20 questions with @surfermarly (The Steemian Series)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It's fitting that Steemit's most loved surfer is the first to ride the new wave of 20 questions interviews, which has been coined: The Steemian Series.

DQmazpbCfygbHaEtfCSQvziHwb8gCTNaoTegrtrFv2kNnSs.png

A Steemian since the summer of 2016, Marly has embedded herself into multiple facets of the Steemit community. She is passionate, opinionated and benevolent. And she isn't afraid to stand up for what she believes in.

In this 20 questions interview, Marly chats about her transition from city life to ocean life, explains what's next for the charitable Steemit account she created, @dreamsoftheocean, and shares her thoughts about what Steemit needs to do before it can grow to the next level.


20 questions with @surfermarly

DQmSs216fdK11KAj1cqhSAwdozWD39GNmguTFZAY16TjKcM.png

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

@surfermarly - I'm a person who embraces life in every sense, trying to not miss any given opportunity, working hard in order to turn my dreams into reality while inspiring others as a sign of appreciation for my own fortune.

2 - I understand that you only first discovered your love of surfing a few years ago. When exactly did you try surfing for the first time, and what about it do you love so much?

@surfermarly - It was in the summer of 2013 - right after moving to the Canary Islands - when I got in touch with surfing for the very first time. We all know that the older you get the harder it is to start something new, and I really suffered during the first sessions. My fitness level was not too bad, but surfing requires a lot of muscularity and balance, which I didn't have at that point of time. Still, the whole thing completely fascinated me from the very first day, so fortunately, I kept going. That's exactly what I love most about surfing: the constant challenge. Every day is different since you have to deal with several non-predictable influencing factors like the weather situation, currents, people, your own fitness level and current mood, etc. It's literally quite an exciting ride!

3 - Were you scared to make the transition from city life to island life?

@surfermarly - I was excited in the best way possible. When you know that the next step you're going to take will change your life for the better, then you can’t wait for that day to come. I still remember very well the moment I was sitting at the airport gate holding my one-way ticket to Canary Islands.

I didn’t plan for that to happen, but in the end we’re the product of our choices. There is this saying: You may not always end up where you thought you were going, but you will always end up where you are meant to be.

DQmfTx8c4tKgwSE4nHUMffc8hzc3u1g8TBuBBWsL2qyPYWG.png

4 - How would you describe life on the Canary Islands?

@surfermarly - It's very down-to-earth in every sense. The fact that we're closer to Africa than to Europe may be the best way to describe the island's standard of living. The price that you pay for one of the best climate zones in the world is antiquated infrastructure and organization. On the Canary Islands, clocks tick a bit slower. That rhythm calms you down, and you automatically start to assign priorities in a different way. What I appreciate most about that new life - besides all the wonderful outdoor activity options - is the positive impact on my physical health. While I was constantly suffering a series of health issues during my time in Germany, they all magically disappeared after a couple of months on the islands. Perhaps that's the reason Canary Islands are known as the ideal health resort for people with chronic diseases.

5 - You joined Steemit in July 2016. How did you hear about Steemit, and what was your motivating factor for signing up?

@surfermarly - On the 4th of July 2016 I quit my job and had a lot of free time. It was at that point of time when a German friend who's living in the US called me. He told me about girls earning thousands of dollars by posting 'make-up tutorials' and he encouraged me to follow their example. Thank God he was really insistent. So at the end of July, I finally signed up. Besides the financial incentive, it was actually the opportunity to write that fascinated me. I had found pleasure in writing during my whole life and started to write my first short stories at the age of 5. It's been inside me for a while, and now it finally has found its stage.

6 - Beyond being a successful blogger, it's clear that you're an active consumer of Steemit content as well. Why is this important to you?

@surfermarly - I'm a tremendously curious person who loves absorbing information like a sponge. My big life decisions were all inspired that way: you listen to someone talking, suddenly some fire starts inside yourself and you know which path to chose next. I love that chain of interpersonal (interbrain) correlations that are constantly influencing our own destiny. The beginning of all personal development is founded on social bonds, and that’s why social networks are so valuable.

