Steemit Open Mic Week 77 - 'House of the Rising Sun'

in #openmic6 years ago

Open mic cover.jpg

images.duckduckgo-2.jpg Hello Steemit! images.duckduckgo-2.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I cover a traditional folk song called 'House f the Rising Sun'.

...so without further ado...

youtube-logo.jpg Youtube video -

Lyrics -

There is a house down in New Orleans
They call the risin' sun
And it's been the ruin of many a poor girl
And me, oh god, I'm a-one

My mother was a tailor
She sewed these new blue jeans
My sweetheart was a gambler, lord
Down in New Orleans

Now the only thing a gambler needs
Is a suitcase and a trunk
And the only time he's satisfied
Is when he's on a drunk

He fills his glasses up to the brim
And he'll pass the cards around
And the only pleasure he gets out of life
Is ramblin' from town to town

Oh tell my baby sister
Not to do what I have done
But shun that house in New Orleans
They call the risin' sun

Well, it's one foot on the platform
And the other foot on the train
I'm goin' back to New Orleans
To wear that ball and chain

I'm goin' back to New Orleans
My race is almost run
I'm goin' back to end my life
Down in the risin' sun

There is a house in New Orleans
They call the risin' sun
Its been the ruin of many poor girl
And me, oh god, I'm one

Feel free to comment and/or criticize. And until next time...
Thanks for listening!!
guitar.png images.duckduckgo.jpgo-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

SWM.png Map - !steemitworldmap 34.165928 lat -117.358792 long 'Derek Richardson's Pad' D3SCR
Steemit World Map

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
https://www.facebook.com/CAmountainadventures
Contact me on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Dividerbar.jpg

Steemit Bloggers


Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmfEQSBMrq3s4TR7YryJWQPtuCFvQiy9XS8aTLmfcNdVgM.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Sort:  

Well done! I liked your cover. you went traditional, nice choice.

Took me out on the plains somewhere with a spittoon close by :) - Nice job Brother

Haha! Thanks dude.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekrichardson
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemit-open-mic-week-77-house-of-the-rising-sun


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

good style

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I like the lyrics of this song. @derekrichardson

Thanks @emmanuelacheamp. I like the lyrics too. It's a sad story, but it makes a good song.

It seems like you have constipation and having difficulty in pooping and trying to sing to console yourself. buhahahahaha

Don't forget to flag my comment as usual. haha!

Haha! You are so silly. I'm not sure why you seem to like me, but we can be friends if you want. I see you are fairly new to steemit. BTW I have no real reason to downvote anything at $0 and you downvoting all my old posts that are already paid out does nothing but waste your voting power. And downvotes only lower someones rep if it comes from someone with a higher rep. So I got no worries there...

..oh and you know you secretly do like my song!! lol. Peace and love bro.

Haha! I'll just say an aphorism "My foot my tutor". I think it was my mistake to like that post and you started to flaging my comments and posts thereafter.

As far as my earnings and reputation in Steemit is concerned, i'll just another aphorism "A fog can't be dispelled by a fan". As you said am a newbie in Steemit, so what you would plunder from my account by flaging. Think about yours...buhaha....!

I laughed a lot after commenting on your song and wanted to hit another comment but suddenly I saw your mother's comments which deter me to post negative comments there.

Our conversation already showcaded friendship, whether its positive or negative, I don't know but please don't make me emotional blackmail by using soft words and in the end let me clearify to you that am straight. lolxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34