Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #60 | Spicy Grilled Thighs-n-Guac!

DSC_0087 (2).jpg

Hardfork 20 has been fully deployed, we’re all back online…. but don’t put away those forks!


That’s right my fellow Steemian Sandwich fans….it’s time for another week of @jaybirds Steemit Sandwich Contest! Week 60 in fact…another Royal Rumble! Seems quite fitting to me after the rough week we’ve had. Quite a bit of rumbling going around the platform! Being married to a retired IT geek, I know what this week has been like for the Steemit Developers and Witnesses! Whew! The work never ends! Patience is the key for all of us!


A big thanks to @jaybird for hosting this contest each week. His contribution to our community is huge. Always a positive word and he always shows up, in a big way! Just look at his daily sandwiches, amazing! Love this community of energetic and creative Steemians.


I mean, where would Steemit be without all of these sandwiches? A lot of hungry mouths to feed!


Today we’re marinating and grilling boneless chicken thighs in a spicy sauce, wrapped with thick hickory smoked bacon. Nesting this grilled gem on a freshly baked pumpernickel roll, lightly coated with mayo and topped with chunky guac! Does that sound good to you?


Okay! Without further delay, get your forks ready my friends….
todaysjourney.jpg

Spicy Grilled Thighs-n-Guac!


You’ll need!


Pumpernickel Buns:

  • Rye Flour
  • Wheat Flour
  • Bread Flour
  • Olive Oli
  • Yeast
  • Maple Syrup
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Sea Salt

Chicken Fixins

  • Boneless chicken thighs
  • Hickory Smoked Bacon
  • Olive Oil
  • Lemon Juice
  • Garlic
  • Paprika
  • Raw Honey
  • Cumin
  • Sea Salt
  • Black Pepper

Guac

  • Avocado
  • Fresh Homemade Salsa
  • Dash of Lime
  • Red Onion
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Sriracha Sauce

I prepped the dough for the rolls, let the dough rise, and divided it into 8 rolls. Covered the dough for another 30 minutes and then baked them at 375 for 20 minutes. Keep an eye on them; you don’t want them to burn! Ah, can you smell it? Just a slight hint of cocoa in the air.


DSC_0043 (2).jpg


I prepared the marinade for the thighs while the rolls were rising and baking. Whisk the Oil, Lemon, Garlic, Paprika, Honey, Cumin, Salt and pepper together. Pour this over the thighs and into the fridge for about an hour…or longer if you want to prep ahead of time! When you’re ready to grill, remove the thighs and wrap each thigh with a slice of bacon, secure with a toothpick.


Time to Grill!

DSC_0047 (2).jpg


While the thighs are on the grill we’ll make the guacamole. Guac is sooo tasty, keep those forks away now, otherwise we won’t have anything left. Just peel and mash the avocado with your fork, add minced garlic, minced onion, lime juice and sriracha. I just made fresh salsa this morning so we’ll add a bit of that.


Sandwich Time!

Now, just brush a little mayo on your freshly baked Pumpernickel roll, add the grilled thigh and top with guac! I added a little side of fresh tabbouleh salad too. I’ll share that wonderful recipe soon so stay tuned!

Voila! Enjoy! Welcome back my Steemian Friends!


DSC_0083 (2).jpg

Another tasty view!


DSC_0075 (2).jpg

It’s good to be Steemin again! Missed all of you, thanks for stopping in!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Jeezus this is impressive. So much homemadeness from the pumpernickel rolls (love them) to the boneless chicken thighs and bacon wrapping :)

Adds some gauc and a side and I think it's the perfect sandwich meal :)

This one is so well put together Birdy, really great job this week :)

Glad you enjoyed this one @jaybird! It was indeed fun to prepare. Looking forward to see what we have with SSC this week! btw...it was pretty tasty ;)

Very well done granny Bird, sure the littlest Birdy would love having one of these one day when all grown up! Love everything - from the buns to the gorgeous wrapped chicken and the guac!
Think I much prefer the fork you're talking about than the one we've just experienced this week! Wonder if those devs got any sleep with all that was happening?
Good luck with the contest, great entry my friend!

hehe...yes it has been a tough week @lizelle. You are so kind and supportive my friend. Looking forward to your delicious entry this week as well! Good luck to you as well :)

Thank you I made two this week, have to get cracking and post :)

I am good with just meat and the roll, you can save the rest for your other customers. I'll also have waffle fries and a large unsweet tea. Do you deliver?

Oh thank you @sultnpapper! I love those waffle fries and tea as well....I wish the USPS was more efficient...I'd send you a care package! lol

I am sure you would, but it probably wouldn't make it here, the post man would eat it like he must do with half the mail we are suppose to get. The USPS is one guzbucked outfit, my brother lives out of state and last year he sent my a birthday card. My birthday is the least day in February and it was post marked about a week before the end of the month, I got the card in the mail, in the middle of April. Had it not been for the post mark I would have thought he just forgot and didn't send one.
I called him to thank him for the card, he said "man you just now thought to call me and thank me, you didn't have to do that." I told him no, I just didn't think to call, I just got the card.
I didn't think he believed me so I had my wife tell him since she is the one that brings the mail in from the road and then he believed her.
So it would surely not be edible if it even got here at all. I appreciate the thought though and the support of the Daily Dose.

I had trouble scrolling down it just looked so good I kept going back up to look at it

lol, you are so kind! Thank you @tatoodjay, we did enjoy them :)

I just say what I feel not kind at all, LOL

looks amazing mom! sure have some hungry bellies to fill after all the rumbling this week, indeed! but, you had a mis-speak up there.. you mentioned your retired geek in the house, but not yourself. that's now a bird household full of 2 geeks and 1 geek getting ready for a visit in the next few weeks. that will be a lot of geek mouths to feed hehe

hehehe...well I never considered myself on THAT level of geekdom...although I am indeed looking forward to feeding more little birdy geek mouths verrrrry soon :) You'll have to make a desired food list for the house chef!- ME! ox

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 269 (10/02/18)

Thank you @steemengine! So appreciate your support :)

Looks so delicious @birdsinparadise! All those layers of goodness in a beautiful bun!

Thank you @offoodandart! Appreciate your kind words. Looking forward to the new @cookwithus season!!

I see your household steadily eating like royalty too! You make baking your own buns look effortless… I have “making bread” built up in my head as something very difficult and time consuming requiring special tools… but you make it seem super achievable. That is quite a beast of sandwich you’ve created there @birdsinparadise- well done !

It is easy, just takes a little practice! They way you fly around your kitchen so effortlessly I know you could make your own bread! Give it a whirl! I'd love to hear :) Thank you for your sweet support @puravidaville!

Haha… I will give it a whirl sometime Ms. @birdsinparadise. Always a pleasure to check out your goodies :)

OMG @birdsinparadise...I don't even know where to begin. I love the cocoa powder in the pumpernickel rolls. I'm a huge fan of rye bread. The bacon wrapped chicken thighs and the salsa in the guacamole...I'm salivating. I would love to have one of those sandwiches.

Aw, thank you @loveself! The cocoa smelled so luscious, fun to make! I'm glad you approved, I truly appreciate your support and inspiration :)

Your sandwich looks also very good 👍 i Love the idea with the bacon 🥓 stripes. Good luck within the contest ✌️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @avizor! I think the bacon was a tasty add! Good luck to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51