DQmQ6gTBWWmQXDP98DFmz5xWDgNkSxNVsg4Q4Hm1PoxyYUM.png

7 - When it comes to your plans for 2018 content, can we expect to see more @surfermarly videos or text posts?

@surfermarly - That's a good question! From my personal experience I believe the audience will tell me what to do. They've always done that. Still, DTube is my favourite application built on the Steem blockchain, so I'm pretty sure that I will sit on my skateboard talking about the universe a few more times.

8 - In your opinion, what is the best thing about Steemit?

@surfermarly - Clearly: the idea. The idea to provide an incentive for social interaction in digital networks and to give value back to those who create value, has definitely had and will have a groundbreaking influence on the future of the internet.

9 - In your opinion, what is the worst thing about Steemit?

@surfermarly - I believe that there is some unused potential. Even though the platform is growing, the retention is deficient, which is particularly due to a negative user experience. People expect more than they're actually able to get, which is not a user problem but a communication problem. Now, there is this saying that shit rolls downhill, so from my point of view the core problem is that we don't have a culture on Steemit. There are no clear values set that define our community, so there is actually very little integrity. Everybody kind of loves this place and feels connected to it in a certain way, but we're not acting as a whole. A solid concept of values, rules and etiquette would also enable us to educate new users, match their expectations with our offer and ensure a higher user retention. There's a direct correlation between the overall platform's success and our personal success as investors, bloggers and curators. So we're all sitting in the very same boat.

DQmcjvgNmqCXg53dU5aSChkxLvyziXEd3mtZhaCDFCTUzar.png

10 - Some of your recent posts have analyzed questionable practices currently occurring on Steemit, which some would argue are toxic to the platform. You've also said that it was one of your New Year's resolutions to avoid commenting on such things. Overall, do you feel conflicted whether or not to comment on Steemian behaviour?

@surfermarly - Ha, you caught me breaking my own rules! The #steemit tag is definitely a trouble spot and that's the reason why I try to avoid it. On one hand, I feel the need to stand up for my beliefs - especially in a decentralized environment where freedom of speech is a value to be upheld. On the other hand, constructive debate rarely works on Steemit, and you might as well get your defense mechanism ready when you dare to challenge the system. Still, from time-to-time I ignore that, and then my thoughts go directly from my head over the keyboard into the blockchain. Criticism is not very well rewarded though, so these are expensive moments.

11 - What was your favourite moment from SteemFest 2?

@surfermarly - It was a huge honor to speak at Steemfest, and my favourite moment definitely was being on stage. My initial plan was to not directly look at the people sitting in the audience. I was worried I may get distracted by their reactions. But then, after only a few minutes, I suddenly noticed a couple of people smiling at me in a way that really amazed me. Then I instantly changed my strategy and began to look around. It was as if the enthusiasm in their eyes carried me through the whole presentation. It was a really overwhelming experience I will definitely remember forever.

DQmQpJUwugv5gjaEfbG7DLW6sEckYuJTu9B1pVbtoUEvAtV.jpeg

12 - Was there anything that surprised you about the Steemit community when you had the chance to meet several members face-to-face for the first time?

@surfermarly - Oh, yes! Even though we personally met for the very first time (except a few who I had met in New York last summer), it was as if we knew each other ever since the beginning. The social bonds that are established on Steemit definitely surpass anything I have ever experienced in social media.

13 - You are in the top 100 when it comes to Steemit reputation scores. Is this number important to you?

@surfermarly - It's not really the number that matters to me but the milestone behind it. Everything I have experienced on this platform during the past 1.5 years goes far beyond my expectations. As I mentioned before, writing has been a favourite way to express myself since I was a little school kid. The fact that this passion is able to pay my bills now, is simply incredible. So if that little number next to my nickname had a higher meaning after all, then it would probably be that I'd love to be an inspiration for others, too.

14 - Your Steem-backed charity project, @dreamsoftheocean, received a lot of support at SteemFest. What are the future plans for this initiative?

