Steemit Open Mic Week 109 - Josh Ritter 'Angels on Her Shoulders'

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)

Open mic cover.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I play a song by Josh Ritter called 'Angels on Her Soulders'!

...so without further ado...

'Angels on Her Shoulders'

Lyrics -

She walked right in
As time slowed down
But not enough
To keep me from ordering up
Another round
In a bottomless cup
That I had found
In the hopes of never waking up.
The Jukebox played
An old country song
About steel guitars
And how he'll try his level best
To get along
In the same old bar
Though friends gone wrong
Well he once had love but I never got that far

She must have angels on her shoulders
Their light wherever she may be
She says the angels do not know her
I think I'm the only one who sees

So I got my drink
And my fix my rose
But I need much more
Than this powdered blue and rented tuxedo
I need a line
A-something she don't know
Cause' she's probably heard them all a thousand times
So I caught her eye
For the next song
And the waltz replaced
The tango like she knows that I don't belong
In these shoes
I feel all wrong
But that's just my pride, what have I got to lose?

She must have angels on her shoulders
Their light wherever she may be
She says the angels do not know her
I guess I'm the only one who sees

Well the last call called
But I didn't hear
I was too busy looking
At you across the remnants of my beer
You stood to leave
And then it all came clear
That life without her was all I had to fear

You must have angels on your shoulders
Their light wherever you may be
She asks me would I like to show her?
I think I might be just the guy you need

musicdivider.jpg

If you'd like to hear more check out all my other Steemit Open Mic entries!

blank break.jpg

o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg Thanks for listening! o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

text04.png

TMC_Site_Banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

derekrichardson_red.png

Sort:  

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 74% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Damn, you 're good! Would love to hear it live, sitting next to bonfire :D

Thanks! Let me know if you're ever in California, bonfire jam session could totally happen!

Really good! Is that a steemit hat? Awesome

Thanks @balticbadger. And yes, yes it is!

Box guitar, a good tune to relax and enjoy, nice one @derekricharson

Visiting from #steemitbloggers

Thanks @joanstewart. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

wow this is awesome friend...
Thanks for sharing with us...

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Nice... have to be honest this reminded me of an old Conan sketch were he'd have a devil on one shoulder and something in place of the Angel on the other, like a bear or an astronaut.

Haha! That's funny.

It's my pleasure as always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93