A PAWN - Teaser from my upcoming book

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I have been patiently waiting to share information about my third book with you. Now that I'm far enough in the process, I am pleased to announce to you the release of the first teaser of my new collection of poems and prose which will be released in May 2018.

Since we're only a few months away from the book release, I needed to share this with you. I will also be doing a cover and the title reveal in the following weeks. Yay!

Seeing that today was the last day of February, when we celebrate Black History Month, I thought of honouring it with a poem inspired by a real story of a life filled with pain and suffering, regained only by strength and courage.

This poem was inspired by the life of a black woman living in a predominantly white society, a victim of racism, violence and domestic abuse who struggled for years against stigma, trying to move forward. The poem below will be included in my forthcoming book.


A PAWN

She dances in the sheets at night
pleasing souls until the crack of dawn,
treated as a slave, a simple pawn
she lives in the slums, all on her own.

She can't stop this vicious chain,
she tried and failed on and on;
no words left, nor pride or shame,
just self-control, no dreams of fame.

Laying down each night in a bed of lies
of dead hopes, dreams and silent cries,
being called different names, never her own
she's never been anything else but a pawn.


Image source: Pixabay

Here are some of my latest poems:

PINK

SPIDER QUEEN

TEENAGE YEARS

THE RETURN OF A HERX

LOST

CLOSE THE DOORS

PAIN

IT IS LOVE

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed it! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

@2018 LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


Sort:  

Great poetry and good luck with the teaser release

Thank you! Appreciated. ;-)

I feel the deeper I get to this book yet out tears have loaded on my eye lids but the mind has to be strong to stand the winds of time.

Thank you for stopping by. It's a book about pain, suffering and love.

Look forward to read the teasers. Good luck.

Thank you. I will post one each week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61