Is this the Best Burger in Bangkok?

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Every so often, usually after a few beers, the topic of where to find the best burger in Bangkok will be raised. It is a popular topic among Ex-pats and one that is bound to result in some heated debate. While the outright winner often comes down to personal preference, the burgers at "Fat Gutz Saloon" invariably make the short-list for many.


FullSizeRender46ff52.jpg


As I had a bit of a hangover this morning and a hunger for something greasy, a burger seemed like just the tonic, so I made my was across town to try out the "Fat Gutz Binzy Beef Burger". I had not eaten one before and was eagerly anticipating it on this balmy Sunday in Bangers. At 400 baht or about $12, the burger isn't cheap, but I wasn't after cheap, I was after good.

There is nothing particularly fancy or unique about the burger they serve, it is simply a homemade beef patty dolloped with fat onion rings, cheesy cheddar and their own home-made spicey ketchup. The beef patty was cooked to perfection and had just the right amount of beef flavour and fat, which meant that it crumbled without falling apart. It was seared on the outside yet still moist and a little pink on the inside. The bun was dense and just a little sweet. The cheddar contributed to the flavour without being overbearing, as did the fried onion rings. A little bit of fresh tomato and lettuce rounded it out. Overall, the blend of the burger was just about perfect. I must admit, I was pretty hungry so I devoured it without giving it too much thought. It was served with a side of home-made Fries, which were also pretty good.


FullSizeRender3f223e.jpg


So is it the best burger in Bangkok? I'm not sure, but I can say it is far from the worst. For now I will put this delicious little treat in my top 5 of burgers and get back to you after I've sampled a few more of the competitors.


FullSizeRender5298f2.jpg


If you are interested in: Food, travel, Asia, Animals follow me for regular steemit posts


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

Anything about Bangkok, I upvote!

Be sure to follow me, I post regularly about Bangkok as I live here :)

Where?! Sukhumvit Soi 11 is the ONLY place I stay at whenever I go over.

How's the situation since the king passed on?

I live in Sathorn. The situation is a bit strange at the moment, and I expect it will continue to be for a little while yet. Soi 11 is great although a lot of the old favourites are being kicked out to make way for new developments ...

Strange? Like how?

Yeah one of the stretches of bars and eateries are gonna be taken down soon :(

lots of people dealing with his death in different ways. It will take some time for them to move one.

Yeah the little back soi with Cheap Charlies is going :( sad

Congrats on your curie mention - STEEM ON!

This made me get up from behind my computer and go get a burger ... in china

Any decent burgers to be had in China?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55