Travel in Siberia: Irkutsk (Part 20)

in #travel7 years ago

Departure from Yakutia

At 8 o'clock in the morning it is time for departure from Yakutsk. I'm really looking forward to the flight, it is the first flight with a smaller propeller aircraft on my trips. Well, the Antonow 26b-100 is not so small at all. Built 1999 in Kiev, it is a modern two-engine aircraft for 40 passengers.

After the start we fly over Yakutsk and then we go parallel to the Lena towards Lake Baikal. We then follow it on the right side and after a daring 90-degree curve directly over Irkutsk, and almost 4 hours of flight, we touch down very soft in Irkutsk. The flight was documented in 48 small videos and disassembled in 3 parts, it is already posted (part 17,18,19, links at the very bottom in this post).


Abflug aus Jakutien

Um 8 Uhr Morgens ist der Abflug aus Jakutsk. Ich freue mich sehr auf den Flug, ist es doch der erste Flug mit einer kleineren Propellermaschine auf meinen bisherigen Reisen. Na ja, so klein ist die Antonow 26b-100 auch wieder nicht. 1999 in Kiev gebaut, für 40 Passagiere ist es ein modernes zweimotoriges Flugzeug.

Nach dem Start überfliegen wir zunächst Jakutsk und dann geht es parallel zur Lena Richtung Baikal-See. Dem folgen wir dann auf der rechten Seite und setzten nach einer gewagten 90 Grad Kurve und fast 4 Stunden Flugzeit direkt über Irkutsk butterweich in Irkutsk auf. Den Flug habe ich in 48 kleinen Videos dokumentiert und in 3 Teile zerlegt schon gepostet (Teil 17,18,19, Links ganz unten in diesem Post).


IMG_3016.JPG

IMG_3013.JPG

IMG_3068.jpg

IMG_3069.jpg


Arrival in Irkutsk

In Irkutsk it has -2 degrees, my train is scheduled in the afternoon and I have time to allow me a little adventure. Of course, the taxi drivers see immediately that a foreigner has arrived and try their luck. But my Russian is good enough to have peace at once, and I can smoke untroubled. Then I go to the group of the taxi drivers and ask completely uninhibited who wants to drive me for 1 hour without a plan and what it costs.

They agree on 3000 rubles and 2 drivers want to make it, but I offer only 1000 rubles and one then agrees to 1300 rubles. This trip was a pleasure! An elderly gentleman had such a joy to show me his city, churches, parks, bridges, several small breaks for taking pictures and finally he dropped me off at the train station with the most important tips for my survival on the train.


Ankunft in Irkutsk

In Irkutsk hat es -2 Grad, mein Zug geht erst am Nachmittag und ich habe Zeit um mir ein kleines Abenteuer zu erlauben. Natürlich sehen die Taxifahrer sofort dass ein Ausländer angekommen ist und versuchen ihr Glück. Aber mein russisch ist gut genug um sofort Ruhe zu haben, und ich kann eine rauchen. Dann gehe ich zu der Gruppe der Taxifahrer heran und frage ganz unverblühmt wer mich 1 Stunde planlos herumfahren will und was das kostet.

Sie einigen sich auf 3000 Rubel und 2 Fahrer wollen es machen, aber ich biete nur 1000 Rubel an und einer willigt dann auf 1300 Rubel ein. Diese Fahrt war ein Genuss! Ein älterer Herr hatte eine solche Freude mir seine Stadt zu zeigen, Kirchen, Parks, Brücken, mehrere kleine Pausen zum Fotografieren und letztendlich hat er mich am Bahnhof abgesetzt mit den wichtigsten Tipps für mein Überleben im Zug.


IMG_3071.jpg

IMG_3072.jpg

IMG_3073.jpg

IMG_3075.jpg

IMG_3076.jpg

IMG_3074k.jpg

IMG_3084.jpg

IMG_3085k.jpg

IMG_3087.jpg

IMG_3088.jpg


The ticket for the train I had already bought in Yakutsk, because without space reservation there is no way, it is a night trip over 1100 km. At the many stalls in front of the station you can buy everything you need for the train: half grilled chicken, sweets, newspapers, in short everything. The activity on the forecourt is very hectic and there is no peace. Small buses come and leave from all directions. The tram runs every few minutes, the travelers scurry from stand to stand to get as many bags full as possible. At some point, it is too much and I move into the interior of the station. In the gigantic waiting room with huge display panels and a lot of counters, I find a place to sit and wait.


Das Ticket für den Zug hatte ich schon in Jakutsk gekauft, denn ohne Platzreservierung geht da gar nichts, es ist ja eine Nachtfahrt über 1100 km. An den vielen Ständen vor dem Bahnhof kann man alles kaufen was man für den Zug braucht: halbe gegrillte Hähnchen, Süßigkeiten, Zeitungen, kurzum eben alles. Das Treiben auf dem Vorplatz ist sehr hektisch und Ruhe gibt es da nicht. Kleine Busse aus allen Richtungen kommen und fahren ab. Die Straßenbahn bimmelt alle paar Minuten vorbei, die Reisenden huschen von Stand zu Stand um so viele Tüten wie möglich voll zu bekommen. Irgendwann wird mir das zu viel und ich verziehe mich ins Innere des Bahnhofs. In der gigantischen Wartehalle mit riesigen Anzeigetafeln und sehr vielen Schaltern finde ich einen Platz zum Sitzen und das Warten beginnt.