@surfermarly - The feedback for @dreamsoftheocean has been absolutely amazing, and Steemfest was indeed the perfect boost for the idea. The account has received some decent donations since then, which will enable our team to expand the original idea. Once the outside temperature on our little island has reached an enjoyable level, we'll start to organize the next event, which is going to be a swim training for kids. Even though we live on an island that is surrounded by the sea, there are a lot of families who can't afford a swim training course. Dreams of the Ocean will help the kids of these families to broaden their horizon and learn something they'll be able to enjoy throughout their entire lives.

DQmbhQwLbXJXzJu8eVh9ApaWaxSHaXTqaDS3m5fCmY5hJ6Z.png

15 - Do you think there is a lot of room for charitable causes on Steemit? If so, what challenges do you think charities or not-for-profits would face if trying to fundraise via Steemit?

@surfermarly - First of all I believe that charity is always a good idea. We live in a world where the gap between rich and poor is increasing in a ridiculous way. Half of the world's wealth is in the hands of 1% of the population. Those who don't wince at reading these numbers must be brainless.

Now the big challenge for these great initiatives on Steemit is the fact that charity actually weakens the Steem eco-system as it is designed right now. Opening wallets for donations that are then exchanged into fiat money is not the best future plan for the overall growth of Steem. Still, that's rather a technical issue than an ideological problem. Most of us love the idea to use cryptocurrencies to make the world a better place. Believing in something is always the very first step, so I'm pretty sure that we'll find a way to align our social instinct with our financial interest.

16 - Many of your blog posts begin with a quote. What is your favourite quote of all time?

@surfermarly - Oh that's a really nice question! There are many quotes that have truly inspired me along the way, but my favourite is definitely this one from Robert Ingersoll: We rise by lifting others.

It reminds me of the story from my mom's first parent-teacher meeting when I was a school kid. When my mom asked my teacher how everything was going at school, she replied: "It's weird, because once Marly has finished her own work she immediately starts to help her classmates to get theirs done. Nobody ever told her that she needed to do that, it seems to be part of her self-concept."

A lot of Steemians share the very same self-concept. That's one of the reasons why I enjoy being on this platform so much.

17 - Who inspires you?

@surfermarly - Clearly: my dad. He's the most admirable person I've ever met in the world, and I enjoy every second next to him.

18 - What is your most embarrassing moment?

@surfermarly - Oh dear, I didn't know that I had to go that far today. Well there was one moment in my life when I definitely wanted to sink into the ground. I was enjoying a sauna session in the spa of my gym. It was a mixed sauna, which hadn't been a problem for me until that day. So, I was sitting on one of these wooden benches, wearing nothing but my naked glory when the door was opened and... my boss stood right in front of me. According to his reaction we both wished we could just disappear.

DQmWQXHDj7EyxP5BNqoiHmSeLZTTmpsBX3RyjEAufgdAwe7_1680x8400.png

19 - You get to have dinner with three people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

@surfermarly - What a great opportunity! My first choice is Neil Armstrong, since I really want to ask him if he was up there on the moon or not. I'm pretty sure that after a couple of drinks I'd be able to reveal the best kept secret in modern history. The second one would be Warren Buffet. According to the news, last summer someone paid $2.68 million to a charitable organization in exchange for a lunch date with him. I really wouldn't want to miss the chance to meet him for free. Also, I really appreciate his knowledge about business and his sense of humor. Last but not least, I'd like to have the Brazilian pro surfer Gabriel Medina on board. I'm not sure if he'd be able to considerably contribute to our conversations about investments and moon landings, but he's the hottest surfer on Earth so I'd be fine with looking at him.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

@surfermarly - According to my passport my first name is Stephanie.


Thanks to @surfermarly for taking part in the first 20 questions "Steemian Series" interview of 2018.

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

image1 (29).png

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle
20 questions with Henri Junttila
20 questions with Hal Johnson
20 questions with Farnoosh Brock
20 questions with Manny Kess
20 questions with John Goehrke
20 questions with Sunny Lenarduzzi
20 questions with The Cranky Flier - Brett Snyder
20 questions with Shawn Murphy
20 questions with Leo Babauta
20 questions with Jacob Staudenmaier
20 questions with Steve Scott
20 questions with Stefan Hyttfors
20 questions with Zachery Ty Bryan
20 questions with Ryan Lancaster
20 questions with Richard Millington
20 questions with E-mail Prankster
20 questions with Joseph Raczynski
20 questions with Elan Gale
20-Q.png

Sort:  

Thank you so much for having me, Wade! What a nice way to introduce me, I feel very honored. Also being the first one interviewed in 2018 really makes me proud!

