One photo every day: Finally (171/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

My car in snow.

20171212_144726.jpg

I hope it doesnt melt again.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: 1337 followers]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

Lahti water tower (164/365)
Happy 100th Birthday Finland, here's a 100-Year Independence Cake to celebrate! (165/365)
a Penguin and 2 Kuksas (166/365)
Gryffindor / Rohkelikko (167/365)
Since I've been so busy this week, this evening I'm having a break with my wife, and some dark beer. (168/365)
Three caballeros (169/365)
Candle lanterns (170/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

wtf. [pardon my language]. I have nt seen snow this much before. Even though it was -1 C at my residence some days ago, the snow was very little. I almost got iced. I dont like winter.

The coldest temperature I have experienced in Finland must have been slightly below -30 C. Nearly every January or February sees temperatures approaching -30 C for a few days or a week usually. The hottest temperature I have experienced in Finland was + 33 C in Tampere in July 2010. (That kind of temperatures come with low relative humidity, which means that they don't quite feel tropical.) In recent years, winters in the south of the country where most Finns live, have been rainy and free of snow. That's not much fun, either, because the length of day is about five hours in the south of the country at winter solstice. I prefer -5 C, clear skies and about 30-40 cm of snow.

-30 C!!!. That is really unimaginable for me. I need to be fully clothed with thermal wear and close to the heater, if I happen to be at such place. 33 C are almost normal in my most experiences. At least 26-32 C are average temperature in places I have lived. Dont be scared, such temperature dont make you burn. :)

I think you'd do fine if you just dressed properly. The exposed parts of your skin could be a problem if you did not wear a warm scarf, though. Even I, a native to this wretched climate, hate spending time outside when it's -25 C or below. When you go out at -30 C or colder your face feels like a pin cushion. I've seen images of Alaskans, Canadians and Siberians wearing purpose-made insulated masks to keep their faces warm. But have never seen any such items for sale here. Extreme cold is rare at least in the south of the country where most of the people live.

26-32 C is perfectly fine by me. Perfect beach weather. I've paid money on several occasions to get to spend a week or two in that kind of weather. We get daily maximum temperatures in that range for about 1-4 weeks here every summer. I'm not uncomfortable in such temperatures in the slightest unless the relative humidity of the air exceeds about 70%.

Speaking of high temperature combined with high relative humidity, sauna is very popular here. Typically, sauna's are heated to about 70-90 C and it usually doesn't take long for air humidity to approach 100% as it is customary to throw water on the hot stones in the stove. The difference between sauna and Africa is, of course, that you can get out of a sauna in less than five seconds if you can't take it any longer. ;)

This is a detailed response and also a hands on recipe when I would visit Finland. Thank you for sharing your thought.

The difference between sauna and Africa is, of course, that you can get out of a sauna in less than five seconds if you can't take it any longer

Hahahaa, well thats true. But you can also seek for a cover in Africa if you cant take it temperature for longer period :).

Wow, so cool that is snow, to my place the tempreture is rising these day, maybe i can spend christmas on the beach :))

Thank you for sharing! :)

How the hell would you drive your car if it doesn't melt? Or maybe you no longer want the car. But for sights, this picture is lovely...

I just brush the snow off and drive. :)

It's in a 50% hehehe some hours more and you will have and block. Regards

We had also the first big snow at the weekend. We got directly 20 cm in a couple of hours. Very rare for this area in Germany. My kids loved it.

@gamer00 - Sir your car is covered by ice.... I never experience such cool before.... So, I don't know it feels good or bad.... I love snowy, but I don't know how it feeling for the people who experience it Sir.... Nice photography of it :)

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@gamer00,
Ops how could you clean it :O It seems like the car is frozen :D Anyway a great photography friend!

Cheers~

I have a car brush that I use to brush the snow off. :)

If there's ice I'll just scrape it off, the brush has a replaceable scrape built in.

I take this photo as my 172/365, ;). Lol.

If only it was my own photo to begin with. Anyway, I've posted some new ones already.

I often forget to raise the windscreen wipers when I park the car in the winter. As a result, the water on them may freeze and cause them to stick to the windscreen which makes it difficult to scrape the ice off the screen properly. It's annoying because you have to wait for the heating in the car to melt the ice on the windscreen or yank the wipers free, which leads to extra wear and tear and needing to replace them sooner. So, remember to raise the wipers when you park the car, bro! ;)

I don't know if that's how Seat designed them to be used, as the wipers are tuck safe under the side pillars so they don't gather snow when parked. There's a service mode to changing the wipers, but I gather if the pillars are clear from snow when parking, using that is not really necessary.

The design isn't flawless though. If driving in a blizzard and using the wipers, the snow easily packs up under the side pillars and that might eventually break the wiper motors or the wipers themselves.

That design is very different from that of my car. Have you ever had the wipers get stuck because of freezing? In both our Mitsubishi and Toyota, as in nearly every model of every maker, wet wipers freezing and getting stuck in wintertime if you forget to raise them is a regular nuisance.

Really amazing picture of ice covering of the car. there must be so cool outside, am i right?

Not too cold... -2°C, I'd prefer it be a few degrees lower.

Oh i love snow.amazing picture..thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51