A Bird's Eye Collection of Healthy Eats Volume 1 | by Mme Oiseau

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

DE5C1C63-8DD5-4B3F-9FEB-5576FF975C05.jpeg

A Birds Eye Collection of Healthy Eats Volume 1


by Mme Oiseau


-Forward-


When I first heard about blockchain it took me a while to really understand the implications. Like most of us, the term was completely unfamiliar to me. One phrase often used to describe it is "immutable ledger." To me that phrase has slowly developed magical connotations.

In February 2018, I finally onboarded my mom, @birdsinparadise, aka Mrs or even Grandma Bird (pen name Mme Oiseau), onto the Steem blockchain. I knew her creativity would spark! I had also experienced and grown exponentially with such a creative, kind and supportive community (difficult to find on the internet) and I hoped she would gather one as well and grow to love it. Shortly after joining, she asked me what her niche should be. She was concerned she hadn't found it yet. As her daughter and as a human, I found incredible value in her posts and encouraged her to just keep going because I knew that consistency is the name of the game in gathering a community on Steem, as well as getting to know yourself and your passions as a content creator.

As time went on, Mme Oiseau developed a keen eye for Food blogging. I had always known that my mom was an incredible cook and loved making nutritious meals for our family since I was a kid. She soon got a digital camera with a high powered lens and the rest is really history. Her recipes make me drool and think Wow! I never thought of that before! Soon the notion of an immutable ledger started to take on grander connotations for me.

I realized that what my mom was compiling on the daily was not just a fun retirement hobby, although I'm glad she has found that, but it was also a store of recipes for her great, great grandchildren. It is a permanent recollection of her spirit through one of the ways she shares her joy and love for us in the form of cooking. I have seen her creativity blossom in these quick months that she has been posting nearly every day.

The Steem blockchain is different things to many people, but for our family and the generations that follow, I delight in witnessing my mom enjoy herself, flex and hone her creative muscles and interact with dozens of Steemians while earning cryptocurrency.

This is a digital heirloom that will extend into the future.

We came up with the idea to collect all of her recipes in an organized manner when I was given the assignment to collaborate with another Steemian as a part of this season's @sndbox incubator. We initially tried to publish through @Dbooks.org, a DApp on the Steem blockchain, but encountered difficulties. Hopefully we will be able to publish her organized recipes into chapters with pictures soon on a DApp. In the meantime, we're slowly cataloguing all of the amazing recipes into "Draft Posts" like the ones you see here.

These are highly resteemable posts that everyone really should bookmark. My mom, Mme Oiseau, has truly come up with some healthy, practical, ingenious, tasty and gorgeous recipes. Without further ado, I present Volume 1 to you.

Sincerely,
@mountainjewel


Volume 1


@lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday


A wonderful collection of recipes which are Vegan, Gluten Free and full of healthy Fruits and Vegetables!


raspberrypomegranate.jpg

Raspberry-Pomegranate Fig Bars
Yummy Carrot Cake Balls! | Use that Juice Pulp
Snappy Tabbouleh Salad
Blooming Blueberry Protein Balls
Orange Harissa Carrot Tapis with Curried Chickpea Flatbread
Sunny Morning Breakfast Parfait
Spicy Watermelon Salsa with Chips!
Refreshing Watermelon Rhubarb Smoothie!
Roasted Potato Salad with Spiced Avocado Dressing


@jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest


Don't you love a good sandwich? Whether grilled or chilled, always a great standby meal!


grouper.jpg

Spicy Grouper with Saucy Shrooms!
Hoosier Tenderloin on Sesame Cauliflower Flatbread
Spicy Grilled Thighs-n-Guac!
Curry Lamburger with Goat Cheese and Pickled Cucs!
Popeye’s Power Sandwich
Legendary Blue Cheese Bison with sautéed Shitake Onions
Greek Gyros with Tzatziki Sauce!
Red Wine Spicy Italian Calzones


A Liquid Dose of Sunshine


What a great way to start your day! A healthy juice or smoothie packed with fruits and vegetables. Something for everyone in your family. Just a few of my favorites!

gogogoji.jpg

A Go go Goji Friday Smoothie
Liquid Dose of Citrus Surprise!
Magical Maca | The Powerful Pear Smoothie!
A Liquid Dose of Sunshine! Pink Ginger Guava Juice
Purple Power Super Hero Smoothie
A Liquid Dose of Goji Sunshine!
A Liquid Dose of Tropical Sunshine
A Liquid Dose of Sunshine! Maqui Magic!


