From Heritage Seed to Organic Corn Chips And TortillassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I grew my own corn and made my own corn chips! A journey learning to grow and store my own food.


Sugar and Cinnamon Corn Chips for dessert

Sustainable Seed Co. Heritage Hopi Blue Corn and Truckers Favorite Yellow Corn.

I found growing and cooking corn labor intensive. It's much easier growing potatoes from start to finish. However, I now have big respect for the people who grow corn to live off. Deep respect....
Different types of heirloom corn by Mother Earth's News

Unfortunately, corn is not an easy plant to preserve as an heirloom vegetable. It originated as a mutation and cannot survive in the wild. Therefore, its existence is wholly dependent on the intervention of man to ensure that it can pollinate and produce seed. The Indians were keenly aware of this and treated corn with a religious dedication found in no other cultures. Furthermore, their attitude toward corn was colored by a desire not to increase its productivity but to preserve its sacred character, for in their eyes it had human qualities.

Something I found out while researching how to grow dent corn for corn flour. There is a disease called Pellagra which is a niacin deficiency caused from a variety of behaviors from alcoholism to living a very restricted or poor nutritional based diet, like living off of only corn. My question was why didn't this disease happen to the native population of America, which their main food source was maize/corn?

Pellagra is making a comeback because of our over processed nutrient zero fast and processed food diets. Also vaccines destroy your gut flora "VACCINE INJURY: First the Gut, Then the Brain," along with fluoride, chlorine other deadly chemicals in our drinking water, billions of pounds of pesticides and herbicides dumped on our food and draining into our waterways, it's no wonder as a population we are becoming mentally and physically ill.

The relationship of pellagra to corn and the low availability of niacin in cereals. Carpenter KJ.

Pellagra is classically described by "the three Ds", diarrhea, dermatitis, dementia.
High sensitivity to sunlight
Aggression
Dermatitis, alopecia (hair loss), edema (swelling)
Smooth, beefy red glossitis (tongue inflammation)
Red skin lesions
Insomnia
Weakness
Mental confusion
Ataxia (lack of coordination), paralysis of extremities, peripheral neuritis (nerve damage)
Diarrhea
Dilated cardiomyopathy (enlarged, weakened heart)
Eventually dementia

Why Did Officials Approve this Bt-toxin Corn Chip that Creates a 'Pesticide Factory' in Your Gut?

Mother Earth's New, Making Massa and why Nixtamalization is so important. A well written recipe on how to lime your dent corn,

  1. You will need a large stockpot
  2. Pickling lime
  3. Dried Organic Corn

Wash and rinse your corn 3 times. For one cup of dry corn you will need 1 tablespoon of pickling lime. Add dried corn to boiling water and lime. You will need to cook the corn for about 15 to 20 minutes until the outer cover of the corn can be slipped off. Check corn after 10 minutes, the more time you boil the corn the tougher the dough will be if you are making tortillas. Remember when corn is done to thoroughly rinse of your corn or the lime will make you sick and you'll be trotting off to the bathroom.

Let corn soak over night before removing the dark end and outer cover. After corn has soaked from 8 to 24 hours in lime water, rinse well and start rubbing the corn with your hands like you are washing you hands with the kernels in between your palms. This should easily pull the outer layer of corn off. This is labor intensive and you will need a lot of patience.

The reasons natives didn't get sick from a diet mostly made up of maize was because of how they processed corn. I don't know how the native population in the Americas figured out that using lime to process corn helped with the digestion processes but they did. Maybe they were more advanced than the history tellers have told us?

