Music Challenge - 25 days, 25 songs (8)

in #musicchallenge7 years ago

musichallenge.JPG

This challenge, started by @jokossita here, is a great incentive to dig into those dusty old memories. Music can have powerful associations to a life long forgotten - hopefully more good than not.

Day 8

A song that reminds you of your 'first love'
Actually, I am cheating just a little here because the song I chose doesn't remind me of my first love per se, but the era I had my first real crush during (the early mid-80s if you were wondering). I don't think there is a song association with him lurking in my memories anyway; and I say 'crush' because it was one of those awkward teenage unrequited things. You know how they go ...

So what song did I choose? Take On Me by A-ha


When this song and it's accompanying video came out we all fell madly in love with the idea of the romantic hero, and how he would do anything to get back to his Love and save the day. You also know how that story goes ...

From the song's Wikipedia page regarding the video:

The video features the band in a pencil-sketch animation method called rotoscoping, combined with live action. The video won six awards and was nominated for two others at the 1986 MTV Video Music Awards.

enter image description here
image source

According to the band's Wikipedia page:

The band were listed in the Guinness World Records book for having the biggest rock concert attendance; they drew an audience of 198,000 at Maracanã Stadium during Rock in Rio festival. Another record for the band is for singer Morten Harket, who was (and is still) listed in the Guinness World Records book in 2001 for the longest live note held; he held a note in "Summer Moved On" for 20.2 seconds.

This song easily embodies all that is felt during a teenage crush, requited or not. As for my crush ... his loss, amiright?
(No, seriously, I hope he has had a wonderful life with someone special. :) )


This is the list from which the music challenge is based off of. I will be modifying some of the questions if more fitting.

song challenge.jpg

Come along on this musical journey with me.
enter image description here

enter image description here

discord invite

Sort:  

These songs are so much fun! Take on Me will always be a classic. You're reminding me of my old crushes, lol! :)

Then I hope they are all good memories. ;)

Sometimes it is great to have a nostalgic afternoon, diving back into the 80s with some YT play lists (while not thinking on just how long ago that actually was lol). :D

Nice choice! Bopping away in my chair here. I'm going to start the challenge today, working on it now.

Oh fantastic! I can't wait to read your choices. :)

Classic songs are the ones I usually listen to. Amazing choice of music for today's challenge.

It's been such a long time since they were in their heyday it's like they're fresh all over again. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53