Steemit Open Mic Week 120 - Jack Johnson 'Rodeo Clowns'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Open mic cover.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I play a song by Jack Johnson called 'Rodeo Clowns'.

...so without further ado...

'Rodeo Clowns'

Lyrics -

Sweepin' the floors, open up the doors
Turn on the light, gettin' ready for tonight
Nobody's romancin', 'cause it's too early for dancin'
But here comes the music

Bright lights flashing they cover up your life
There's so many people so many problems
So many reasons to buy another round
Drink it down, just another night on the town
With the big man, money man better than the other man
He got the plan with the million dollar give a damn
When nobody understands he'll become a smaller man
The bright lights keep flashin' man the women keep on dancin'

With the clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I'm down yeah, yeah
The rodeo clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I'm down yeah, yeah

The disco ball spinnin' all the music and the women
And the shots of tequila man they'll say that they need ya
But what they really need, is just a little room to breathe
A teeny boppin' disco queen she barely understands
Her dreams of belly button rings and other kinds of things
Symbolic of change but the thing that is strange
Is that the changes occurred

And now she's just a part of the herd yeah, yeah, yeah,
Man I thought that you heard yeah, yeah
The changes occurred yeah, yeah, yeah
She's just part of the herd

Lights out shut down late night wet ground
You walk by, look at him but he can't look at you yeah
You might feel pity but he only feels the ground
Because you understand moods but he only knows let down
By the corner there's another one
Reaching out a hand, coming from a broken man
Well, you try to live, but he's done trying
Not dead but definitely dying

With the rest of the clowns yeah, yeah
Mmmmmm with the rest of the clowns
The rodeo clowns yeah yeah yeah
Pick me up when I'm down yeah, yeah
The rodeo clowns yeah, yeah, yeah
Pick me up when I'm down yeah, yeah

Sweepin' the floors, open up the doors yeah
Turn on the light, gettin' ready for tonight
Nobody's romancin', 'cause it's too early for dancin'
But here comes the music

musicdivider.jpg

If you'd like to hear more check out my other Steemit Open Mic entries!

blank break.jpg

o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg Thanks for listening! o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 73% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched - they must be felt with the heart.

Thank you for all your support @artturtle!

Jack Johnson's music is so cool and laid back. Nice cover!

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

I do like Jack Johnson
You got my feet tapping and head nodding ;D
All the best with openmic

Love it as usual! And you got quite the collection of open mic performances. You could almost make a DVD out of it. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Mike! That's actually a pretty cool idea. I've made dvd's from my other youtube videos before, but I think I might have to get a new computer before I do it. This one has some issues with the cd input.

Nice it is! Just watching at the lyrics at first I couldn't guess how fun the performance would be.

Wow, it's like that entire song is one big tongue twister! Well done, @derekrichardson and best of luck with Open Mic!

Thank you @traciyork! Ya it's a tongue twister alright, it took me quite a few tries to spit the words out right! lol.

Awesome how many words you sang within 2 mins, and great as always! BTW Love painting on the walls :)

Thank you! This song was a bit of a tongue twister. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44