CONFESSION OF A HUSBAND -poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

My darling, I must confess that

among the qualities I do possess

or things you cherish about me,

hugging scores at its lowest.

I am not a hugger!

Not during the night

when all I want is to

close my eyes, sleep tight,

alone in my own bed

without a shred of light!

I have no wish for spooning,

cuddle, nor pillow chat or fight;

my whole body’s aching,

I simply want you out of sight.

My bed is the last standing

sanctuary I have within this house

where panties, bras, mascaras

seem to have taken over!

Despite the fact I still live here,

my clothes, socks, and belts

have been reduced to

one single drawer.


Image source: Pixabay


#teamgirlpowa #thealliance #teamcanada



Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed! Feel free to resteemit or upvote it!
Please leave your feedback in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!


@2018LaviPicu aka The Lyme Poet. All rights reserved.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

@lymepoet I really enjoyed this poem! I found it very amusing and laughed a few times while reading it. Especially the part about "no spooning or cuddling," and I lost it at "I am not a hugger!" HAHAH! Awesome.

I really enjoyed the rhyme that happened at the beginning and middle of the poem, and was a little disappointed it ceased in the second half/last half. Can you include rhyme throughout in your revision?

I found this part odd and off "my bones crumble down…" It didn't seem to fit.

If I creep around your poetry any more you'll also learn I abore ellipses, the [...], and will encourage you with every ounce to avoid them in the future. They frustrate readers and are better replaced with a comma or a period.

Please keep writing and sharing. I'm enjoying your playful insight.

Am I correct in guessing that this was a practice poem to write from a different perspective or perhaps using the image as inspiration?

Thanks again!

@jocelynlily Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly look into it. The poem was a prompt. As I was looking for a image for it, I stumbled upon this one, which made me laugh. I thought it might make others laugh as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69