terrible way. You choose the direction. Also, the love affair with comfort. Why do you think people stay in abusive relationships? It’s the familiarity, the comfort of the known, versus the fear of the unknown. And the great news is that they can overcome the fear - or rather, the illusion of it - by learning a new way to think, a new story to tell themselves, and a new way to exist and choose to live.

7 - Was it difficult to convince your husband to also leave his stable career to embark on what he was passionate about?

Farnoosh - No way! He couldn’t wait to quit. In fact, we joke that he is now semi-retired and it’s better for his health than if he were working a crazy cubicle job, which ages you fast and furiously. But he’s more than happy to be my business partner, and while I am the client and customer facing and content producing part of our business, he tends to a million admin, financial and technical issues, plus he’s taken over cooking and the laundry and travel planning. It’s a great arrangement.

8 - Is blogging something that has come natural to you?

Farnoosh - To be perfectly honest with you, I’ve been on a sabbatical from blogging for about a year now, maybe longer. I have been immersed with working with high-end clients, running small group programs, and developing my coaching program as well as nurturing my relationships. When I was blogging for the 7+ years, it had become natural, but it was still an effort to write on a schedule. You need to hit that perfect balance between creativity and discipline as a writer. Do tell if you know the formula for it ;)!

9 - What advice would you give to someone who is interested in becoming a part- or full-time blogger?

Farnoosh - I would say to answer why and to what end. Paint the big picture. Know your vision and be able to articulate it and be able to answer the question of why you want to blog, because gaining that clarity upfront will help you down the road, if you should choose to go down the path of blogging … or anything else for that matter.

10 - Why did you feel it was important to blog about your decision not to have children?

Farnoosh - Hmmm. Because it’s such a fascinating topic that nobody wants to talk about in an honest way. I mean, how sensitive is this topic? It’s worse than politics, sex and religion combined. Every single person on earth has an opinion and a strong one about it and yet everyone sugar coats it with a politically correct version so you never really know what people are thinking. I wanted to know if people just do it because it’s something to do, because it’s time, or they get bored, or they want to give their parents grandkids or leave a legacy or if they actually sit down and think about it and come up with a rational reason that makes sense in every way. And if they go against the grain, then how do they deal with all the stigma and negativity around the unpopular choice of not procreating? As you can see, there are a few comments on there so it stirred some emotion.

11 - What is your biggest pet peeve?

Farnoosh - When people are late. I can’t stand it. I have ended relationships and friendships when someone has been so inconsiderate and rude without a good reason and without bothering to given notice. It simply says, “I don’t respect you.” Also, when people don’t walk fast and aren’t aware of the personal space they take up on a sidewalk. Do not get me started! Oh and wherever they serve cheap tea bags with lukewarm water and call it “hot tea."

12 - How would you describe your coaching style? What type of person is your ideal client? What type of person isn't?

Farnoosh - My coaching style is entirely tailored and customized to the individual client, assuming that person and I have come to an agreement that we want to work together and we are a good fit. I can coach effectively in a number of areas so I don’t prescribe to the theory of ‘niche’ for coaching. It’s more about the individual and their value system and their level of commitment and their openness to change and to growth as well as their humility while doing so and their absolute belief in being worthy of investing in themselves. Those are the best people and I feel honored to be a part of their journey.

13 - What is your most embarrassing moment?

Farnoosh - Hmmm. In life? So many. Thankfully, nothing comes to mind ;)!

14 - What is your favorite fantasy fiction novel?

Farnoosh - Oh, a tough question. George RR Martin’s A Song of Ice & Fire Series and Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander Series.

15 - Who inspires you?

Farnoosh - My best self inspires me. I am still growing, improving and overcoming so many challenges but what I have achieved inspires me to achieve so much more yet. Plus every fiction writer that I’ve come to adore. Too many to list.

16 - Where is the most interesting place you have ever traveled to?

Farnoosh - Oh my goodness. So many places. We love Japan, Norway, South Korea, Taiwan, Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand. I can’t choose. I love too many places. It’s like asking someone to choose their favorite child!

17 - Where is one place that you've not yet traveled to, that is on the top of your list to visit?

Farnoosh - Hmmm. I’d like to go to Banff - top of the list at the moment - as well as Alaska, Iceland, Eastern Europe, and back to Italy.

18 - Do you ever check luggage?

Farnoosh - Hardly ever. If I am traveling for yoga, I need to take my bigger yoga mat and so if it’s a yoga retreat for more than 2 weeks, I may check in luggage but I generally go 2-5 weeks without checking luggage. I’ve done a few videos to reveal my top packing light secrets.

19 - You get to have dinner with three people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

Farnoosh - Jane Austen. Diana Gabaldon. Stephen King.

I’ve already had dinner with George RR Martin :)!

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

Farnoosh - That I’m such a homebody. We travel so so much that everyone probably thinks I love being away but I honestly yearn to be home and when I’m home, I hardly ever leave my sanctuary. If it weren’t for my husband dragging me everywhere, I’d never go anywhere. I’d dream it up and plan it in my head but not hit the execute button the way he does!


Thanks, Farnoosh, for taking part in 20 questions!

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson

Sort:  

Congrats for bringing Farnoosh to the show, I know her personally for many years and she's a wonderful person.

That's awesome, Dragos. She seems wonderful! I have nothing but respect for anyone who has as positive of an outlook on life as she does.

Cheers to Farnoosh for re-tweeting this out to her Twitter audience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56