What Is, In Your Opinion, A Worthy Post On Steemit? A Post That "Deserves" Its Payout... | Are Ulogs worth it?

I used to associate quality with the worth of a post. Make an exceptional quality post and you will have an increased chance of being upvoted by Curie or OCD and should land you on the trending page and when people go there especially the new ones they would know what to aspire for.

Yet the reality is far from the truth as we all know the trending post is composed of bid botted content, massive self-voting by those that hold a sizable Steem Power and their circle jerk ilk. Then there is the matter of vote buying and so you know the monetary worth of a post can become bloated.

I am not here to talk about bidbots, SP delegations nor vote selling. I am here to talk about what a post and if it is worth its payout.

image.png

Recently a witness in the platform @steemgigs which is by @surpassinggoogle started a new tag #ulog where it's aim is to break the barrier and celebrate you for being here.

Ulog: True Celebrities = True Fans + O; where letter "O" equals "loop" and suddenly; "Mama Earth shines brighter".

Some of his other programs are:

Un(dis)talented: Remove bum, average, smart and suddenly; "we are genius".
SteemGigs: Make "everyone" have something to offer" and suddenly; "dreams equaller reality".
Teardrops: Give tears value and suddenly; "we are back down-to-earth and "human"

All of these has the desire to be inclusive of the common man, of the "Untalented", the "Dream Builders" and those shedding their "Teardrops" of joy or sadness altogether celebrating Uloggers.

Lately there has been some criticism directed to the "quality" of these posts from uloggers. Often described as low-brow, low quality, posts that would not past Curie standards. We have these so called elites, pros or they consider themselves as the best there is, mocking people and calling them stupid for bowing and scraping to the likes of @surpassinggoogle.

I have followed @surpassinggoogle, I have researched his history in Steemit and beyond and even before he was a whale he was already saying and planning all of these things that he wants to do.

Dream Building with Surpassinggoogle | Becoming Awesome

I saw in another post a person asking why Steemit is letting people from Nigeria, The Philippines and Indonesia have so many accounts in the platform when he thinks that they are all scammers, plagiarist and does not add any value to the platform.

He even feels that they are just taking advantage of the platform and enriching themselves. Tell that to the stay at home mom that finally had an opportunity to earn some money to augment their measly take home pay so that she can buy milk for her kids, tell that to the artist who draws beautifully and being recognized by Curie or OCD or one of the many art guilds in the platform. Tell that to the hundreds who tell their story and share their lives to complete strangers and do their best to make deep human connections.

Those $1-$2 dollar posts are nothing compared to the 10 Technical analysis posts that get 5% of the total reward pool or that shiny travel post from the person that has the 2nd largest vote in the platform but choose to circlejerk 60 accounts a week on delegated SP from Steemit Inc.

Yes I believe those simple ulog posts deserve what they have because to them it is hope and promise of a better future.

All it takes is one man with a vision and purpose to be better and to do good. You might be saying easy enough if that person is a whale.

Then let us go to my most favorite post and the most amazing thing that I have witnessed in this platform.

image.png

Want To Help? Donate To Free A Man From His Pain, Help Love Story End Without Pain

This post by @davemccoy who is not a whale nor a dolphin but a minnow like us. is the most amazing thing I have seen.

A message asking for help was sent out and people responded to it. Here was a minnow without the huge SP behind him but armed only with his willingness to help other people.

The post ended up with a value of $213 and is worth every cent as well as the donations sent to the couple.

image.png

The Power of Steemit Post

Here @ankarlie talks about her post #STEEMGIGS: (how-to) — Ulog#6 SUBSTRATUM: New Passive income utilizing your unused internet connection earning about $1.76 here in Steemit but managed to give her $2700 USD dollars worth of Tokens.

That blog-post only earned me measly $1.72 rewards. A typical blog post like this in utopian would usually net me around $20-$35 due to the fact that it takes a couple of hours to make such a guide. I chose not to use utopian steem-based app because I will not be able to use steemgigs condenser if I did which I currently support. So whatever reward I get in the upvotes there is inconsequential as its primary purpose is to share the said opportunity. It turns out I got a WHOLE LOT MORE than I bargained for. A week later I saw my named mentioned in a twitter and apparently my Steemgigs post earned me $2700 USD which roughly translated to having a reward in steemit of $1000.

