Steemit Open Mic Week 135 - Josh Ritter 'Letter From Omaha'

in #openmic5 years ago

Open mic cover.jpg

This is my submission for this weeks Steemit Open Mic contest by @pfunk and @luzcypher. This week I play 'Letter From Omaha' by Josh Ritter.

...so without further ado...

'Letter From Omaha'

Lyrics -

Well I can't sleep with all these hand-me-downs
Battered up chests and faded dreams
Every new life seems to spin away
Like sand escaping through the seams

Send me a letter from Omaha
Said a needle or thread could mend the tears
But tonight the cotton fields, they
Smell like calico
And the color of your hair

Stars stand against the lonely blue
Like pin-pricks made by midnight hands
They tried to sew you a pure white dress
Got tied up in the misdeeds and demands

Cotton burned all brown and wasted
Like an innocence fell to disrepair
But tonight the ashes, they
Smell like calico
And the color of your hair

If I could have my one and only wish
I'd sew your hair all to the lining of my shirt
I'd stand in the noon day clean and golden
Not the color of the dry land dirt

Send me a letter from Omaha
Said a needle or thread could mend the tears
But tonight the sugarcane, it
Smells like calico
And the color of your hair

musicdivider.jpg

If you'd like to hear more check out my other Steemit Open Mic entries!

blank break.jpg

o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg Thanks for listening! o-MUSICAL-NOTES-570.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

new CMA banner.png

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

Gotta admit I've never heard of Josh Ritter.. nice jam tho 👍✌ !tip

Thanks Dave! You should definitely check out his music, he's got a bunch of good songs.

🎁 Hi @derekrichardson! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: April 30 2019 Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

And I am SO proud to get to be a member! Thank you SO much @steemitbloggers!

Thank you derekrichardson! You've just received an upvote of 45% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

NOTICE: In order to help facilitate the arts better, I now only pay attention to the first tag. Please visit me and read my latest report for a list of tags that will get you an upvote from me.

Fun song! The room you are in looks just as fun! Is that at your home or a business?

#powerhousecreatives

Thanks @mattifer! This is inside my living room at home. The art was painted by my grandparents.

How very cool! Your grandparents are talented folks! It looks like creativity runs in your family.

Do you think it's mostly inherited or environmental?

Probably a bit of both, but I'd say mostly environmental.

Probably a bit
Of both, but I'd say mostly
Environmental.

                 - derekrichardson


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Muy Bueno amigo, éxitos y mil bendiciones!!!

Nice Man first I have seen of these trying to spend more time checking out the posts.

Thanks @stever82! I really enjoy playing open mic whenever I have the time.

This post has been voted on by @acropolis cinema and music in collaboration with the project @templo.

videotogif_2019.02.15_20.29.34.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44