Steemit Open Mic Week 125 - Original Song 'Rugged Canyons'steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Open mic cover.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I play an Original Song that I wrote about the East Fork of the San Gabriel river called 'Rugged Canyons'.

...so without further ado...

'Rugged Canyons'

Lyrics -

I welcome the rain
It makes me feel alive, and washes away my pain
I sit and watch the fire's light
Combusting reactions keep me warm through the night

And the ground is turning green
But the water's moving, ya causing quite a scene
Beneath it treasures move
The search, my purpose, what I do

East Fork is where I feel at home
In rugged canyons is where I roam
City life, it's not for me
Out in the mountains is where I'll be

I often feel confused
Pointless efforts, getting used
I can not focus but I see
I'm not domesticated, I'm wild and free

In the inside of the bend
Just me all alone, on that I can depend
So I look under the ground
Feeling so real, listening to the river's sound

East Fork is where I feel at home
In rugged canyons is where I roam
City life, it's not for me
Out in the mountains is where I'll be

East Fork is where I feel at home
In rugged canyons is where I roam
City life, it's not for me
Out in the mountains is where I'll be
East Fork, she calls my name
I got a taste oh man now I'll never be the same
A wild soul is alive inside of me
Roaming rugged canyons it's where I'll be

East Fork that's where I'll be

musicdivider.jpg

If you'd like to hear more check out my other Steemit Open Mic entries!

blank break.jpg

o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg Thanks for listening! o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

This song probably would not exist if it wasn't for Steemit open mic. And I really like it so... thank YOU @luzcypher! I hope to have more original songs like this in the future.

Really a great song. I loved it.

Thanks mom! I was messing around on my guitar the other day and this song just came to me.

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 15% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Love your voice! It kind of sounds very familiar with one of my friends and maybe that makes me love it even more! :)

Absolutely love it!!! You write songs fast. "Just the other day" ha! This one is golden. Makes me want to head back to San Gabriel. Hey, BTW, what's all this rain doing to the canyon?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks dude. It's definitely "golden". Pun intended. lol. The water is raging up there! It's uncrossable right now. And with the big snow pack it should be pretty high all year. All the prospectors are super stoked for this year. I'm gonna be trying to get up there as soon as it's possible.

Wow 😍 everything looks amazing with the song ...

Congratulations @derekrichardson! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

Nicely done sir. Really enjoying your open mic videos.
Ren

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

really feeling this piece groove my friend! love it! great vocal nice and fantastic lyrics. great build .. one hell of a tune ... fan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20