Steemit Open Mic Week 68 - Josh Ritter 'Leaves and Kings'

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

OPen mic pic.jpg

Hello Steemit! 1039_emoji_iphone_raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed.pngimages.duckduckgo-2.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I cover a really cool song by Josh Ritter called 'Leaves and Kings'.

...so without further ado...

youtube-logo.jpgYoutube video -

Lyrics-

Verse 1 -

I met you at a party or on a crowded street
A silent singularity when glances chanced to meet
You looked into my glasses, said you'd seen a ghost
I tried my best to make you smile as we calypsoed close
I have been to Cleveland and you have been to jail
You seem to be recovering but I felt a little pale
Our house it was on seventeenth above a hardware store
And there we lived with seven cats all named for seven dwarves

Chorus -

But like leaves and kings, all things must fall
No diamond ring's gonna cut through it all

Verse 2 -

You were working as a grave robber, you could do your job at night
I was living hand to mouth just looking for a fight
The reason why we parted it ain't that hard to find
I was always busy, and you never had the time
Well the reason why we parted it ain't that hard to see
But I was never sure if I left you or you left me

Chorus -

But like leaves and kings, all things must fall
No diamond ring's gonna cut through it all

Verse 3 -

And when it was all over I lost myself in work
You got married to a lawyer painting murals in New York
And though it seems a million miles ago since I saw the light
The hours flowed by nervously like warships in the night
Many times I've been corrupted but I've never been in love
I began to realize that that's just where I was
So I packed up my possessions and caught an east-bound train
Met you in Ohio sleeping in the rain

Chorus -

But like leaves and kings, all things must fall
No diamond ring's gonna cut through it all

Verse 4 -

So now we're going back again to start where we began
With rules and regulations but no real kind of plan
I've learned my lesson well with no mistakes at all
Once you find yourself true love you just keep holding on

Like leaves and kings, all things must fall
No diamond ring's gonna cut through it all

But now out of the dark, out of the blue,
Like leaves and kings I've fallen in love with you

Feel free to comment and/or criticize. And until next time...
Thanks for listening!!
guitar.pngimages.duckduckgo.jpgo-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

SWM.pngMap - !steemitworldmap 34.165928 lat -117.358792 long 'Derek Richardson's Pad' D3SCR
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
https://discord.gg/g22zkFD

Dividerbar.jpg


Dividerbar.jpg

DQmfEQSBMrq3s4TR7YryJWQPtuCFvQiy9XS8aTLmfcNdVgM.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Did a really nice job singing and playing the guitar. Love your background too. 😊

Thanks mom!! I love getting to use Mary's wall art as my backgrounds for Open Mic. I was just telling Tyler a few days ago how I felt so special to have them for backgrounds. I remember me and Daren would always do our 'performances' for Mary right there in front of that wall. Whether music, acting, karate, etc... whatever we were gonna 'perform'. It was so cool. Solid-Red-Heart-Emoji-5353-810x810.jpg

great video love the backing, nice colors coming through great sound fun playing and fun singing. love the song...

Thanks @soundlegion! I always have fun playing for the open mic.

I LIKE YOUR STYLE beacuse you tell us a history in the song <3 , these are the best kind of songs !!

Oh man can't believe I missed this til now. My feed is getting full. Upvoted!

Ha! I see you just posted a new urban camping!! About to check it out right now.

Thanks dude! I know what your saying. The other day I went through who I'm following and cleared out probably 60+ people. My feed is much better now. I hadn't ever done that so it had just kept building up and I was missing all kinds of good stuff just because some of those people were posting a bunch of crap. And don't get me wrong I still love to follow lots of new people that I find, but there is definitely a point of it becoming too much where at that point you're hardly a real follower anymore. If you see what I'm sayin' there. I have you on my autovote, but I'm still always checking out your blog. Looking forward to more "urban camping". I really dig that stuff.

Nice one :). You definitely have more guts than I do haha

Thanks @chr7is. I figure there's no reason to be nervous or shy. If I did that I'd miss out on all the fun! lol.

Nice song..will have to follow to hear them all..as for criticizing I have absolutely no talent whatsoever in playing and instrument or singing..so congrats to you!

Thank you! I'm working on my submission for this weeks contest right now. I was hoping to have a friend come join me for another collaboration, but unfortunately he didn't make it. So I had to pick a new song last minute and so I decided to stick with the same acoustic guitar, kinda American folk genre as this one, but it is a much older song.

wow great talent !
and a good choice of the song also
I can't firgive myself for not hearing about this one before

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

So I'll be honest I'm not familiar with Josh Ritter but I do have an eclectic taste in music and thought, hey lets give this a listen...

You sounded great and I loved the lyrics so much, that I then went and listened to Josh signing it...

And guess what? You do an excellent cover! I really like the folksy sound, akin to a bit of Dylan 🎶

Thanks @redwellies! There is definitely a bit of Dylan influence there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47