On steemit, apart from outright "steem or steem dollar rewards", there are "opportunities"…. your very next post can be the attracter of “breakthrough opportunities, straight from the search engines
From @surpassinggoogle

So you can see your post can be worth more than the pay-out reward that it generates in Steemit. It could have earned cents but moved someone to action. It could have inspired someone to become better. It could have saved someone's life.

There are more to the things we write here than pay out value. It is the connections we build, the lives we have touched and the legacy that once you existed in this world and mattered.

Keep Steeming and know that everyone has something of value.

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif


Centurion Mave.png

helpie.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  
Loading...

The value in a post is in its desire and effort. Nothing to do with 'quality'. Steemit gives a chance for whom a few cents is the difference between eating or not, buying a bit of medicine or suffering in pain.
A lot of the ulog posts have very little to interest an audience, but that's not the point. As long as they are honest they have value. Even if its only to the person that created them.
Anything that shows life truthfully and has the potential to be seen by millions can go towards helping us all understand how each other live, hopefully creating harmony through respect.
Always there will be people attempting to make a fast buck with spam and scam, but notice how most of these people are from places where life is really hard.
People who scam and cheat and actually make a lot of money from doing so are generally from countries that aren't so impoverished.
On this platform I'm afraid to say, like in 'real' life, money goes to money. If you or I already had 0.5m USD to invest in Steem, we'd already be rich but more importantly, our ability to make a whole lot more money here everyday would be massive...look at the top of trending today.
But to empower the many, who really need help, we need one of these already rich to share it amongst the lowly, financially and through education encouragement and engagement. The platform is too old now for someone to start at zero and build a regular income alone, thats why the @surpassinggoogle s of this world are so important, there needs to hundreds of him. Problem is, as I keep pointing out to the Libertarians here, the 'freedom' they waffle on about shouldn't come at the loss of empathy and altruism, which in my opinion it does.
Now you stop being so fucking morose and post something happy tomorrow little kuya ;-)

PS what are you doing up at this time ? Been on a date ? ;-)

Anything that shows life truthfully and has the potential to be seen by millions can go towards helping us all understand how each other live, hopefully creating harmony through respect.

Sorry, just had to repeat that. Amen :-)

Thank you, that's really nice of you to say so :-)

I love your comment! I agree if it is honest and true to who we are then it will have value.
A lot of people running the more advanced scams are indeed not from third world nations.

the Libertarians here, the 'freedom' they waffle on about shouldn't come at the loss of empathy and altruism, which in my opinion it does.

The platform could be better and be altruistic and help people but of course its a lot easier to just earn money and keep on earning.

Now I'm looking forward to the happy post mate...and don't you owe me some more beach pics ? lol ;-)

It is still being edited lol after 2 months still not done hahahhaha

I agree with every word you just have said especially this:

A lot of the ulog posts have very little to interest an audience, but that's not the point. As long as they are honest they have value. Even if its only to the person that created them.
Anything that shows life truthfully and has the potential to be seen by millions can go towards helping us all understand how each other live, hopefully creating harmony through respect.

Thank you for your kind words and more importantly, for taking the time to comment :-)

I guess I have some mixed emotions about this, which means it's a thought provoking post.

Quality, obviously, is subjective. One man's trash is another man's treasure. And quality does not equate to rewards. Visibility and what people want to read about do have more to say about rewards. You can throw your circle of friends into the mix, too, because unfortunately that happens.

That said, it seems to me that there's still a minimum standard that must be meant for posts. I have no idea what curie or ocd standards are. I know I've been hit by them a combined five times now, and I still find it to be rather random. That's not to complain, that's just an outside observation.

Again, these minimum standards can be subject to interpretation, too, and what I'm getting from your post here is that quality is secondary to need or necessity, or at the very least, quality is not the only factor if need is one.

If I've read this wrong, please correct me.

I don't understand why some people need to be so judgmental. You see it everywhere on this platform, which shouldn't be so surprising because it exists in all places. These statements like, why do they let in such and such because they're all this, this and that are always erroneous statements to begin with. Not everyone is any one thing. It's impossible. A majority, a minority, too many perhaps, but it's impossible for everyone to be whatever it is. Once that statement is made, for me, credibility is lost, and I pretty much stop reading or listening after that.

