Salute your Health | A Liquid Dose of Sunshine! Maqui Magic!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0029 (2).jpg

Happy Saturday my Health Conscious Steemian Friends!


I hope you are all enjoying a restful weekend.


I think part of our busy weekends should be spent re-charging our personal batteries! With the hustle and bustle of busy weeks whether with jobs, family, homesteading or school I have found taking a step back on the weekend allows us to start the next week in a healthier way!


I know when my daughters were young there was not a moment to spare on the weekends between sports, gardening, school activities… there was barely enough time, let alone energy to focus on myself. I look back at that and hope my daughters are taking time for self-care here and there!


Part of taking care of ourselves should be focused on our diet! We all know this, but when I’m in a hurry I have a tendency to either not eat or grab something quick and not always the healthiest! 2018 all changed, I committed myself to focus on starting each day properly! I believe food can either be your friend or your enemy! Juices allow the nutrients and vitamins present in fruits and veggies to be super-charged! Providing nutrition to your system much faster and easily digested! Stomach issues I used to experience have disappeared! I have more energy and stamina!


I know what you’re thinking! No, it doesn’t take a lot of time!


This is why I love juices and smoothies! I can pack a rainbow of fruits and vegetable nutrition and flavor into one drink! I have found they curb cravings I used to have! No longer grabbing those junk food choices! Juices can be made the night before! Smoothies are quick!


todaysjourney.jpg

A Liquid Dose of Sunshine! Maqui Magic!


Maqui! What is Maqui you ask? Maqui is a small purple berry native to Chili. It's taste is similar to a blackberry. Full of antioxidants, anthocyanins, flavonoids and ellagic acid, Maqui berries offer many benefits to our health. Maqui is used to treat arthritis and high cholesterol and it is believed to protect us against many diseases which are inflammation related. The best part is it is available in powder form! Maqui is a great addition to your morning juice or smoothie!


DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Ingredients

  • Red Beet (include leaves!)
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • Granny Smith Apple
  • Orange
  • Maqui

I try to be very careful balancing the fruits and vegetables…usually more veggies than fruits! This keeps the sugar content down a bit. Notice all of these veggies could easily be incorporated into a smoothie if you prefer! That means more fiber!!


I buy organic fruits and veggies a much as possible. Even better when it is grown locally! This way you will know how your local farmers are taking care of your food! Unfortunately I found out many of the foods sold at my local farmers market are not from the farmers selling at the market. They are purchased at a local food co-op..needless to say I was shocked and dismayed. When we lived in the Midwest the farmers market was truly farmers growing their own foods. Anyway, I digress.


  • Wash and chop all of your veggies and fruits as needed for your processing. Aren’t they beautiful in the early morning light! Blend or juice!

DSC_0005 (2).jpg

And Enjoy!


DSC_0014 (2).jpg

I think you’ll smile when you start your day with a Liquid Dose of Sunshine! I know I do!


DSC_0034 (2).jpg

Thanks for stopping by! Take a load off this weekend, spend a moment on YOU! You deserve it!

And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 253 (9/10/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! So appreciate the post promotion!

Mmmmm SO delicious 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are so correct! And refreshing :) Thanks for stopping by!

I just got more beets from the farmers market today and was thinking it would be nice using them in smoothies this week since I did soup last week. :) I have some maqui powder in my cabinet to amp up that nutrient content, as well!

Oh, so good you have the farmers market....although I do get organic beets from the local market, they're not like what you have I'm sure! Oh what wonderful smoothies you will make! Be sure to share with us ;)

The only downside was they didn't have the greens on them today, but I got some lovely kale and tatsoi to get my leafy fix. :)

Cheers to you as well! Thanks for stopping by!

It looks delicious. I like juicing beets with kale and some fruits.

Thank you! Beets are so wonderful and good for us, I try to use them as often as I can. Glad to hear you juice as well! Cheers to good health @lymepoet! :)

Awww, look at that gorgeous color! I will have to try this one out as soon as I can, it looks delicious! 💚

I know, the beets make everything so beautiful...thank you! I think you'll be pleased when you do. A great way to start the day :)

I love all the ingredients in this, well I dont know about Macui I had never heard of it, but this is a juice I am sure I would like

Oh I do hope you juice or make smoothies @tatoodjay, so good for you and they have made a dramatic improvement in our health! Maqui is a wondereful powder which we love! (Available online or in most fresh markets!)

Oh I do hope you juice or make smoothies @tatoodjay, so good for you and they have made a dramatic improvement in our health! Maqui is a wondereful powder which we love! (Available online or in most fresh markets!)

I used to do juices a lot for breakfast but have slipped i think I need to get back into them, will go tot he local health shop at lunchtime and check for the powder

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-08T19:49:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 797.75/200.00
Total Photos: 126
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A juicer is definitely on my Christmas list! Do you have a type you would or would not recommend? Also, do the beet greens make the drink bitter? That balance of veggie to fruit is a challenge with the kids. We rely heavily on banana or pineapple, but at least they're getting spinach, kale, spirulina with it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44