What is Manaia?

in #fantasy5 years ago (edited)

MANAIA COLOUR MAP.jpg


Manaia is a fictional world which I am in the process of creating and enriching. My intention is for this world, as it evolves, to serve as a free-to-use universe for authors and creative types who are looking for inspiration, but who lack the time or even the will to go the lengths of creating an entire world.

Any are permitted to use Manaia as a springboard for their creative projects, short stories or novels, and needn't worry about me tracking them down to sue them for it. While it would be great if any who did make use of the world directed their readers back to this blog, it is not by any means mandatory and I will take enough pleasure knowing that my creation was able to spark the imagination of any fellow authors.

Above is the current version of the map, but I do intend to add a lot more to it as I progress. I also intend to write more about the cities, religions, key-characters and landmarks, and also to create a proto-language for the world and derive from it several distinct and entirely unique languages for the different cultures to be found in Manaia.

Eventually, when I feel that my world and its history have been enriched enough, the next step will be to use Manaia as the setting for a fiction series that's been developing in my mind for some years, which I intend to call Sons of Gods. The series will be comprised of three parts, starting with Oaths and Offerings, then Usurper, and coming to a close with the third and final part, Good and Evil.

In the meantime, any who feel inspired to write a story set in Manaia, a poem or song, or even produce a piece of artwork relating to something or someone from within the world, please feel free to do so. I am also open to constructive criticism, suggestions or aid from other creative types in making this world as interesting and as useful as possible. Given the magnitude and complexity of the task ahead of me, I also expect to make many mistakes in continuity, most likely in relation to the timeline I am creating for the world - so if you come across any discrepancies then do not shy away from letting me know what you've found.

While I intend to rename all if not most locations once I have created a language for this world, the current names will remain in use, but become lesser known names for the locations utilised by a specific culture. So please don't feel dissuaded from creating something for the world because it may change later. It is entirely possible that, with permission, I will implement elements taken from the stories of other authors into Manaia.

I expect this to be an incredibly long journey that has only just begun, so I invite you all to take part in the journey with me.



DIGITAL PAINTBRUSH RESOURCES
https://www.deviantart.com/morraey/art/Map-Brushes-449750567
https://www.deviantart.com/captscott/art/Fantasy-Brush-Pack-01-191047320
https://www.deviantart.com/charfade/art/The-Ultimate-Grass-Brush-Set-108728221
https://www.deviantart.com/larrydnjr/art/larrydnjr-Tree-Brush-Set-24927418
https://www.brusheezy.com/brushes/1312-complete-tree-brush-pack
https://www.cartographersguild.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49




Explore Manaia

Euchao, Wetlands, Aneyes, Shevarah, Kafa, Primeria, Karadam, Zarakash, Agamar, The Alochian Kingdoms, Kazemi, Sobanism, Decideism, Gavaho, Shipeva, The Switchery, Sin Tax, Keepership, Amanism, Peresi, Anakai, Firee, Zeerah, Beerah, Dayre, Merkh, Sherishemi, Keren, Kuzu.



Manaia is a free-to-use universe for authors and creators, and the set of the upcoming fantasy series, Sons of Gods.

Sort:  

This is a really cool idea! Very creative and I wish you well with your efforts.

Also.. Maybe there could be some kind of collaboration here with our IFC project? I'm not sure how.. Though I feel like maybe there could be a way we could work together. Our IFC gameworld has a virtual imaginary sort of world where our players call home and a planet and cities and stuff like that yet we don't have any map or anything like that.. Would be pretty cool if we did, and maybe we will at some point. I've thought about such kinds of things before though never really got into the details. Though your project here certainly sparked my imagination and curiosity again and it's something to think about. Good luck with your project!

I'd very much like to collaborate in one regard or another. What specifically did you have in mind?

Have you considered adopting a general license for the setting so that people know exactly what they can and cannot do with it?

I am not in any way knowledgeable about this type of thing. What difference would it make to me simply saying do whatever you want with it?

It just makes it more legally official.

Creative Commons produces a variety of licenses, but I find them to be overkill and sometimes too overbearing.

I use my own for my games.

https://steemit.com/tabletop-games/@loreshapergames/a-truly-free-license

Thanks for the advice. It would be good to make the project seem a bit more official rather than just some random dude's blog (even if that is what it is lol).

I will look into this when I have finished writing about the remaining cities and ahead of reimagining the map.

Congratulations @lordless.exile! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35