Maybe there are a higher percentage of bad actor accounts from a certain segment of the population. Could be. I don't have any evidence for or against. In my own less than scientific observation, there does seem to be a greater tendency for those with poor English writing abilities to appear to be spamming or doing other things, but that doesn't make it true, and since I've never looked at where people are from or performed any study on that, I have no idea if it's concentrated in one or two places or widespread.

However, with anonymity being king here on Steemit, anyone from anywhere could claim to be from Nigeria, or the Philippines or any place else, and no one would really know. If these bad actors were truly smart, they wouldn't divulge where they were from anyway.

So, I just left another post sized comment, but there was a lot for me to cover here. As always. Thanks for another thought provoking post. :)

The people from The Philippines and Nigeria are not the ones hiding their identity on this platform. You are describing most of the Top 500 Steemers who do hide behind aliases. The poor people from the 3rd world are the ones who are posting their honest lives.

I wish I had never read this post today. Ulogs give me hope for steemit. Whales give me fear as they have:

  • most of the money
  • time on their hands to bicker continually
  • unknown priorities
  • no desire for any of the rest of us to be here.

They just want the smt's so they can reap the reward and not have to talk to anyone "beneath" them.

I will just go upvote some more ulogs, and then maybe I will feel better.

I have to agree that there's plenty of anonymity to go around here, and a lot of it is toward the top of the SP mountain.

I'd say if the Ulogs give you hope, then stick with them.

I've found all of the people I've ran across so far on Steemit who are from Nigeria the Philippines or points in between to be quite nice to interact with, yet just like everyone else, no one person is the same as any other. That's why a prejudicial comment like, "All "fill in the blank" people are all "fill in the blank" is just false and should be treated as such.

I'm doing my best to ignore whales, just like they seem to ignore me. For the most part, I think it's working out. Probably doesn't help much but I think the only thing the rest of us can do is to continue to bring to light what's going on, look for ways to affect change, but find as much satisfaction out of what we personally have and what we can personally do, and live our lives.

I don't really care much if my ulog blog isn't a Curie or whatever standard people are mentioning about. I always write my ulogs by heart so who I don't care if people don't like it. I didn't know that there are people who don't like us on here. LOL

Say it again bro @maverickinvictus. Whoever said Nigerians, Philippines and Indonesians should not be allowed on steemit should go and check their posts, come to discord and see how many of them populate servers seeking for a way to be better, to achieve more. Does he or she think that these people here do not know what scam is about? The persons who phish are they from any of the countries he or she mentioned?

Let me walk away from that negativity before I spoil my mood. I know what steemit has done for me. I know what I have achieved since I joined the platform and for me, with or without the whales, bidbots, circle jerking and what not, great content come out every day and I am glad to be here.

One's person view as unimportant could be a great value to someone else. ^^ Aja!

I totally agree on the value of making connections and getting in touch with others. :)

Yet another encouraging post, Mav!

It could have earned cents but moved someone to action. It could have inspired someone to become better. It could have saved someone's life.

For the past months, I somehow struggled to upkeep making quality contents because I believe I have already made such image in this platform. I was close to being frustrated until @surpassinggoogle reminded me to let just let loose. Making ulogs made me release the natural side of me and it feels pretty good regardless of how it earns.

Guess this platform isn't just about having the proof of brain but also about sharing our proof of emotions. And that, I believe, are the most deserving posts some people underrates.

Quality indeed can be discovered by looking at the value of post but to me the genuine comment count is a trigger that there must be something good in a post!

Great post. I am going to have a hard time believing this can really happen though until it happens to me or one of my close followers on Steemit. There just appears to be so much content out there. It is hard to get ahead without buying your votes. Even when you buy hoping you can build some momentum for one of your posts, it may still fall flat.

I don't think the content itself is what's valuable in a social media platform such as steemit. It's the engagement. Interestingly, someone posting amazing content and running away in theory would still add value if said content was being shared around the community so there's that too.

The value of any social media platform is in real activity, and for promotion, being able to reach real people. Unfortunately that still holds true in a platform like this. If nobody is going to pay to buy influence within this game, the whole thing falls flat.

This is true and engagement is a big part of the great Alexa ranking we hold. Too bad some many of those comments are from bid-bots, but it least it helps our rank.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45