LONG WAY DOWN - part 2

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

If you did not read the first part of this poem, I advise you to click here and read it before you start its second part. Although it can be considered a poem on its own, it may make more sense to you if you read both.

These two poems were inspired by some of my darkest hours of pain and suffering caused by Lyme disease, when I could not see a way out of it. Like any other person fighting an invisible chronic illness, I went through a wide range of negative emotions which plunged me into a depression that lasted a few good months.

The poems represent a conversation between a little runaway boy and the devil he stumbles upon. They are included in my first poetry collection: Whiteless Thoughts.

DSC_0190 2.JPG

There is something pulling me through that door!
I had a glance and there is a long long way down;
for unknown reasons my legs just can't stop.
As much I try to go back,
there is a thread pulling me
to the depths of the chambers.
I search each corner looking for the truth
I doubt my decision, how can I know if I am right?

You curious boy,
you should have not trusted any stranger,
but now, there is no turning back!
Let me show you how much I care:
you will never be broke,
you will never go back,
you will never feel down,
you will never be alone.

I'll teach you to master the desire,
to be higher than your inner fire.
Let me shackle you out of your mortal chains,
hoping this chalice will tackle your brains.

Surrender to the darkness!

Each breath you take in makes you mine;
when you exhale and your eyes tear,
the pain brings you closer to the edge-
how do you humans say:
caught between the devil and the sea?

Now you can understand this choice is right;
you know you got no strength to fight.
Why would you? Is there something you will miss?

All those pretty faces have sold you out,
their greed is beyond any doubt;
they took the kiss upon my lips,
the instant you were gone.
Why do you look surprised
when people tell you sweet lies?

Don't waste the time to ask yourself
if there was a turning point-
you know it well, there was none!

It was all in your eyes and mind.
You know you called for me!
There is no way to run from pain
when you are human.

For centuries you have whispered
my name, my refrain.
You called for me and now I'm here!
Surrender!

Read my mind, see through my eyes
what lays ahead: numbing pains,
tingling, tremors, spasms and crippling fears.

Have a look at this bleak summary
of your upcoming years!
Anxious? Any thrills to go through?
So, little boy, are you coming?

Here are some of my poems:

YOU ARE NOT ALONE
ALL BOUT LOVE
A TALE OF A MINNOW AND A WHALE
LONG WAY DOWN 1
SPIDER QUEEN
MINA'S EULOGY
THE CIRCLE OF LIFE
YOU KNOW IT ALL
CONFESSION OF A HUSBAND
BROKEN DREAM
THE RETURN OF A HERX
CLOSE THE DOORS
IT IS LOVE
BROKEN SOUL
FREEDOM
SPEECHLESS
CHECKOUT POINT
TOO DEEP - TEASER
TEENAGE YEARS
A CHILD'S MIND
PINK
PAIN
DARE
LOST
LUCKY # 3- Teaser
THE LION- Teaser
REDEMPTION- Teaser
FADE THE PAIN- Teaser
THE SILVER TRAY- Teaser
A PAWN - Teaser

Lavi Picu is the author of three soulful poetry collections: Whiteless Thoughts, Burden of love and Tales of a moody heart. She is a Canadian writer, majored in Linguistics, with a background in translations and writing. She’s also a ghost writer, a blogger with a focus on arts and health, a Lyme disease advocate, a mother and a self-taught artist.

@2018 LaviPicu aka Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Wow @lymepoet, this is really something; I'm a bit at a loss for words; it's dark and heavy and beautiful. I'm submitting this to c-squared, but I also wanted to call @quillfire over here; not sure if you two have met yet, but I think you'll like each other's work if you haven't.

@lynncoyle1 & @lymepoet,

Hi Lynn. Thanks for the call out. Lavi and I actually go way back.

Lavi, this poem, and its predecessor, reminded me of two things: the Biblical story of Satan tempting Christ in the desert, and, Shakespeare's soliloquy, To Be or Not To Be. The former is pretty obvious, the latter, perhaps less so.

To Be or Not To Be is a contemplation of suicide, an explanation of why we "fight to live" despite the agonies of life. As usual, it's hard to imagine improving upon the Bard's craft:

To be, or not to be, that is the question:
Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them: to die, to sleep
No more; and by a sleep, to say we end
the heart-ache, and the thousand natural shocks
that Flesh is heir to? 'Tis a consummation
devoutly to be wished. To die, to sleep,
To sleep, perchance to Dream ...

At some point, life becomes a Force of Will, a contest between combatants. In your case, it's you against the bugs. The bastards want to break you and, to add irony to agony, the medical profession, that is supposed to be trying to make things better, often makes things worse.

A few weeks ago, my daughter and I were talking about Steemit (it involved a fair amount of swearing on my part). Anyway, we now make short-hand reference to the Three Musketeers: @girlbeforemirror, @lymepoet and @lynncoyle1. The three of you have dealt with a "Sea of Troubles" in a manner I find awe-inspiring. And, the fact that the three of you maintain a semblance of sanity (as much as girls can be thought to be sane) ... is remarkable. And so, as you have undoubtedly noticed, I remark.

There is steel within you Lavi, forged by fire and tempered with tears. It is the metal of warriors. And warriors ... war.

Quill

Thank you Quill! That's so kind of you to say.

(as much as girls can be thought to be sane)

But, am I pretty? :)

Here's something for you: my entire life, I've had very few friends who were girls, because yes, they are insane :) When I was in high school, my poor father used to flinch, watching a car load of boys come to pick me up on a Saturday night ... all just friends. He couldn't understand it :)

Loading...

Thank you, Quill! I truly appreciate it.

Thank you! We do know each other; I do love his writing!

I put 3 musketeers into pixabay, for an illustrated response to speak for me, as I'm not mustering words that feel worthy, or perhaps I'm feeling too wearisome to harvest them at the moment. It offered me this -
friends-1676098_640.jpg
I shall seek my words again soon, this is not what I had in mind.
A Strong women search yielded gym junkies. I was not nearly this indomitable when I could bench press or do chin ups. Although I wasn't this invisible either. Maybe I'm more like a ninja now. I move unseen, unnoticed, in the shadows... No my ego is too big to be a ninja. Samurai maybe.. Onna-bugeisha
Ok, words are there festering, I should stir this soup before it gets too gluggy and sticks to the side of my brain forever.

@girlbeforemirror,

That photo ... I'm laughing my ass off. I'll let you guys decide which one's which.

Samurai, definitely Samurai. Ninja, were famous for being ... silent. :-)

*Quill

Thanks for participating in the One Human Basket project! Xoxoxoxoo

My pleasure! ;-)

Between the devil and the deep blue sea
Between a rock and a hard place
I have not heard of Lyme disease and just googled it
That's just terrible
So sorry about what you must have gone through

Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I appreciate it!

Wow, just ran across this from the asapers, and you just got another follower.
It is strange that sometimes our darkest moments help us to produce our brightest work.

Thanks! I guess that in the darkest moments, there's nothing to lose or fear anymore which sort of enhances one's creativity.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for your support!

That's some pretty heavy stuff!

Timeless powers tempting and luring.

Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts on it!

I was wondering if you had Lyme disease, since it is in your username. Now I know.
This is a lovely and haunting poem. You are quite the poet!
hugs

Thank you! I do have Lyme. Poetry has offered me a way to keep my sanity while I was fighting a mysterious illness that no one was able to diagnose. It turned out it was Lyme.

I can only imaging the struggle. Im glad you found a way to help deal with everything through poetry, and I am very glad you saw fit to share some with us! ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97