Baby Caroline's Pink Cross Quilt - Make It Monday by A Panama Mama

in #art6 years ago

My sweet niece was born about four years ago and I made her this quilt to celebrate her birth! It closely resembles another niece's quilt, Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt, but I made a few changes to this one. I added an outline of a cross in the middle of the pretty pink fabric and appliqued a little flower to it. The pattern around the cross is called Disappearing Four Patch.

1902741_10153834611235035_1784329361_n.jpg

Baby girl Caroline was happy to have a new quilt to lay on. She sure was a pretty and happy baby! I was glad to get a quilt to her that she still uses today on her bed! It was quilted together with all over free motion.

1620512_10153834611330035_1422309221_n.jpg

The back of her quilt is like most of my quilt backs. I just put all the fabric down and start sewing it together. Then I make sure it is bigger than the front and it is done. I appliqued my name and hers on the bottom corner. My sister-in-law sent me this picture this week because I did not have a picture of it. I think the whole quilt turned out pretty cute!

IMG_9125.JPG

Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Texas Angel Pillow
Handmade Rag Doll for My Daughter
Baby Charlotte’s Purple Wave Quilt
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Make It Monday will be brought to you here every Monday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week to see quilts, projects and other hobbies that will encourage you to explore your crafty side!
If you would like to share one of your projects, feel free to link to it in the comments.
Thanks for stopping by and, as always, Craft On!

monday.png

#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille
Join our fabric arts discord group to promote your crafting posts!

Sort:  

Oh, what a beautiful quilt! I love how you outlined the cross in the center. And it's so sweet that your niece still uses it! :)

Thanks! I like this one too.

It's a good thing you have an enormous extended family. Otherwise, you'd have to make these quilts for perfect strangers. Who has time for that?

I love the flower on the cross. Odd how that makes it look gentle and feminine.

Also, this is an especially beautiful baby. (Someday, you can tell her I said that.) When the kid is at least appealing, it's always such a relief. I hate trying to say something neutral-but-convincing to a new mother whose pride-and-joy is maybe the ugliest thing I've seen all week. I'm just no good at lying.

I really like your quilting series. It's such fun seeing what you've dreamed up this time!

Thanks for stopping by! Yes, I would have to make them for strangers if we didn't have a large family! I'm actually behind a few quilts for my kids and one for a niece who was born after we moved to Panama. I also am sending a Steemit friend some quilted boots for her baby who is due soon. I need to get on it! :) She is a pretty baby and a silly girl. :) I know what you mean about seeing a not-super-attractive baby and trying to figure out what to say. Lol. I'm glad you like the quilts. They've been so fun to make. I need to find the energy to get onto sewing them again!

Your quilt posts are like chapters to your families’ stories.

Happy to read them.

Lol - thanks! I've never thought of it that way. I love that!! :)

This is so delightful and cute, @apanamamama, it's as if you can just feel the warmth and love emanating from the stitchings.

And to see the back as well and get a glimpse of a small piece in the creative process is such a treat.

So cool and I know sweet Caroline will appreciate it every day - I remember being quite fond of my blanket as a wee tyke, haha.

Thank you so much for the share!

Thanks for the comment. Yes, I hear that she still loves and uses it. :) Which makes me happy.

awehh babies are so cute! And I love the quilt too. I still have a quilt from when I am a baby too :P

Yes, please show us!! :)

ahaha I know I have it, where is a wholleee nother question though.

Aaawwww cuteness overload

Nice work @apanamamama, I have so much respect for a beautiful quilt!

Thanks! It is a lot of work but a lot of fun too. :)

How cute she is :) May God bless her :)

Thank you - that's sweet! :)

I can't tell you, how cute that is! I imagine the love with which this blanket is sewn. You're great)

Thanks - yes, a lot of love goes into these quilts...and sometimes some blood and sweat and tears too. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86