Steemit Open Mic Week 81 - Original Song 'Uncertainties and Miscalculations'

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Open mic cover.jpg

images.duckduckgo-2.jpg Hello Steemit!! images.duckduckgo-2.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I perform my first original song. As well as my first electric guitar song and my first rap song all in one! The first part of this song was all written about 13-14 years ago when I was still rather young and reckless and had been experiencing the hardships of living though a wildfire and the subsequent flash flooding afterwards. The last part is something I wrote recently for a killer beat by @riggsyfort... and I thought it went well at the end of the first part so... I made a little jam on the guitar and let it all flow!

...so without further ado...

youtube-logo.jpg Youtube Video -

Lyrics -

Life isn't always happy and nice
You never know the next roll of the dice
Maybe a fire, maybe a flood
Maybe your house gets filled full of mud
I got holes in my walls, got holes in my floor
Wonder why my room looks different than before?
All my shit, well it is now trash
But I still got a pipe and a stash
You know it's the only thing that keeps me alive
I'm so happy when the herb arrives
What if you're living on parole and on dope
Just staying out of jail by the thread of a rope
And your car broke down cause it is so wasted
Smell reminds me of fumes that I've tasted
My girlfriend left me, to bad
All she ever did was just make me mad
And treat me like I was a fad
She stopped loving me and it made me sad
Tweakers, stealing my shit
It's the way of the world nothing I can do about it
Lock all my windows and lock all my doors
If you see them, lock it up if it's yours
Police chillin' when they come
With a half ounce of herb and a bottle of rum
And I'm sitting on the curb and their talking shit
But I don't fight back because I'm not a fucking idiot
Jon Langley.. he's different
Got Knocked out in an Instant

Life, trials and tribulations
Uncertainties and miscalculations
I'm not sure if I'm going up or down
Just cruisin' with the universe feeling the sound
My perception, is the only thing I know
It's the way that I learn, It's the way that I grow
I'm responsible for me, I reap what I sow
Karma will come to all

Feel free to comment and/or criticize. And until next time...
Thanks for listening!!
o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

!steemitworldmap 34.165928 lat -117.358792 long 'Derek Richardson's Pad' D3SCR
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmfEQSBMrq3s4TR7YryJWQPtuCFvQiy9XS8aTLmfcNdVgM.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

woooooooooooo fire fire!! love the playing and the rap was sweeet... so damn good i loved it

Wow. Thanks! I'm still surprised at the support I got for this song. I'm really glad you like it. I was wondering, if you don't mind, I see you are a judge... I'm curious about why you think this song did so well? Right now I'm guessing it was just because it was an original. I mean I like my song, of course, but I don't really think it's all that great compared to others. Could just be my perspective. Thanks for any input!!

Bad ass...

The next Eminem walks among us. 👍👍

I've gotten crazy busy with work and school man, but awesome to see this!!!!! Way to really go for it, this is a jam man. Hope you're well!

@riggsyfort! Good to see you back on Steemit. I know how it is. I've been pretty inactive here too because I've also been super busy. I work in minor league baseball so as soon as baseball season starts I go into full time work mode. I'm stoked that you like this song. I was messing around on my guitar and doing the old lyrics that I wrote years ago and then I just started adding in the verse of lyrics I wrote for your beat and it seemed to flow really well so... I put it together and made what you see here! Oh and I know you said you've been super busy, but if you have some time sunday afternoon the SoCal Steemit group is having a Steemit meetup at Newport beach. It should be a lot of fun. You are definitely invited, so if you can you should come!

For me, rap is kind of hit or miss - there are some songs that I like, and some I click the "skip" button as soon as I hear them. This totally worked for me! Nicely done, and good luck with this week's open mic!

This is badass dude! Better make more of this in the future 😉 so far, this openmic entry is the most different and unique among other entries as i've watched. Good job!

Oh wow. Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I was hesitant with this one because like you say it is kinda "unique" ...lol. But I thought it was cool so I gave it a shot.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemit-open-mic-week-81-original-song-uncertainties-and-miscalculations


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh man you hit it hard!!!!

I gave it a try... lol. It's definitely a different style for me, but I think
it came out ok.

Well Steemit seems to agree with me. :)

OMG! We have another participant of American Idol. I like the way you sing all the time. @derekrichardson you know what i mean lolx.

Thank you @xaid. I've actually have a few people tell me I should do American Idol... I think they were probably drunk... lol!!.. but I think it's great that people like my songs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66