Fruits and Veggies Monday Week #47 | Spicy Watermelon Salsa with Chips!

DSC_0048 (1) (2).jpg

Good day my Fruits and Veggies Friends! These weeks just fly by don’t they? It would be nice if everything would slow down a bit!


The weather has been warm and during the weekend we often like to have a nice appetizer. Sometimes in place of dinner! Knowing Fruits and Veggies Monday was right around I thought it was a perfect time to make a Fruit and Veggie Salsa with chips!

But not just any Salsa!!!


But before I say more, I want to thank @lenasveganliving for hosting another great week of Fruits and Veggies Monday! Week 47!! Also, a big thanks to our sponsors @progressivechef, @donkeypong and @helene. We couldn’t do this without your support! This contest is a wonderful opportunity for learning as well as sharing food for healthy living. Week 46 winner @rawadventuress will be the guest judge this week. Best wishes to her! There are so many fine entries each week i am sure it will be tough to choose just one winner!


As I said earlier, not your usual salsa… I thought I would share a healthy spicy Watermelon Salsa (yes Watermelon!) which I think you’ll love. We even made our own chips! They are so easy to prepare, you’ll never buy them again!
todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Watermelon Salsa and Chips!

I used

  • Watermelon
  • 1 Jalapeno Pepper
  • 2 Mangoes
  • 2 Green Onions
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 2 cloves of Fresh Garlic
  • Lime
  • 1 tablespoon Maple Syrup
  • 1 tablespoon Sriracha Sauce
  • Salt/Pepper (to taste)
  • Fresh Basil (chopped)
  • Fresh Corn Tortillas
  • Coconut Oil

Prep!

  • Dice Watermelon, Mangoes, Green Onions and Cucumber and place in bowl. Mince the garlic and add to mixture. Dice the Jalapeno Pepper I used ½ of the Jalapeno Pepper but if you’re feeling bold, use the whole pepper!
    DSC_0032 (2).jpg
  • Zest and juice the Lime! Add to fruit along with Maple syrup, Sriracha, and Basil. Mix well and refrigerate until well chilled.
    DSC_0033 (2).jpg

Making the tortilla chips is so easy!

  • Brush each tortilla lightly with Coconut Oil. Make sure you get the edges so they don’t dry out.

DSC_0005 (1) (2).jpg

  • I used about 8 tortillas today, stacking each one after applying oil. Using a large knife cut the tortillas in to wedge shapes. Lay the wedges on a lightly oiled baking sheet and lightly salt. Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Remember to remove immediately from baking sheet as they continue to cook!
    DSC_0007 (1) (2).jpg

And now enjoy!

DSC_0049 (1) (2).jpg


This was soooo satisfying! Seriously, you could just eat it with a spoon! And knowing the ingredients are all good for you! Sweets with a little spice! I hope you’ll try it!

Thanks again @lenasveganliving for another great week of Fruits and Veggies!

And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, I only wish I would have this right now my Dear. Soooooooo delicious and such a lovely presentation 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Oh my, thank you my friend. You are so kind, made me smile. I wish you were here, I would love to share it with you! Planning to see the little ones this week?

Always a pleasure.............oh my gosh I miss the big news last month!!!

Oh my goodness, Yes! you must have missed it. He was born June 13, and my, my what a blessing. I shared about it in posts but my daughter wasn't comfortable with sharing his face on Steemit. All went well, an amazing experience to be there with your daughter. Thank you for asking!

Last time I checked, the baby was due and after that I don't know what happened, I am so sorry, but CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am very happy for you. I was just scrolling down your page and I found your posts. To bad we can't see him. Nevertheless, enjoy your time with your little grandson and your family and I do my best keeping an eye on your updates, lol.

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

I love love love this recipe. Using watermelon is an awesome idea for a salsa and I love that you baked the tortillas.
I have tortillas sitting in the fridge and I almost threw them out because I'm tired of tacos. I know what to do now. Thank you my friend!

You are too kind, thank you! I know you would love it, (and a great salsa for tacos too) :) I wasn't kidding when I said you could eat it with a spoon! Be sure to keep a close eye on the chips in the oven....they brown faster than you think!

Thanks I 'm doing it today!

I don't know that I've had watermelon salsa before, but I think I need to change that! I love that combo of sweet with a little heat. I meant to make some peach salsa but we ate all the peaches, so perhaps this is a good alternative. 😉

I think you'll love it, the mango and watermelon pare nicely, and the spicy kick is a nice surprise! :) Let me know what you think! Thanks my friend!

This looks amazing! I have never thought of putting watermelon in salsa! How refreshing!

It was refreshing! Thank you for your kind words! I hope you'll give it a try! :)

Watermelon salsa, I'm intrigued! 🍉 I'd love to have this right away, it sounds and looks so delicious! 😍

Thank you! It was really tasty, I hope you'll give it a try!

Thank you so much! I hope you'll try it! :)

I have a bbq coming up, so in fact I might do that as a little refreshing side as it's been so hot here

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-22T23:44:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 570.25/200.00
Total Photos: 91
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55