Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #54 | Spicy Grouper with Saucy Shrooms!

DSC_0087 (2).jpg

Ahoy my Steemian Sandwich creators!


It’s week 54 of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest.


This week I’m feeling the pull of the ocean! Grouper! It’s a very popular fish here in Southwestern Florida. In fact there is restaurant downtown which musician Ted Nugent loves to frequent when he is in town called Grouper and Chips. They serve beer battered Grouper and Chips! A local favorite!


Grouper is found in the Gulf of Mexico. It is a large fish which can weigh up to 800 pounds! That's a lot of fish, right?


Today I thought I would share a Grouper recipe with you! But first I want to thank our King of Sandwiches @jaybird for hosting this contest! It’s great to see the creativity and new Steemians each week! Good luck to all!


todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Grouper and Saucy Shrooms!


Ingredients

  • Fresh Grouper
  • Corn Meal
  • Almond Milk
  • Sriracha Sauce
  • Butter Potatoes
  • Sea Salt and Pepper
  • Cumin
  • Chili Powder
  • Garlic Powder
  • Onion Powder
  • Mayonaise
  • Wickles Relish
  • Fresh Lemon
  • My Homemade Apple Cider Vinegar
  • My uber favorite Ciabatta Roll

Prep


I washed and spiralized the potatoes and placed them in cold water until time to fry them up! The spiralizer also produced some cute Shrooms!

DSC_0020 (2).jpg


Mix the Salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder and onion powder to make a wonderful season salt for the spiral fries! Set aside. Fry up the spirals, season and cover them to keep them warm.


Now for the grouper! Wash the grouper and cut into nice sandwich size fliets.


DSC_0041 (2).jpg


Place Cornmeal in one bowl, Almond milk and another bowl and Flour seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder in a third.


DSC_0031 (2).jpg

  • First dip the filet in flour, dip in almond milk and roll in corn meal. Place in fryer and fry until golden brown.

  • I mixed 3 tablespoons mayo with wickless relish. Spread light layer on toasted Roll. Slice up the lemon!

  • Place cooked filet on roll, drizzle with cider vinegar, top with spiralized fries and add the Sriracha sauce!

Voila! You have it! Spicy Grouper and Saucy Shrooms!


DSC_0059 (2).jpg

A super Grouper sandwich! I hope you’ll try it!

DSC_0071 (2).jpg

You’ll have to visit sometime my friends!


DSC_0094 (2).jpg

Thanks again @jaybird, another super week of Steemit Sandwich Contest!

And as always, blessings to all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

I just love fish so this sandwich would do more than just fine by me, love the spiral fries too! Great presentation as always granny Bird;)

I see we both were in the mood for fish this week :) So much creativity going around. Thank you for your sweet comment, I am so appreciative :)

Right now I could sink my teeth into this sandwich. Grouper is one of my favorite fishes. It's meaty and mild in taste. I like all the different spices in the breading and the extra crunch from the spiralized potatoes is ingenious.

So glad you like it@loveself! Grouper is indeed meaty but yet mild. Thank you for such sweet comments, I would love it if I could send one your way! :)

I'm very much into this ;)

love the spiralized potatoes being in the sandwich, and of course a good crispy fish can do no wrong. Great choice of spices and sauces. Love the pres too. Looks soo freakin' delicious. I could go for a greasy sandwich right now!

Nice backstory about The Nuge !

Glad you liked it @jaybird! It was indeed crispy, and cooking with peanut oil, not at all greasy :) Thanks for the encouraging words, thanks for stopping by!

oh, interesting peanut oil. I guess I always assume anything breaded/fried is greasy :)

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks so much! Your generosity is much appreciated!

Now grouper I like and I love the way you have prepared and presented it :)

Yay, glad you liked it! Was fun to prep @tatoodjay, you should try it as well :) Thanks for stopping by

@birdsinparadise It is bookmarked to try some day :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-19T20:12:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 706.75/200.00
Total Photos: 112
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36