Life's Guilty Pleasures and The Best Foie Gras outside of France.

in #food8 years ago

You know a restaurant takes their Foie Gras seriously, when it gets its own menu. And so it is at Metis in Seminyak, Bali.


My Confession:

I have a few guilty indulgences in life, and I must admit that Foie Gras is one of them. I spent nearly a year living on a farm in the South-West of France, and during this time I developed a taste for 2 locally produced items, Armagnac, and Foie Gras. Nowadays, they are both a rare treat, but the rumour of high quality Foie Gras is enough to have me salivating like one of Pavlov's dogs.

Armagnac and Foie gras with Prunes in France

image source: shopify.com

Metis

I had been told that there was a restaurant in Bali, which had become somewhat legendary amongst locals and visitors alike for serving some exquisite Foie Gras. I made the trip to Metis Fine Dining for lunch with a close friend who is somewhat of a food connoisseur himself. He had been before, and was quietly smiling as they presented me with the Foie Gras Menu.


The Foie Gras Menu at Metis


Choices...

Choices, choices, choices. It was difficult, however in the end I couldn't go past the pan-seared Foie Gras. Not only was it their specialty, but also a personal favourite of mine. In Metis they serve it with thinly sliced roasted apples and Morello Cherries and then drizzled with a port and raspberry reduction. The flavours match superbly with each one complimenting and highlighting the other. The meaty texture of the Foie Gras was grilled to perfection and the entire dish reminded me just how heavenly good food could be. The crispy fat on the edge not dissimilar to that on steak, and softer and melting on the inside...So creamy and smooth it almost takes on buttery qualities. Words cannot do it justice.

The Pan-Seared Foie Gras with Roasted Apples & Cherries


The Verdict:

Did I enjoy it? Very Much. Did it live up to its reputation? Totally. Now its just a matter of when I can back for another delicious helping. If you are in Bali, be sure to check out Metis, for this and other amazing French food. I can't recommend it highly enough.

image source: www.megapixl.com

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

ah...i have it so rarely. could be a good thing though. it's like i forget the taste every time before i try it again, and always pleasantly reminded :)

yummy!!! foie gras!! one of the greatest food in the world!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01