STEEMIT SANDWICH CONTEST WEEK #55 | Greek Gyros with Tzatziki Sauce!

DSC_0070 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Sandwich Wizards!


It’s week 55 of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest!


Wow, that is a lot of sandwiches!


I’m sure he has seen everything, right? And, if you notice he, himself produces quite a few amazing sandwiches every day! Thank you @jaybird for hosting this contest. What a huge commitment to the Steemit Sandwich Community! Gotta say, we love this! Anyway… @jaybird says this week we’re having another Royal Rumble, anything goes!


So, I’m going Greek!


When Mr. Bird and I visit our old college town there is a favorite Greek restaurant which we love to visit. The restaurant was the Trojan Horse and there was one particular dish we always requested.


The Gyros!


We haven’t been there for years, so today I’m going to make a traditional Greek Gyros! (pronounced Yee-ros) Gyros have been popular in Greece for many years. Typically referred to as Street Food sold in small cafés and on the street corners. Served on a grilled pita using lamb, pork or chicken topped with a yogurt cucumber sauce, it’s a tried and true sandwich!


todaysjourney.jpg

The Greek Gyros with Tzatziki Sauce!

Ingredients

Pita Bread

  • Bread Flour
  • Water
  • Maple Syrup
  • Salt
  • Active dry Yeast

Gyros

  • Pork Tenderloin (cut in strips)
  • Garlic
  • Red Onion
  • Olive Oil
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Oregano
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Honey
  • Tomato
  • Cucumber
  • Coconut Yogurt

I began by marinating the Pork strips using the minced garlic, red onions, olive oil, red wine vinegar and spices. Refrigerate 6-8 hours.


DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Pita Bread was next!


Prep your dough, allow it to rise, punch it down and divide into 8 equal portions. Roll into balls and let them rest for 15 minutes. Roll out in circle(ish) shapes about ¼” thick.


DSC_0051 (2).jpg


Bake these at 500 degrees for 6 minutes or until light golden. Keep an eye on them, they bake quickly! They puff up like little flying saucers! Don’t worry, they will flatten out! See aren’t they cute?


DSC_0055 (2).jpg

Now on to the Tzatziki Sauce!


Shred the cucumber into a bowl. Salt and pepper and let it rest for 10 minutes. Blend the garlic with the Olive Oil until fully blended. Wrap the shredded cucumber in toweling and squeeze out as much moisture as you can. Place the cucumber in the bowl and add the yogurt, red Wine Vinegar, Olive Oil and Honey mixture. Mix well and refrigerate until you are ready to make your sandwich.


DSC_0035 (2).jpg


Grill the Marinated Pork mixture for 12 minutes, lightly brush oil on each side of your pita and grill for a couple of minutes.


Lets Assemble!

  • Spread Tzatziki Sauce on the pita, next the grilled pork, top with sliced tomatoes and onion…

The Gyros, my Steemian Friends! Enjoy!

DSC_0085 (2).jpg


Cheers! Here's to another successful week of the Steemit Sandwich Contest!

DSC_0098 (2).jpg


Oh, and just so you know, we were in the midst of a tropical storm today….but through thick and thin…I couldn’t let @jaybird and my fellow foodie friends down! Grilling was a bit sketchy but I conquered! Lol

DSC_0009 (2).jpg


Thanks for stopping by my friends!

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

What a lovely sandwich and so pretty too! Well done for getting it on to The Whistle Stop :)

Thank you my friend. I appreciate your kindness. I was surprised with the Whistle Stop, a real treat :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 239 (8/27/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so much, I appreciate the feature :) honored!

wow! crazy weather! hope the lanai held up ok. this looks amazing!!! i'm impressed <3 and how did you like the fresh figs?!! XO

aww, thankeee @mountainjewel :) lanai held up with minor injuries...figgies were tasty! ox

@birdsinparadise This looks so delicious! It is making me want to go to one of my favorite local hidden Greek restaurant gems to get a gyro!

Thank you @ilsaione you are so sweet. You'll have to make them some time, they're really quite easy, and tasty ;)

I will definitely have to try my hand at it, but we all know that making homemade bread of any kind, unless it's beer bread, it not my forte! :)

Oh I love a good Gyro & Tzatziki is among my favourite types of sandwich sauces. You really didn't let us down with this one. Such a great amount of homemade going on here from the pita (like the maple syrup add) to the Tzatziki sauce which looks impeccable. Interesting idea to use the coconut yogurt too.

Some choice spices and veggies really brought it all together nicely and I appreciate the figs on the side, mmmmm.

Pres looks great on the whole & thanks for the shout out :)

Thank you @jaybird! Fun to share indeed. Glad you liked it Gotta have figs when it's greek!:)

That is one tasty looking sandwich. I like the idea of marinating the pork in red wine vinegar and spices. Sounds succulent. The pita looks nice and fluffy. What a great shot! The cucumber coconut yoghurt sauce rounds off the sandwich. I am drooling!

You are so kind, thank you! I love making pitas, I smile everytime they puff up like saucers. Glad you enjoyed them :)

There we go! Can't beat a good Greek Gyro. Looks tasty… off to the kitchen for me! ;)

Excellent! I hope you do make them. You won't be disappointed, just happy :) Thanks for stopping by as well as your kind words!

First time I have heard about tzatziki sauce. Since it includes honey in the mixture, sweet it is that I would surely love. Thanks for including the pita recipe also. Cheers!

Thank you, I hope you'll try it, a nice cool sauce, mild cucumber flavor with the tart yogurt :) Pitas were fun to make! Thanks for stopping by

What a fabulous sandwich @birdsinparadise. Yes 55 is a lot. Have you made an equal amount of entries? That pita recipe looks yummy. I haven't made pita for ages. My husband thanks you for the reminder ;)

lol, no I haven't been around that long....but if you do the math it is crazy. You'll have to make pitas now. So easy, but so good, especially from your own kitchen. Thanks for your sweet words @buckaroo

So how did it taste? That's the most important part right?

Well, I have to say pretty tasty...Mr Bird was one happy bird :) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59249.03
ETH 2543.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37