My Delicious Korean Bingsu

in #food8 years ago

Bingsu is a dessert From Korea which is particular popular in the Summer months. Although it has many variations, it basically is comprised of shaved ice/milk, sweet condensed milk, fruits, and often red beans. From my experience most Asian countries have their own form of this type of dessert, such as the "Ice Kachang" in Malaysia. However, I think the Koreans take it to another level with the presentation.

My 1st time trying this delicious Korean treat. So many flavours I would need to choose wisely:

Mango Bingsu


Green Tea Bingsu


Chocolate & Banana Bingsu


Strawberry Bingsu


Melon Bingsu


What is Bingsu?


My Choice

They all looked great but I ended up choosing the melon Bingsu, mainly because I liked the idea that bowl it was served in was the actual melon from which it was made. I was intrigued by the process of making this treat, and I documented it for you:


* The Milk


This is the milk that it lightly whipped and then frozen in cylindrical tubes. It will be used to make the shaved milk-ice in the next step.


* The Shaved Ice Machine and my Melon.


Here you can see my half melon placed into the machine ready to be filled with the delicious shaved ice. You can see the freshly made milk in the background waiting to be frozen.


* The Frozen cylinder of milk is placed into the machine and the press is lowered onto the top of it


* The Shaved milk-goodness falls out the bottom into my melon



* Carefully Shaping my Treat


The ice is gently pressed into the melon in a conical shape


* Condensed Milk and Melon Balls


At this point, a genereous serving of sweetened condensed milk is poured over the shaved ice and the melon balls are placed onto the treat.


* Finished Melon Balls and Ice-cream


Balls of melon are carefully placed in a conical shape. Then a dollop of fresh buttermilk ice-cream completes my pyramid of cullinary pleasure.


* More Condensed Milk and Almonds


To finish it off, it get another good squirt of condensed milk and some thinly sliced almonds


* Melon Bingsu Ready to Eat


And there is it in all its glory. It almost looked to good to eat but I did eat it, all by myself. Honestly with the sweetest and size of this it is probably a dessert better for 2 people. Still it was cool, refreshing and sweet on a hot afternoon. Now I'll just have to try all the different varieties.


If you enjoyed this, then please check out some of my other food posts:
Double Wagyu Burger
Volcano Cocktail @ PotatoHead Beach Club
Wine Tasting
Peking Duck
Hamburger
Texas BBQ
Mexican
More Mexican
Thai Pork Larb
Foie Gras
Dessert


Be Sure to Follow, I Follow Back!

Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I love a green tea bingsu. yum-yum

Very cool, maybe you will be interested in my work

Are you a bot?

This looks nice! Can we find them in winter?

Yes, you should be able to get them year-round

Although I have already visited Korea many times, I have never tested the sweet stuff (am not feeling attracted actually). But next time (in 2 months :p) I will try!

You had me hooked with the Mango Bingsu. Thank you for showing how the Bingsu is made @bkkshadow. A great article to read.

I'm a big mango fan, so its the next on my hit list

excellent post beautiful pictures congratulations are delicious

Thanks, All the pics were taken on my iPhone.

@bkkshadow - yum!
Mogo shipta!
We have this in the Philippines - more of a halo - halo - like your traditional 팥빙수.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41