You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardening Community Forum 1 : Help! My Baby Cherry Trees Are Under Black Aphids' Attack What Should I Do?

in #gardening8 years ago

I would do two things. First, are they in the ground or in a pot? Aphids attack weak plants and sedate it, keeping it just alive enough to feed on it.
Feed the plant. Put some coffer grounds (full of minerals) and some banana peels ( high in potassium) in a blender with water and water the plant.
Then put 2 garlic cloves, a few mint leaves and/or comfrey leaves, and the tabaco from a smoked cigarette butt in a blender. Add a pinch of chilli power.
Blend it up and pour it through a coffee filter.
Dilute it 2:1 two parts water to one part mix.
Pour the filtered mix into a spray bottle and add 1 drop of dish soap.
Shake the bottle and spray all the leaves and underside of the leaves. Drown the aphids with it.
Repeat the feeding and spraying routine twice a week until they are gone.
Here's some more info on reproduction cycles

Sort:  

@luzcypher thank you and sorry for the late reply
I have been gone for days

I appreciate the tip the problem is nobody smokes here - its just my hubby and me and none of us smoke I wouldn't dare picking up cigarette butts in the streets - yuck! :D

Blend it using a coffee filter? Perhaps I could just try making such a spray without the cigarette butt?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65685.57
ETH 2613.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71