Steemit Open Mic Week 146 - The Offspring 'It'll be a long time'

in #openmic5 years ago

Open mic cover.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I play a song by The Offspring caled 'It'll be a long time'!

...so without further ado...

'It'll be a long time'

Lyrics -

All this time has whittled away
Like so many days in one
Back and forth the leaders sway
Backing it up with guns, ya
Superpowers flex their wings
Hold the world on puppet strings
Egos will feed
While citizens bleed
So is the way it goes

When will the world listen to reason
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
When will the truth come in to season
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
I have a feeling it'll be a long time

All they want is what they can defend
Before their time is up
Make the same mistakes again
Heard it all before, ya
Superpowers flex their wings
Hold the world on puppet strings
Egos will feed
While citizens bleed
That's always the way it goes

Well if they tried maybe they'd see
It'd do a little good to let the world be free
Handshake and a smile gets you on through
Then turn it all around with a suicide move
But you know you're not fooling anyone but me
You gotta make yourself see what you want to see
No you know you're not fooling anyone but me
You gotta make yourself see what you want to see, Oh ya

I see ya
Superpowers flex their wings
Hold the world on puppet strings
Egos will feed
While citizens bleed
That's always the way it goes

When will the world listen to reason
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
When will the truth come in to season
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
I have a feeling it'll be a long time
Oh ya ya ya

musicdivider.jpg

If you'd like to hear more check out my other Steemit Open Mic entries!

blank break.jpg

o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg Thanks for listening! o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

new CMA banner.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello @derekrichardson, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17