20 questions with "Email Prankster" (Exclusive Steemit Interview)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The British man known as "Email Prankster" snatched worldwide headlines this week for successfully tricking several White House officials, including Anthony Scaramucci, Eric Trump and Tom Bossert, through a collection of spear phishing emails.

email prankster.jpg

And it wasn't the first time he duped someone in a prominent position. Earlier this year, Email Prankster made a fool of Barclays CEO, Jes Staley. Since then, he has successfully taken on a handful of bank officials, politicians and Wall Street bigwigs.

But what is Email Prankster's motivation for virtually ruffling feathers?

"Initially, it was to get myself heard when I felt I was just being ignored," he says.

Mission accomplished: The whole world is taking notice.


20 questions with Email Prankster

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 8.54.49 AM.png

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

Email Prankster - Frustrating and incredibly hard work.

2 - Your earliest Tweet dates back to May 10, 2017. Was that the start of "Email Prankster," or is this a pseudonym you've had for longer than that?

Email Prankster - Yep, that was when I started knitting my cape.

3 - What was your motivation for getting involved in email pranks?

Email Prankster - Initially, it was to get myself heard when I felt I was just being ignored.

4 - Is the "Email Prankster" gig a full-time effort for you, or something you do on the side?

Email Prankster - I'm a designer by day. So yeah, the pranks are more a hobby, for when there's not much on T.V.

5 - You mentioned via Twitter that you did not mask the e-mail addresses you used and that you did not do any hacking. Are you worried about your identity being discovered, and possible repercussions that might arise from this?

Email Prankster - No, not really. I'll deal with that if/when it happens.

6 - The first prank you shared on Twitter was with Barclays CEO, Jes Staley. When you noticed Staley actually replied to your fake e-mail, what was your first thought?

Email Prankster - FUCK YEAH. But outwardly, I crossed my legs and went "umm, that's very interesting." I was next to my girlfriend and didn't want her to find out what I was up to.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 9.29.53 AM.png

7 - What motivated you to recently hoax several White House officials?

Email Prankster - Idle curiosity, and not really having much time for what I was seeing in and around the White House. It seemed like it had become a cartoon of itself.

8 - On Twitter, you call Eric Trump a "fucking idiot." Does that sum up your feelings toward the entire Trump family?

Email Prankster - No, not all of them. I just have a special hatred for the Trump sons, due to their shooting of animals that really deserve to be left alone to get on with their lives, without a cheap shot from behind taking their life. I mean, fucking have some humanity.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 9.26.53 AM.png

9 - It's clear that your actions are having a real impact on various relationships (such as Reince Priebus and Anthony Scaramucci). How would you describe the feeling of knowing your prank e-mails have that much of an impact?

Email Prankster - Ambivalent. I don't set out to emotionally affect people, it tends to just dawn on me after how the dynamic maybe went further than I intended.

10 - Have you received any threats following the White House email pranks?

Email Prankster - Nope. Everyone has been unbelievably supportive. It's been a shock, but a great one.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 9.33.56 AM.png

11 - Although you are clearly disrupting your targets, do you feel as though you're doing them a favour in the long-term by exposing their security flaws in a somewhat harmless setting?

Email Prankster - In most cases, yes. Occasionally it's just to make them look daft. Like a custard pie in the face, but less messy.

12 - Without giving away any secrets, how are you able to trick people in such prominent positions?

Email Prankster - Just knowing how people relate to each other in the modern world. It's all just variations of the same theme. I like getting into the mindset of my 'character.'

13 - What has the response to your actions been? I'm sure there have been many positive messages; however, have you been receiving negative feedback as well?

Email Prankster - Some people are a bit: "so what?" Which is understandable; I agree to a point. None of it seemed special when I was doing it.

14 - As far as you know, is it legal to do what you're doing?

Email Prankster - It's mildly illegal. I am trying to introduce more made-up characters.

15 - One of your Tweets references being in rehab three months ago. What were you in rehab for? How is the recovery going?

Email Prankster - I was in rehab for addiction issues. It's going okay. I left rehab early as they overdosed on meds and put me in hospital. I lost faith after that.

16 - You also Tweeted: "Never contend with a man who has nothing to lose." Do you feel you are that man, with nothing to lose?

Email Prankster - In a way, I guess I do. There's a lot of frustration inside me, both with myself, and at aspects of modern life.

17 - Is this just the beginning for Email Prankster?

Email Prankster - Not sure. I don't plan beyond the day I'm in.

18 - I'm e-mailing you these questions from my personal e-mail. Am I likely to get pranked in the future?

Email Prankster - I can make no promises either way.

19 - If you could successfully prank any three people, living or dead, who would they be?

Email Prankster - Peter Falk, Donald Trump, Caesar.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

Email Prankster - I once got sectioned/certified on my actual birthday.


This was a real treat for me. A massive thank-you to the "Email Prankster" himself for making time for this interview.

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 9.34.45 AM.png

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock
20 questions with Manny Kess
20 questions with John Goehrke
20 questions with Sunny Lenarduzzi
20 questions with The Cranky Flier - Brett Snyder
20 questions with Shawn Murphy
20 questions with Leo Babauta
20 questions with Jacob Staudenmaier
20 questions with Steve Scott
20 questions with Stefan Hyttfors
20 questions with Zachery Ty Bryan
20 questions with Ryan Lancaster
20 questions with Richard Millington
20-Q.png

Sort:  

Awesome interview!

I like getting into the mindset of my 'character.'

That's such a valuable advice!

His response to number 18 makes me a bit nervous! Haha.

Cool series of great Content. Thanks!

You are very welcome :)

This one was a lot of fun!

Very nice - enjoyed it - resteeming

Awesome! Thanks so much for reading (and re-steeming).

nice content resteem and upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52