Health | Green Bananas and Flour? What is the Connection?

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8197 (2).JPG

Good day my Steemian friends! Have you ever eaten a green banana? Probably not, and if you have you know they taste horrible! But did you know that bananas are useful when they are green?


We have several family members who are gluten intolerant. As a result I am always trying to find ingredients to use which are gluten free. For those of you who bake as I do, you know this can often be difficult as many recipes will not work as well without gluten!


There are more and more alternatives for gluten free baking but they can be expensive right? Well, I have come across another alternative!


Using Green Bananas!


Banana flour has been around for many years, predominately used in Africa and South America due to the massive quantity of bananas grown. It is considered an inexpensive alternative to wheat flour.


Even better, banana flour has also been studied and found to be a very healthy alternative for those with gluten intolerance, obesity, diabetes and colon cancer! This is due to the fact that banana flour is a starch resistant flour. Starch resistant means the stomach does not absorb it as well and as a result allows the food to pass easily through the system much like insoluble fiber and digest slowly like soluble fiber.


Banana flour can be used raw in smoothies, as a thickening agent and in baking. When using banana flour for wheat you generally use about 25% less than the recipe requires!


todaysjourney.jpg

Banana Flour!


So easy to make!

  • Slice GREEN bananas and place on dehydrator trays or parchment lined oven trays. I used my dehydrator but you can do this in your oven on the lowest setting! (Just keep a close eye on them).
    IMG_8200 (2).JPG
  • Dehydrate overnight on fruit setting If you are using an oven, check after a couple of hours, should be brittle when dry!

DSC_0059 (2).jpg

  • Remove from trays and place in your blender, blend until flour consistency.

DSC_0062 (1) (2).jpg

  • It’s really that easy!
    DSC_0072 (2).jpg
  • And, I made these! They're packed with healthy goodness! Stay tuned…I’ll be sharing the recipe with you!
    IMG_8180 (2).JPG

Thanks for stopping by! I would love to hear your banana flour recipes!

And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

who are you and what happened to my mother?

banana flour??! you are the most innovative person on steemit right now! seriously this is amazing! i'm very impressed!

Hehehe...you are too sweet, my biggest fan oxoxox. Love sharing with others. I'm having fun! Thanks so much :)

Oh My Word! What a blessing you are today. I don't have gluten issues ... I'm allergic to the wheat germ!!

We have all the tools needed to make this happen. My husband is exploring his cooking options for small batch productions. (possible business op here in Kentucky) Myself and some of our friends are also wanting him to get a catering license. So. We'll get back to you with our ups and downs on this for sure!

Blessings to you! I am glad to help, that is why I am here! I would love to hear how this helps you. I am always looking for ways to live a healthier life and share with others. Be well!

Tada! Oh my oh my what a gem this is. I have to tag @janton here since this can work for keto won't it?

Beautiful share. Thanks again. I'll bookmark this for sure.

Thank you! I know it works with gluten intolerance, diabetes...I don't know anything about keto! I like having multiple options to use when cooking without gluten! Hope this helps your friend!! Be well!

I have tried baking with all types of gluten free flours but never green banana. What a terrific idea. I'll have to try it. Thank you for sharing @birdsinparadise.

I know, I was surprised when I came across a package of banana flour. After I bought it I researched and found out all about it...and when I tried making my own. Just so easy, I had to share. Thanks @loveself!

Wow, I never knew how easy it was to make banana flour. My friends sister is gluten intolerant and he's always looking for new things for her to try, she loves baking but as you said in the post it can be a challenging. Not only will I give this to my friend to try but I myself will be trying it shortly. Thank you for posting this its easy to do, informative, presentation is done very well, and I can not wait for that recipe! :)

You are too sweet! Have fun with it, experiment! You will enjoy it! Good luck to your friend! I'll get that recipe posted soon. :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-06T23:03:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 485.75/200.00
Total Photos: 78
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93