Back in the early 1900s the poor African and European people of the south became very sick with a mysterious disease. The story is fascinating and could very well relate to many of the physical and mental illnesses our modern populations are suffering from today. Pellegra and Goldberger vs. The South

photo of, corn patch photo of, Hopi Blue Corn

I had to start my corn inside because the crows kept pulling up the seedlings! The corn that grew the best for me in Eugene Oregon was Hopi Blue and Trucker Yellow. For some reason Truckers yellow, which really isn't that yellow but a variety of yellows and reds in each kernel would produced some cobs that were all red. However the corn once processed was bright yellow. I didn't eat my Hopi blue corn, I saved the seeds for my next garden. I didn't grow my different varieties of corn in the same patch. I grew them on opposite sides of my 2 acre hobby farm and I plant at different times. The easiest way to avoid cross pollination is to plant only one type of corn. I also grew popcorn and had no problem with the corn cross pollinating with my dent corn. Corn easily cross pollinates and you will end up with a bewildering array of hybrid cobs of corn. Three ways to avoid cross pollination.

photo of, Truckers Yellow Dent Corn photo of harvest

Drying corn for storage, I stripped of the the green leaves covering the corn cob and placed my green corn cobs on my patio and let the sun dry them. In Eugene most summers are long and hot. I the stripped of the kernels from the cob using this Metal Hand Corn Sheller.

photo of, Liming corn photo of, cooking limed corn

photo of, cooking corn photo of cooking corn

photo of, washing corn photo of, Washing Corn

photo of, Washing corn photo of grinding corn

You can buy this corn mill just about anywhere online and it's dirt cheap. It takes some elbow grease grinding any grain, but cooked corn is pretty easy to grind compared to something like Kamut primitive wheat. I will write another article on my adventures with this primitive grain.

photo of, drying corn photo of, Milled corn

I dried my cornmeal in the oven and remilled it for a finer type of flour. Much like drying the mash left over from making soy milk.

photo of, Corn Flour photo of Corn Flour Dough

In the upper part of my article I posted some really good recipes making corn tortillas.

photo of, -- photo of, corn flour press

I love my tortilla press, it makes everything so much easier. I can't remember how much this one cost. Nothing fancy, just a caste iron press.

photo of, Corn Flour Dough photo of rolling with flour

photo of, dry pan baking photo of, tortillas

Cooking tortillas is easy, just press out your dough ball, maybe use a rolling pin for thinner tortillas, that's what I do and throw on a hot caste iron pan, no need for grease. Cooking the tortilla takes a few minutes, don't leave because they cook up super quick! With my pure corn tortillas, the smallest ones I cut to make corn chips and sprinkle them with sugar and cinnamon. I bake them in the oven after cooking them in the dry pan at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until crispy. Be sure and check often because each oven is totally different regarding temperature and cooking time.

photo of, corn tortillas photo of corn chips

photo of, baking corn chips photo of lettuce patch

photo of, washing lettuce photo of mincing cilantro

Cilantro, onions, garlic, and lettuce are from my garden. Sour cream was made from the milk I bought from a small farm down the road from where I lived. I have several articles coming on how to make cheese, butter, and sour cream from scratch.

photo of, bean sauce photo of dinner spread

I made beans for my tortillas this time around. I cooked up the onions in tomato juice and reduced the liquid and added the sauce to my beans.

photo of, tortilla photo of bean tortilla

Sort:  

Hello @reddust,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Holy Moly, I'll stop by tomorrow, today is at an end and pillow mountain is calling, thank you so much!

Thank you, I had so much fun and lots of blisters on my hands the first year. I only used a shovel to till the ground.

It was fun, I grew up on a farm so I know the routine...plus I made my own wine ....hahahaha

The wine killed the pain but it made my butt huuuuge! I always had a weight problem, I love sweets....I've done a lot of reading on the immune system and endocrine systems, and our metabolism....cut out all table sugar, I've been totally organic for years, including cutting out alcohol and I lost 50lbs back in 2015, haven't gained it back.

@reddust that's awesome!
I'm avoiding corn because most of them are GMOs these days.
So that's good to know some heirloom corn seeds have survived!
I love corn and when I lived with my grandparents we used to plant sticky white corn in the back yard. Back then there were no GMO corns.

I miss those old days. These days we don't know which corn is GMO and which is not. I wish I had kept my grandparents corn seeds. Unfortunately, when they both died their children didn't continue their work. Only my aunt does gardening now - but not sure the seeds she grows are organic.