IMG_3090.jpg

IMG_3091.jpg

IMG_3092.jpg

IMG_3093.jpg

IMG_3094.jpg

IMG_3095.jpg

IMG_3097.jpg



I hope you liked my report. / Ich hoffe Dir hat mein Bericht gefallen.

See you next time! / Bis nächstes Mal!


Thank you for your attention! / Danke für Deine Aufmerksamkeit!



Part 1 Moscow
Part 1 VBlog
Part 2 Arrival
Part 3 Ethno village
Part 2+3 VBlog
Part 4 Impressions
Part 5 Arctic State Institute of Art and Culture
Part 6 My hosts are gone!
Part 7 With the shamanka in the countryside
Part 7 VBlog
Part 8 Visiting the students of Arctic culture
Part 9 Yakutian Music College
Part 8+9 VBlog
Part 10 The old City
Part 11 Travel to the indigenous nations of the North
Part 12 TV and healing concerts
Part 13 Guest in a Yakutian primary school
Part 14 Dances of the North
Part 15 Shaman house
Part 16 Craftsmanship and ice cellar
Part 17 VBlog House of Culture
Part 18 VBlog Flight video Yakutsk - Irkutsk Part 1
Part 19 VBlog Flight video Yakutsk - Irkutsk Part 2


Photos by @schamangerbert 04/2009-06/2017

Schaman Gerbert


Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the xx_Votes_Plus trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or fund @dropahead with more STEEM POWER! Keep steeming!

I see that you have been upvoted by the trail, I am not, what is this about?

Thanks for reporting! Upvoted and Resteemed :)

Thank you so much!

wow so nice photo and attractive place.Thanks for share.

This is another fantastic post , great job once again . Definitely deserves an Upvote

You become my great follower :) Thank you so much!

Tnank you! Beautiful church in Yakutsk but the town itself seems to be miserable

We are in Irkutsk now :) I was not looking for the beauty, I concentrate on unusual things, and think of the harsh climate there, it is not easy to make a living there. Next post will be a ride on the Trans Siberian-railway.

Is it photo of Irkutsk? I thought that Irkutsk was a big and modern city

nice post looks a great place to be in

my vote has no value in front of you still given :)

Thank you! You vote my not give me money but it gives me pleasure and that is worth more than money sometimes.

i was thinking that it has impact on someones post so i dont want to degrade you post thats why i didn't upvoted other wise no issue i would love to upvote i am new so sorry

As your voting power is not great in the beginning just vote what you want, it helps everyone. No worries, feel free to ask if anything is not clear, steemit is not so easy to understand. Have a nice day and good luck here!

Thank you so much for the Support Glad to connect with you on steemit.

Awesome adventure you're going on! I'd never thought to try that trick of asking taxi drivers for a tour, I might try it next time I travel :) thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your nice comment!

@schamangerbert very interesting post. It's a difference compare to tons of super hot places other users are posting :) following you and waiting for next threads.
If you have a moment, please take a look at my posts about Warsaw. I am sure you will like them!
All the best.

Thank you, refollowed. The next post is ready to go, after I am finished with all the comments I have to make :)

I will check it for sure. I've also created new one and will be ready later today :) all the best!!

:) You are welcome.

Oh my god, siberia, my dream ! Thanks for the insight, it looks a fantastic trip !

Yes it was one of my greatest travels, I was 4 times there.

4 times !? Oh my god thats is a lot of times. No doubt now that the place must be incredible !

The next big stop is in Tuva: shaman culture and people, that is my interest in this travels.

Sounds super interesting, I din't know we could find shaman over there :)
Enjoy the experience then ;)

Cool gefällt mir.

Vielen Dank, es geht gleich weiter mit dem nächsten Teil :)

A very unusual place to go I most admit! Hows the temperatures there? I can imagine it most be cold? I have not read your other blogs just yet so forgive me for asking, but how long have you been travelling in Siberia/other parts of Russia etc.? Doing cycling trip through Europe to China as well so I'm always intrigued by travels like this! Gonna keep a close eye on you from now on!

-2 degree shows the second picture :)
This trip was 2009 and 4 weeks long.
I was 4 times there, Yakutia, Krasnoyarsk, Tuva, Chakassia.
refollowed my friend!

Wow that's amazing! Any other trips coming up in the future? Seems like you like to travel to there! It's such a huge and vast place, is the visas easy to get?

The next part is online :)
The visa is not a big deal for Germans, through a travel agency, they make it, the problem are the flights, you can not fix them more than 6 weeks before, in this travel I had no flight from Yakutsk to Krasnoyarsk and have to fly to Irkutsk instead and then with the train to Krasnoyarsk, only 2000 km and one day more to travel :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44