20 questions with @heiditravels (Exclusive)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

There is no question @heiditravels has quickly become one of the most popular Steemit bloggers.

She is currently ranked #308, according to Steem Whales, and has earned her place by providing interesting posts that have taken us from North Africa to Portugal.

As a Canadian journalist, I was interested in @heiditravels' story, and wanted to learn more about the Steemit sensation.

She was kind enough to let me interview her. Here's what I found out...


20 questions with @heiditravels

1 - For those who missed your "IntroduceYourself" post, what can you tell us about yourself in one sentence?

@heiditravels: I laugh a lot, cook everyday and my pride can get in the way of taking others' advice.

2 - How did you hear about Steemit and why did you join?

@heiditravels: A friend whom I met in Portugal introduced me to Bitcoin and Ethereum last year. Since those worked out for me, when he told me about Steemit I decided to try it out. I’d been trying for quite some time to get my website off the ground and this seemed like a great platform to showcase my writing and relive my travels. Steemit for me is like a clean slate where I have the chance to get a lot more exposure without playing the SEO game and competing with the already well-established travel blogs.

3 - What is one place you've not yet travelled to that is at the top of your list to visit?

@heiditravels: India.

4 - What is your favourite movie?

@heiditravels: I’m totally outing myself as a hopeless romantic with this but Pride and Prejudice is my all-time favorite movie. With its stunning cinematography and music, I could watch it (have watched it) over and over again.

5 - What is your favourite song? (Both right now, and all-time)

@heiditravels: I don’t listen to the radio too much other than when I go to the gym… I can’t say I’m much of a fan of any new music these days, I tend to stick with bands like The Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys and Cage the Elephant, and Weezer, always Weezer.

Favorite song, it’s painful for me to choose one so here are the top 3: Josh Garrels “New Day”, Steppenwolf “Magic Carpet Ride”, The Kingsmen “Louie Louie"

6 - You get to have dinner with three other people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

@heiditravels:

1 - Jesus

2 - My great aunt Mary- She was the matriarch of my Greek family, she was the epitome of a strong woman and always encouraged me to travel, she died before I could go on a trip with her.

3 - Anthony Bourdain- I realize the hypocrisy of eating with Jesus and Anthony at the same table…

7 - What is your proudest achievement?

@heiditravels: Deciding to travel abroad.

8 - You have gained a lot of support with some of your posts on Steemit - did that surprise you?

@heiditravels: Of course! I didn’t have any expectations and the support I’ve received is really unbelievable. The whole Steemit community is so positive and encouraging, I’m very proud to be a part of it.

9 - What tip would you give to others who dream of travelling and blogging/writing about their adventures?

@heiditravels: The only way to commit to a trip is to buy that ticket, before you do that all you’re doing is talking about it. Make it a one-way ticket so you have room to be spontaneous. If you want to blog about your trip then be cognizant of the situation you’ve put yourself. Go ahead and have some deep thoughts about where you are, try your best to empathize with the people who live there. Get as immersed in the culture as possible. Be thankful for the ability to travel because many don’t have the means to do so. Do something that scares you, you’ll feel energized, inspired, and it’ll show in your writing.

10 - Do you consider yourself athletic? (If so, what sports do you play?)

@heiditravels: Yes, I free dive and I pole vaulted and played volleyball in high school; I still love to play volleyball whenever I can.

11 - Do you consider yourself to be a partier?

@heiditravels: Ha! I used to be, but that got old real fast.

12 - Do you have any regrets in life?

@heiditravels: Nope, it’s like everyone always says, it’s how I got to be where I am today. It’s not always fun to look back, but it sure is great to see how far I’ve come.

13 - Whose Steemit blog are you most entertained by?

@heiditravels: @katecloud is a pretty cool chick who is an amazing artist. Also @ryanjohnson posts some really funny videos and is a kickass photographer. I also like to check out my friend @tobydaniel2, he’s a really crazy traveler and is one of those insane surfers who chases big waves, he’s also the one who introduced me to Steemit.

14 - What's the worst date you've ever been on?

@heiditravels: It was many years ago when I was about 16 and visiting my cousin, she set me up on a blind date/ double date with her boyfriend’s friend. We somehow ended up at a lake at night where my cousin went off with her guy and I was left alone and avoiding my date. I mean everything about it was awkward.

15 - What is one food you couldn't live without?

@heiditravels: Pasticio. It’s Greek and it’s delicious.

16 - Steemit has its share of negativity. What are your thoughts on those who attack your success?

@heiditravels: Yeah maybe at first it bothered me but now I just laugh. I mean it’s jealousy rearing its ugly head. They’re the ones posting weak complaints about how it’s not fair and blah blah blah. But I know the effort I put into each and every post. I won’t apologize for my success, and they wouldn’t either if the roles were reversed.

17 - Who is your biggest inspiration in life?

@heiditravels: Jesus :)

18 - Are you single? (If so, what qualities/physical features do you look for?)

@heiditravels: I knew this one was coming. Didn’t you know I’m with Steemit? ;) I’m staying pretty busy at the moment so I can’t say I’m actively looking. I thoroughly enjoy someone with confidence, who can stimulate my brain with an intellectual conversation, enjoys physical activity, can laugh at stupid youtube videos, and appreciate good food. I will say that I’m a fan of strong shoulders and a bit of chest hair. Since I’m 5’10, height is a factor too.

19 - Tell us about your most embarrassing moment.

@heiditravels: At this point, there have been so many that I quit keeping track.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you that you'd like to share with the Steemit community?

@heiditravels: I will kick your ass in Call of Duty.


A big thank-you to @heiditravels for taking the time to tell us more about herself and share some epic photos!

Also, a huge thank-you to all of you for taking the time to read.

Is there another Steemit user who you'd like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to check out my blog for more interesting stories. Especially this fiction piece, that I'm pretty proud of.

Don't worry, my official #introduceyourself will be coming very soon!

#life #steemit #photography

Sort:  

I really love this "20 Questions" interview idea that is going around Steemit - it encourages collaboration, which is similar to what YouTubers often do in their collab videos, and IMHO I think this is really important to create a self-supportive and inclusive community on Steemit. Please keep this thing going guys! #20QuestionsWith

Hey thanks for the shoutout, I was glad to answer those questions :)

You rock, @heiditravels! And I'm sorry about that awkward date at the lake :P

For anyone wondering what it takes to make it on steemit the answer is right here. It shines bright. Be genuine and share your true passion. Content right from the heart and not from the twitter feed.

That's really cool! We are waiting for the continuation!

Thanks @maximkichev - I'll look to continue my interview series of Steemit's influencers :)

Good initiative.... you get my upvote !!

Enjoyable post, welcome as well

Thanks for taking the time to read, @inlighten

very cool pictures with the wave :)

She is inspiring, beautiful and she'll kick my ass in CoD. Single guys search no more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53