I love wraps and tortillas and I only buy them - from the organic stores here - pretty expensive but at least not GMO . Not many people are aware of those GMOs and how they are actually done. It's sad to read posts that have them - but I can't dare tell since we don't want to spoil the fun in eating. My mother has always said - Live and Let Live - but then am I really letting live if I let them eat stuff that would eventually do them harm? My thoughts on that too.

Well, this is the beauty of Steemit - posts like yours pop out and then I could express those very thought. Thank you for being here!

Thank you @englishtchrivy, I won't mention gmos when posting for competitions. However I started getting very sick back in the early 90s with fibromyalgia symptoms. After years of research and experimenting with my diet I found my health is stable when eating the way my ancestors did. Organic wasn't a fad, it was was called food. With the change over to factory farms and medicine our overall mental and physical health as a society has taken a steep decline. I know this is only correlative data, but for me the data has improved my health and quality of life. I can't stay silent even when people tell me I'm a conspiracy theorist and have an eating disorder...yeah people have said this to me in my own family.

@reddust you may - I'm an anarchist - not the type who's just claiming it
so you may - I won't censor you :)
nor think you're a conspiracy theory
I'm open for many things - I have my own filter when it comes to accepting info so for me you may just express yourself.

I am not an anarchist, I am just me...thank you so much!

@reddust exactly - and you can just be that
even on the competition
but if you choose not to - its also okay

I tell the same to my students - just be ;)

My understanding about the pellagra, is that is happens when corn is not nixtamalized as ancient customs always did.

Corn is universally nixtamalized when prepared for consumption as flour. This is a process of soaking corn in an alkaline solution to release niacin (vitamin B 3) and then hulling. Modern corn tortillas, chips, and corn meals have either no corn bran or germ, or have very little corn bran or germ. They also are nixtamalized.

If a food has the entire corn kernel in it, and it has not gone through a thorough fermentation process it probably is very high in anti-nutrients like phytic acid and lectins. I am certain that food products containing the entire corn kernel, either as it is, or as sprouted corn should be avoided.

www.healingourchildren.net/Pregnancy_Diet/whole_grains_pregnancy.htm

Years later it was discovered that the traditional Aztec practice of processing corn with an alkali such as wood ash or lime (called nixtamalization) releases niacin trapped in the outer shell of the kernel.

http://www.foodasmedicine.ca/3-blog/page/11/

I lived in El Salvador for 9 months and the Masa Harina corn flour that they use for tortillas (eaten every day as a staple) was first nixtamalized.
When I have bought Masa Harina up in Canada, it says nixtamalized on the label.

I think that your "pickling lime" and soaking must be accomplishing the same thing. If you skip those steps, you do not have a nutritionally available food.

Yes, exactly, it's the same.

Hi there! This was an awesome post, and now I am craving home made salsa! I make it all summer long, taking from my own garden and a couple of friend's. I'm in NY so unfortunately that season is a long way off, (insert crying emojis ;) Love articles like this, adding you to my list so I don't miss them :)

I made salsa too, ...dang it! Springs just around the corner, I'm making my newspaper seedling pots....oh another posting idea. Thank you @dreemit, I'm adding you to my list too.

When spring does come I will have much more outdoorsy things to post about, haha! I Iive in a beautiful area minus the five dreary months of winter :)

The dreary months are great though, hibernation, creativity, letting the soil rest...I can't wait for your posts about your area, I have to go check out your blog now.

Excellent pos dear friend @reddust, today I have learned something new, thank you very much for all this information, it looks very delicious. Congratulations

I need to do a painting of our corn Goddess to give her thanks for such a wonderful gift. Thank you dear @jlufer.lLegendary Native American Figures: Mother Corn (Atna)

Learning how to grow and cook my own food was like remembering. I think our ancestors memories are stored in our genetic code. Doing these tasks activated my ancestors memories in my genetic code. Part of my family is native American...but that doesn't explain how easy it was to make soba noodles....hahaha, I don't think my family tree carries any Asian bloodlines.

The more the world advances, more and more we return to our origins, there was the key, excellent post dear friend, thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47