Japanese Takoyaki Fried Squid Balls

in #food7 years ago (edited)


I have to admit, that as I walked through the gourmet market in Bangkok, I was spoilt for food choices. What did I want to eat? The choices were all there, from my western comfort foods such as gourmet pies or fish and chips, through to Vietnamese fresh spring rolls or Freshly shucked French oysters. But then something caught my eye...



Yes, it was a Japanese woman, all dressed in black and wearing a facemask. Not only that but she was enthusiastically taking to something with a blowtorch! What was she cooking? Like a moth, I was drawn to the flame and intrigued. As soon as I discovered they were fried squid balls I was sold. I love Squid and I love trying new food.


Takoyaki

Takoyaki is a popular street food throughout Japan, and has been for about 80 years. Takoyaki is a popular Japanese snack food that originated in Osaka. They are essentially small battered balls, and inside them are octopus, some green onion, and pickled ginger. Then dolloped on top is a special sauce which is a mixture of Worcestershire and mayonnaise. Add some small seaweed strips and a generous serving of fish row.


Preparing the Takoyaki


At first I was skeptical, but then I was like WOW. These were amazing.


The Taste

The squid inside is just a little bit chewy, and the batter tastes similar to what you would find on a corndog (dagwood dog), The sauces add a sweetness, and the seaweed a little bitter. Like most Japanese foods, each piece contributed to the taste of the whole. I quickly ate 6 and resisted the temptation to go back for more. I feel this particular treat is best enjoyed in small doses.


Check out my other food posts:
Hen and the Egg, Breakfast
Sunset Cocktail with a view
Korean Bingsu
Volcano Cocktail
Tartinettes
Wine Tasting
Peking Duck
Hamburger
Texas BBQ
Mexican
More Mexican
Thai Pork Larb
Foie Gras
Dessert



Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I love Takoyaki! Looks yummy

woah
never seen anything like that..

me neither until now. But I like finding and trying new food.

You wrote Takoyaki right in the headline and then wrong (Takayoki) several times O.o

Arg I am now getting hungry :(

(Edit) Fixed thanks ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87