20 questions with Henri Junttila

in #life7 years ago

If you ask Henri Junttila what spirituality means to him, he'll tell you, "Spirituality is life."

His insatiable hunger for the area of life many are hesitant to talk about has made him an authority on spiritual entrepreneurship. Since 2009, Henri has been sharing his thoughts through blog posts, videos, books and private chats as he works to help people move toward their passion.

"Stop believing the story that passion has to be discovered. Passion is already here. All you have to do is move toward it," says Henri.


20 questions with Henri Junttila

1 - How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

Henri - A relentless explorer of our sometimes mystical inner world.

2 - For those who aren't familiar with it, what is Wake Up Cloud?

Henri - A website that shows you how to live your passion and do work you love. It is where I share how I've been able to do what I love for well over a decade. And as I discover more, I share it on the website through my articles, videos, books, courses, and coaching.

3 - From your experience, what is typically the main hindrance stopping people from doing work that they love?

Henri - Thinking that they have to figure something out, or do it the right way. There is no way. There is only your path, which is created through exploration and curiosity.

4 - Looking back, did you ever imagine that you'd one day be considered "an authority on spiritual entrepreneurship?"

Henri - I didn't imagine it, but you could say I felt it, because my whole life has been about entrepreneurship, and spirituality or personal development.

5 - Is blogging something that has come natural to you, or is it something you've had to work hard at?

Henri - I've always enjoyed writing, but I still had to work at blogging. English is not my native language. When I began writing, I stumbled around, and felt like my writing wasn't good enough. I still do from time to time. But it's just a thought. I re-focus, and keep writing.

6 - What advice would you give to an aspiring blogger/vlogger?

Henri - Focus on taking one step at a time. And only do it if it excites and resonates with you. Don't do it if you're doing it to get somewhere or something. Do it because you love it. That is what will sustain you when the road gets bumpy. So take steps toward what is exciting and fun for you, and see where it leads.

7 - It's apparent that you're very active in the comments sections of your blog, your Facebook page and your YouTube channel. Is that something that is important to you?

Henri - It's something that comes naturally to me. I have an easy time interacting and replying. I know many who aren't like that. So you have to tune in to what is naturally exciting for you. It's important in the sense that I want to see people move forward. The question I always ask myself: Does what I'm about to do help him/her/them move forward?

8 - Many of your blog posts–and even your books–include a numbered list of tips. For example: 12 steps to overcome spiritual depression; Find your passion, 25 questions you must ask yourself; 20 essential habits of highly passionate people. In your opinion, does this method of writing help you get your point across more effectively?

Henri - Those kinds of posts have enticing headlines. We like reading the 5 best tips about something. So I use that structure from time to time to pull people in. I see it as me reaching more people. Yet what I write isn't different, it's just the structure. And I have to say, it's easy for me to write articles where I only have to share a certain amount of tips.

9 - The Wake Up Cloud Facebook page is filled with quotes. What is your favorite quote?

Henri - My favorite quote changes depending on what kind of chapter I am going through in my life. Right now I like this one: “Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” ― E.L. Doctorow, Writers At Work: The Paris Review Interviews

That quote, for me, is not just about writing. It's about life. It reminds me that I don't need to know where I'm going. I can follow my excitement in each moment. I've been doing that for well over a decade, and it's worked out well.

10 - What was the best thing about your years as a professional poker player? What was the worst thing about that time?

Henri - Best thing: The freedom.

Worst thing: The psychological torture of luck. You can make all the right calls, but you can still lose for months. When that happens, you start to doubt yourself. And if you let that get to you, you can suddenly go from a winning player to a losing player without necessarily knowing it. Even though this was the worst thing, it became one of the best things, because it taught me mental fortitude.

11 - Has becoming a father changed your perspective on life?

Henri - I guess it has. It has opened my heart more, and made me more playful.

12 - What is the most important piece of advice you hope to pass on to your children?

Henri - That they have access to wisdom that will guide them through life. They don't have to get caught up in trying to prove themselves, trying to become better, or trying to get somewhere in order to be happy.

13 - Why is spirituality important?

Henri - Spirituality is life. In reality, there are no categories. There is no business, life, relationships, spirituality. Those are labels we put on things. And to me, spirituality means learning how you work, and how life works. It means learning to be aware of how your mind can weave a story of panic, or of bliss. And if you believe that story, you get to experience it. So it's about getting in touch with your inner wisdom, and learning to see that life is living itself through you.

For me, this has led to more peace and relaxation. I don't have to worry as much. I don't have to figure life out. Life lives itself. And I have my inner wisdom, or inner GPS, that communicates through what is interesting to me.

14 - Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Henri - Doing the same thing I do now. Writing, speaking, helping people live their passion and getting in touch with what's going on within them, and in the world. But I don't have a grand vision. At least not while I write this. I simply let life do its thing, and I'm along for the ride.

15 - You get to have dinner with three people, living or dead. Who are you eating with?

Henri - I would want to talk to the sages that discovered a practical path to mastering what it is to be human. That doesn't sound quite right, but I don't know how else to put it. I don't know have any names, because I don't know who they are.

16 - What is one thing that anybody could easily do to get one step closer to discovering his/her passion?

Henri - To stop believing the story that their passion has to be discovered. Passion is already here. All you have to do is move toward it. How? By noticing what you're interested in right now. Then take one step toward it and it will reveal the next step.

17 - What's your most embarrassing moment?

Henri - I don't know if there's one that stands out. But a top 5 embarrassing moment would definitely be when I was a teenager and asked a girl out and she said, "No." A classic one.

18 - Who inspires you?

Henri - Different people inspire me at different times. Right now I'm inspired by Conor McGregor, the UFC fighter, because of his skill as a fighter and his dedication. I've always enjoyed martial arts, and I'm in a chapter where that focus is enhanced. If you ask me again in a month, or a year, you may get a different answer.

19 - What is your greatest fear?

Henri - Money and security has been a prevalent theme in my life. Specifically, the fear of not having enough money or security. That's something I've been watching in myself, and letting it go. I have an article on how I do this if people are interested.

20 - What is one thing very few people know about you?

Henri - I wrote my first story when I was around 7 years old. The story was about a bear that always died in the end. It was a sort of satire. So writing has been a part of my life ever since I could write.


Cheers to Henri for giving us a glimpse into his life and answering the 20 questions that I threw his way.

As always, thanks to all of you for taking the time to read.

Who would you like to see me throw 20 questions at? Drop me a comment below and I'll work on setting up the interview.

If you like what you read, be sure to follow my blog!

Previous "20 questions" interviews:

20 questions with @heiditravels
20 questions with @katecloud
20 questions with @manthostsakirid
20 questions with @blockchaingirl
20 questions with @piedpiper
20 questions with @stellabelle
20 questions with @budgetbucketlist
20 questions with @rogerkver
20 questions with @allasyummyfood
20 questions with @the-alien
20 questions with Janina Storace
20 questions with @mrs.steemit
20 questions with @andrarchy
20 questions with Scott Young
20 questions with Jesse Heiman
20 questions with @dragosroua
20 questions with Chelsea Dinsmore
20 questions with @sirwinchester
20 questions with Ludvig Sunström
20 questions with Kyle Eschenroeder
20 questions with @roelandp
20 questions with Tim Brownson
20 questions with Sean Ogle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84