More Amazing Mexican food makes it to Bangkok.

in #food8 years ago
Cocktail de Camarones: A fresh shrimp salad, sauteed' with local tamarind paste, tomato and Habanero.

This is not a dish that I would usually order. The shrimp in many Bangkok restaurants is devoid of flavour and texture, so I usually choose something else. BUT....this was real shrimp, you could slice your knife through it and it was firm and fresh. I love tamarind, especially when it is used as a paste in cooking, this is when i think it is at its sticky sweet best. With a consistency somewhere between a jam and a butter, it is devine. Throw in some organic tomatoes to give the sauce some body, and a touch of Habanero for the burn.

Now, this particular restaurant are so proud of the sting in the tail of their Habanero that it is served in a syringe with your meal so that you may dose it out in miniscule amounts until your tongue burns. As my wife is Thai and loves everything spicey and I'm game we gave it a good squirt. The burn for me, was amazing, it wasn't that traditional chilli burn I am used to in Thailand but a more subtle slow sting in the tail, and it was devine.

Who would have thought that quality Mexiacn would have made it across the Pacific, but it did, its here. I have also posted about this topic here:

Tacos de Placeros
Bangkok Artisan's market


I am Verified


Follow me, I always follow back

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Sounds Yummy To Me!

I am so jealous. It's a crazy phenomena, there is no mexican food here in the south of Chile. In fact, the Chilenos work diligently to avoid and association with Mexico. So, there you are in Bankok with one of my favorite cuisines. Happy for you - LOL -

STEEM ON!

For many years, there was no decent Mexican in Bangkok, it was like a wasteland. We are lucky now, there are at least 5 good options to choose from. This is my newest discovery and quickly becoming my favourite!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56