DIY Don’t Buy It, Make it yourself!


Yes you can! There are so many processed foods at the market you can make yourself. Save money, along with eliminating the additives. And, it's fresh!


QmYRyCjJHGGHc3aYrjr5D2z9syoh1eQi8UARpnQaqHPQv2.jpeg


DIY | Fall Harvest Maple Butternut Butter (pictured above)
DIY | Smarter Consumer | Make your own Coconut Butter
The Smart Consumer! Why Buy it? Organic Coconut Milk
Healthy Snacks for the Road!
Got Milk? DIY Cashew Milk
Green Bananas and Flour? What is the Connection?
Nut milk | It all Began With a Trip to the Coffee Shop | Hazelnuts
DIY | Making your own Granola
DIY |Why pay $6 for Apple Cider Vinegar | Don’t throw away those Apple Cores either!


When my daughter @mountainjewel suggested I join Steemit, I must admit I was skeptical. Not being a social media fan I was sure this would not work. Boy was I wrong. The wonderful friends I have made during my short time here have been wonderful. I have learned, shared, laughed and cried with my Steemit community. From Fruits and Veggies Monday with dear @lenasveganliving to The Steemit Sandwich contest with Sandwich King @jaybird, all are so kind. The are always raising the bar, challenging us to learn more about what we all love, cooking! The friendships I have made and kindness I have received from @thesteemengine and @steemusa has been heartwarming. The Steemit positive energy is infectious! Thank you to you all!


We all wish to leave a legacy to future generations. The blockchain will be a legacy forever. Steemit has started something amazing leading into the future. I love to share, and @mountainjewel's suggestion to leave my love for healthy cooking, laughter and fun on the blockchain is a true honor for me. Hopefully this volume is the first of many to come!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

Cover photo adapted from this recipe

Sort:  

Wow, that's a great story! Glad you found a groove here and sharing such delicious things (and other things).I myself am not a social media fan but here I am! Ha.... What an experience so far. Looking forward to more~

I thank you so much @eonwarped! Somehow the kindness here brings out people like us! It feels welcoming, I too am looking forward to sharing more and enjoying the TSE community! :)

This is beautiful! I’m glad your daughter got you to stick with Steemit because you are truly an asset to the community. Your recipes are always inspiring and now I know how you get those perfect pictures too 😉. Really, the community wouldn’t be the same without you @birdsinparadise. I’m happy to call you my friend. When you ladies find a good way of storing your recipes in an organized way, I’m sure the entire cooking community would want to know how…

Ditto my friend! You touched my heart with your kind and truly inspiring words. I look forward to your comments :) I feel likewise about you, you too are an integral part of this foodie community. We have fun don't we, I am constantly amazed about the wonderful people here, including YOU! Thank you @puravidaville!

Oh you deserve it @birdsinparadise. Thank you for the compliment. We do have fun here! Lucky husbands who get to eat up all of our delicious creations… life is good :) We all seem to have constant full bellies, good health and great friends here, I’d say we have a great time indeed 😉.

Wowy my friend Mme Oiseau, you're a step ahead! I've also been wanting to do this but still have not gotten round to compiling my steemit recipe book, congratulations and look forward to when you publish on DApp! Your recipes are all fabulous and so healthy too!

@mountainjewel was the brainchild. It is a fun idea, Hopefully we can do something on DApp...I think it is indeed the future! Thank you my friend. I can't wait to see your steemit book, it'll be a start!

She put together such a great list :)

Thank you @tatoodjay, she wrote the sweet forward and I did the rest..she wanted to collaborate together for Sndbox... ideas for advancing the Steem technology. It was fun, hopefully there will be a volume 2! :)

Thats so cool your working with her like this ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 283 (10/16/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66