My Search For the Best Burger in Bangkok (Part 3)

in #food8 years ago

This weekend I took the opportunity to check out another hyped burger joint in town. If you've been following my posts, you may have seen that so far Junker & Bar, and Fat Gutz, both lived up to expectations and are delivering some high quality in the burger department, with me putting The "Junker & Bar" burger slightly better. So how did the burgers at "Chang Surf Bar"" stack up?



Chang Surf Bar @ Flow House

The Chang Surf Bar is a part of the Flow House Complex in downtown Bangkok, which creates an urban beach in the middle of the city. Flow House is built around it simulated wave-surfing machine, which draws people of all ages. (I'll review this in another post, today is about the burger). In addition to the waves, it also has a popular bar and restaurant area and often caters live music acts.


The Flow Bacon/Cheese Burger


Unfortunately, the burger just didn't cut it. Is it better than your average burger? Yes! But it pales in comparison to the 2 previous burgers I reviewed for a variety of reasons. Firstly the meat, was a little dry and lacked the fat content of a good juicy burger. I couldn't discern if it was a home-made paddy or mass produced like many other ingredients.

I ordered the bacon/cheese burger and instead of lavish dripping rashes, I had to pull it apart to find a few small sliced pieces sparingly layed upon the cheese. The cheese appeared to be a processed cheese slice which had turned into some form of plasticy liquid goo by the time it made it to my table, and the sauce was quite clearly just BBQ sauce from the bottle. There was a dirty piece of old lettuce thrown into the mix for some colour. All of this was served with some packet fries. Overall, it was satisfactory but far from exceptional, however, it was only 299 Baht ($8.50US) making it a little cheaper than the other two. However, it falls firmly into 3rd place for now, and would require some major changes to the ingredients to shift up.


RESULTS

1st Place - Junker & Bar: Double Beef Wagyu Burger

2nd Place - Fat Gutz: Binzy Beef Burger

3rd Place: Chang Surf Bar: Flow Bacon/Cheese Burger


I will attempt to review a new burger each week in my continued search for the best burger in Bangkok. I hope you enjoyed this review. Please check out some of my other food posts.


Tuna California Rolls
Phuket Beer
Brothers Toffee Apple Cider
Squid Takayoki
Matcha Green Tea Shake
Tokyo Teppanyaki
Spanish Omelette
Hen and the Egg, Breakfast
Sunset Cocktail with a view
Korean Bingsu
Volcano Cocktail
Tartinettes
Wine Tasting
Peking Duck
Hamburger
Texas BBQ
Mexican
More Mexican
Thai Pork Larb
Foie Gras
Dessert



Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

it is indeed my noble quest ;)

Look amazing. I love burgers! :) Cheers

I want to eat a burger now! The delicious pictures really made me hungry ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

not all heroes wear capes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56