Can't believe @ned hasn't agreed on a Q&A yet btw ;-) Is he afraid of being asked about his most embarrassing moment in life? Haha

The pleasure was all mine, Marly. Thanks for everything you contribute to this community. You're truly inspirational.

And @ned has loosely agreed to the 20Q interview in the past... so I'm holding out hope that he will participate in 2018.

Worse ever sauna experience indeed ^^ I would have felt the same! Thanks for the read, inspiring!

Just a tad awkward, hey? Haha!

I like the concept of 20 questions @wadepaterson . good to see how much she grew in like 18 months. Though I would like to hear more about her perceived issues with donations and charity.

Thanks! And I agree... it's inspiring to see how much a Steemit user can grow in a relatively short amount of time.

What a great series! I had no idea this existed. I'll have a click through some of the others when I can and try and follow the rest!

Thanks for stopping by! My 20 questions efforts in the past few months have been somewhat lackadaisical; however, now that it's 2018 I'm inspired to pick up the pace with some more interesting interviews!

Great, I look forward to them!

Excellent post! I didn't know these existed but after seeing the list of just how many are out there I'm quite surprised. Great to get to know you a lil' bit better SF! It's always a delight learning more about ones you admire, follow and learn from. Thanks for putting yourself out there for all of us in this way. Enjoyed!

Dear @Surfermarly you are inspirational for all teep it users. You are great example of women empowerment. best wishes for you.

Agreed... Marly is a good person.

Thanks for your lovely words @captainpkgautam! :-)

I enjoyed reading every line in this interview! @surfermarley is such an inspiration!! I really think she embodies what a good Steemit citizen should looks like.

Somehow, I havn’t run across your 20 question series yet and I see that so have a lot of catching up to do!! That’s an impressive list if interviews and I can’t wait to go through and read more of them.

Thanks for the kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed the interview and I completely agree with your description of Marly as inspirational. And I'm thrilled that you're interested in the previous interviews. My suggestion would be to check out "20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore." She is another incredibly inspirational woman who has overcome tragedy.

Wade those great interview questions. Do you have a background in communications?

Yup! I have a degree in journalism :)

Thanks for the tip on a good starting point and keep up the great work!!

I didn't realize she had come to surfing so late in life. That's pretty inspiring to someone who's trying to stay in shape in middle age!

I don't know that we'll ever have a core canon of values to define Steemit, but I actually love the fact that I can encounter such a wide range of opinions here. And it's also refreshing that the people who express them strongly but courteously tend to rise to the top. (For the most part.)

Thanks for the comment, Winston. (And I share your battle of trying to stay in decent shape.)

I agree: I respect that people like Marly aren't afraid to speak their mind... but usually do so in a respectful/productive manner.

This was a fun interview. As a new person your perspective is valuable. Do you think if there was a structured culture, things would get dogmatic?

From my point of view defining a culture doesn't actually have to limit a community. It could rather be the complete opposite of that. If forces were bundled, the overall output could increase.
Decentraliziation doesn't necessarily mean that everybody should follow their own path, I rather believe that these models need even more inner solidarity than others in order to fully prosper.

Good point. Great post. Thanks.

Thanks!

It's possible. Personally, I think some structure is needed when it comes to practices that the community overwhelmingly agrees are wrong/unethical. Freedom is a huge appeal of this blockchain, but that freedom has been, and will likely continue to be, abused. I'd like to see creative ways of limiting the undesired behaviour.

I thought that was in place with the whales and the flags.

@wadepaterson I Am. Following all your intervjews indeed Krmust agree this is a great idea. And I am happy I had a glimpse of @surfermarly I love what she said about steemit what she likes and not like I couldn't agree more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67