Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 56 | Legendary Blue Cheese Bison with sautéed Shitake Onions

DSC_0083 (2).jpg

Hello my Steemit Sandwich elves! It’s another week of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest and as he says this week…

It’s a Royal Rumble!


A big thanks to @jaybird for tirelessly hosting this contest week after week. And with great humor and enthusiasm! His trademark sandwiches and this contest are truly legendary at this point with over 1 year and still counting!


This week I want to showcase another legendary piece of our American History!

The Bison!


According to the National Bison Association, 125 years ago the Bison was very close to extinction. Mass slaughtering and disease brought from European livestock nearly destroyed the species. Cattlemen Charles Goodnight, Charles “Buffalo Jones”, Samael Walking Coyote, Michel Pablo, Charles Allard and “Buffalo King” Scotty Phillip saved the species. Sounds like an interesting group doesn't it! Needless to say we are grateful to them all!


Over the last century public herd managers and private ranchers and reservations have focused on preserving bison as a part of our American Heritage. Nearly all bison in the world can be traced back to the 5 foundational herds which were combined in the 1800s. Through many struggles the species is now protected and bison ranchers are committed to raising sustainable, organic herds.


todaysjourney.jpg

Blue Cheese Bison with sautéed Shitake Onions

Ingredients

  • Organic Free Range Ground Bison
  • Dijon Mustard
  • 2 cloves Fresh Garlic (minced)
  • Worcestershire Sauce
  • Olive Oil
  • Sea Salt/Pepper
  • Blue Cheese
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Red Onion
  • Shitake Mushrooms

Homemade Bison Burger Buns

  • Bread Flour
  • Yeast
  • Almond Milk
  • Maple Syrup
  • Sea Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Black Sesame Seeds
  • Yolk from one egg

I prepped the rolls this morning. After the first rise, I divided the dough into 6 rolls, placed on oiled baking sheet and let them rise for 30 minutes.


DSC_0061 (2).jpg


Brush tops with egg yolk, sprinkle with sesame seeds and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.
(Tops should be golden brown.)


DSC_0077 (2).jpg


Now the Bison!

I mixed the bison with Mustard, minced Garlic, Worcestershire, Salt and pepper. Roll into a ball placing a teaspoon of Blue cheese in the center. Flatten into a patty. Set all aside.


DSC_0066 (2).jpg

  • Sauté the Shitake Mushroom and sliced Red Onion in Olive oil. Set aside.
    DSC_0071 (2).jpg
  • Grill the burgers, top with sautéed onions and mushrooms! Assemble!!

And Enjoy! A Salute to America’s Royalty, the Bison! A gourmet Treat!


DSC_0097 (2).jpg

Thanks again @jaybird for another Royal Rumble Week of sandwiches! Good luck to all!

DSC_0105 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping by my friends!
And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

I so want one it looks so good I havent had Bison or a birger for ages

Oh my, well....perhaps it's time for you to treat yourself to a burger this weekend lol! Just a small one perhaps? Thank you @tatoodjay!

You seriously just made your own hamburger buns?!? My gosh- killed it! And sprinkled sesame seeds on top? Haha… you are definitely not playing around. I had no idea about this contest btw, very cool! I might have to pass this one along to my husband @dandays!

Great entry @birdsinparadise, I’d hate to be a contender against you in this weeks contest.

You are too cute! I enjoy your comments and posts so much! Yes, I often contribute vegan sandwiches as well ;) You should enter!!!! Its a really fun community, you would love it! Thanks for your kind words my friend!

No problem! With homemade sandwich’s like that you deserve a lot more than a “good job”. I might check it out. Maybe it’ll give me more reason to whip up a sandwich :)

Which brings me to my question:

Will a sesame seed grow into a sesame seed tree? Can I plant a sesame seed bun and grow a group of perfectly distanced sesame seed trees?

What in the heck says me?!

Haha…you just Dr. Seussed us!

incredible buns ma! i'm really impressed! i need to learn how to do that when i have an oven. i loooove the shiny touch on top :) this burger looks amazing. did you two eat this during the tropical storm? lol XO

Yessssss....the Tropical Storm Gordon is moving up the gulf now...we grilled during the storm :) Thanks for the sweet compliment on the buns...so fun making them. (you could always try your dehydrator oven ;) ) Really easy, I know you would love it. oxox

Shudang!

Digging this homemade bison burger! Homemade buns and Also the cheese & onion combo :)

Interesting little story abt the bison, i did not know any of this!

Thanks so much @jaybird! Truly appreciate your kind words! Love to brainstorm and create fun foods!

I haven't tried bison but the seasoning mix sounds delicious and the hidden blue cheese in the center of each patty is brilliant! The addition of mushrooms and onions on your home made sesame buns makes this a home run. Nice one @birdsinparadise, your food always inspires me.

Thank you @loveself! The bison was mild which was why I threw in the blue cheese ;) Since we both went burger crazy this week, you are truly creative too my friend!

Oh those buns alone would make me want to have one of these, but then the toppings look scrumptious too! I've never had bison but that patty looks so good! Mushrooms, onions & blue cheese, all my absolute favourites, good luck :)

Thank you @lizelle, I was hurried to get an entry done, just getting back from the visit to my daughter. I really appreciate your sweet comments!

OMG! That is one impressive burger! Venison meat and bison taste so good! Loved the presentation as well!

It was indeed tasty! Venison chili....oh my I haven't had that for years! Thank you for stopping by my friend, appreciate the kind words :)

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks so much! Appreciate the honor!

Oh My God i want eat it, i love shitake taste and the bread you used seems so tasty too, this is a master sandwich!

Oh, I am so happy you liked it! I hope you'll try it!! Thank you my friend!

I just woke and was left speechless by this sandwich.

Oh my, well I hope it wasn't speechless in a bad way. lol I hope you approved of the hamburger rolls ;) Thanks @intrepidsurfer!

speechless in a great way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22